We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”

Addo Elephant National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.04*
and up
Private Addo Elephant National Park Day Tour from Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Having spent few days in a game reserve not far from the Addo national park, we decided to spend an afternoon there on our way back to Port Elisabeth. It was one of our best decision while being in South Africa. What a great experience!!! First of all, the entrance to the park costs almost nothing, so do not hesitate to pass by! Secondly, the park exceed our expectations. We have seen Zebra 1m away from the car, lions, elephants and many more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Thib_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,362
    545
    138
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Park teeming with wild life”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our second visit in less than 3 months and as before we were not disappointed. We saw a very large herd of elephants with many juveniles, many eland, kudu, warthog, buffalo, black backed jackal and a caracal just to name a few. Will definitely be back and hope to be able to spend more than 1 day in the Park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowwhite177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Addo Elephant park is definitely worth a visit! We visited it for two days and spent both days driving around the park looking for animals. We managed to see 20-25 different animals on each day and it was truly an amazing experience seeing elephants and zebras right next to the car. We even saw a rhino but unfortunately no big cats. It is worth arriving early in the morning and sometimes just stopping the car somewhere and having a snack in the car whilst waiting for animals to just wonder past. And a lot of patience is required as you may not see anything for a while.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lilliethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Days with the Boks”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our South African friends arranged for two days in Addo, and it was the best. So herds of hartebeests and elends mving through veldt, unreal. Will never forget the group of elephants moving through the forest just 30m away. We stayed in the forest cabins, which are excellent value. At first we tended to run around a bit looking for game, but after an hour or two found that waiting at one spot for a time was a better approach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Are you game? I was!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

First trip to Africa, and first experience of the Bush at Addo. And how fantastic was that?!

The park has a 'Woburn Safari' feel to the entrance, but once inside and either (or both) enjoying the escorted open top jeep drives, or staying overnight in the lodges, you just can't miss the wild game. We saw enough elephants to shake a stick at, plus buffalo, zebra, and so much else.

Staying overnight was pleasant enough. The restaurant looked to have standard SA fare really, but we had the braai and were glad too. The lodges comfortable, while not pretending to be luxurious. But the main gain is that staying enabled the thrill of waking up to the sound of the birds and the game through the rain - a joy! A pre-breakfast dawn patrol drive also warmed us up and gave us memories to cherish.

With over 500 elephants - there really is a guarantee of a close encounter.

Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rarelydelighted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing