We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National park was good but sleeping facilities very poor”
Review of Addo Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Addo Elephant National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Addo Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Addo Elephant park offers to drive through with your own car which is a lot of fun to discover the animals on your own. We spent our night in a cottage and the roof is made out of reet - this might be the reason for the very unpleasant smell. It was extreme and we figured out that there was an air-refresher which had an even worst smell.
The food was very poor - it was the worst meal druing our 14-days stay in SA.

Room Tip: Next time we would definitely prefer an accommodation outside of Addo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anisha80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our property was beautiful, well maintained, nice and clean, lovely round building with thatched roof and small veranda overlooking a floodlit waterhole and set in a large lawned area with BBQ facilties.
There was a shared kitchen area with locked cupboards for each of the 6 rondavels for pots and crockery ect. Again everything very clean.
We thought it was great, saw a few elephants and a variety of 'grazing' animals at the waterhole.
The restaurant here was really good, food excellent and cheap prices too, about £5 for a main course such as venison hot pot. Drinks cheap too.
The reserve opened at 6am until 6pm and you could go in and out as you pleased with your pass.
Loved it. Highly recommend staying in a rondavel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Domcrag cottage is highly to be recommended at Addo. It has 2 bedrooms, 1 with a double, the other with 2 double beds. Both en-suite. Very well equipped - fridge-freezer etc. Air conditioning. Lovely veranda overlooking the park. Easy access to swimming pool. Saw a bush-buck right by the house and vervet monkeys climbing onto the roof. No need to pay for swanky posh lodges when you can stay here for a fraction of the price!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dozival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The view of the rondawels at the Addo Elephant National Park is absolutely stunning. You have a great view over a hill with below a waterhole which attracts animals. Unfortunately we only saw some Kudu's. The room itself is small but very comfortable. There is a seperate rondawel with a shared kitchen with a separate kitchen part for every room. This is a very neat and good facility.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clips S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Every national park in South Africa is compared to Kruger, and that's probably the right comparison. I'll state it flatly; Addo is interesting and enjoyable, but it's not Kruger. And if you're heading to Kruger, you can save yourself the time and money and skip Addo -- you won't be missing anything.

But if you're NOT visiting Kruger -- and we weren't on this trip -- Addo is a nice place to see wildlife and the main rest camp is a good place to stay. We had one of the premium rondavel rooms and I'd highly recommend reserving one if you can. As noted by other reviewers, the rondavel looks over a lighted waterhole where there are SOMETIMES animals. But keep in mind that the animals move around a lot, so it's unpredictable whether they'll be there the sametime you are! When we arrived at mid-day, the waterhole looked like wild kingdom; but after an hour, all the animals were gone and we never saw them there again! The rondavels are very pretty and comfortable, with a refrigerator and braai pit directly outside, and the full communal kitchen very close-by. Alas, the units do get a little buggy (don't leave your door open and lights on at night!), so they're probably not great if you're a bug-a-phobe (but then no accommodation at the camp would likely be good for bug-a-phobes).

Driving your own car around the park is a great low-cost, high-adventure strategy and, unless you're extremely unlucky, I think you'll see a large number of animals. Elephants, zebras, warthogs and kudo were everywhere for us, and we saw other animals as well (alas, no lions -- you'd have to get lucky to see lions at Addo). The camp offers several guided tours, but I think these are a waste of money (others will probably disagree).

The camp itself is very pleasant and compares favorably in amenities to those in Kruger. We didn't try the restaurant, but it looked fine, and the shop is well stocked and not too expensive (still, it's probably better to do your own braai, and stock up in town before arriving in the park). Try a marula ice pop from the store. Two days and one night is probably adequate for most, because you're likely to get "animal sighting fatigue" after a day or two! I'd recommend driving from Addo town directly to the rest camp (only a few kilometers away) and then, eventually, exiting the park from the south back to the highway and Port Elizabeth.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A group of 6 of us, 3 couples,stayed in 3 of the rondavels in September. Loved being able to sit and watch the animals at the waterhole from our front porch! The units are small, just big enough for a bed and bathroom, but quite comfortable, and warm enough on a very cold night. The communal kitchen facilities were also quite nice, and we made our own dinner and breakfast there. Highly recommend the rondavels for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had a great 2 nights in Addo Park, staying at the Addo rest camp. We were in the Hapoor guesthouse overlooking the main waterhole and had front row seats to the evening’s entertainment – dueling kudus, frolicking elephants, and marauding buffalo! The view from our bedroom was spectacular - full view of the goings-on at the water hole. The guesthouse was a 2 bedroom with a common living area and fully-equipped kitchen. It was quite luxurious with nice furniture and wall decorations and even a big screen TV with DSTV channels. My main living area was a bit dark but the bedrooms were light and airy, complete with desk and king size bed. The bedrooms both had ensuite bathrooms and AC – very comfortable. The front veranda was a great place to relax, sip cold drinks, and watch the animals parade by. We left our bedroom window open at night in order to better hear the cool night sounds from the waterhole. We had a great sleep and welcomed nature’s alarm clock (bird song) in the morning.

Addo camp itself was very nice and well-organized. There is a very good restaurant with good prices there where we ate all our meals. In addition there is a great shop to buy basic food supplies, sweets, and souvenirs. The interpretive center is very interesting and well-presented and definitely worth an hour or so. There are a few walking trails and gravel roads in the camp, great for a morning run or walk. A couple of hides get you pretty close to the action at the waterhole and the bird pond.

Overall we had a really great stay, especially with all the animals’ antics at the waterhole. I would highly recommend this camp, and particularly the Hapoor guesthouse, for your stay in Addo park.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet or rondavel overlooking the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
46 reviews
23.8 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
381 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
337 reviews
6.5 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
350 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rosedale Organic Farm B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addo Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Rest Camp

Address: 36 km From Matyholweni Gate, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range: £98 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Addo Rest Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Addo Park Rest Camp Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing