We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful , comfortable and welcoming”
Review of River Bend Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Bend Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful , comfortable and welcoming”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Came with the whole family
Lovely safari rides, good food and caring staff
Wonderful safari guides
Steve and David knowledgeable
Wonderful masseuse - Ina
Any problem the manageress Jayne will solve it

Room Tip: All rooms lovely as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    52
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
164
193
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We spent sometime in the Kruger Park and as I had some business in PE we stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are very good, we had two adjoining rooms as we are a family of 4, which worked well. The meals were good, maybe a little too fancy for our tastes and not much choice but as long as you let them know in advance they would do something different. Most of the staff were excellent, the odd one a little slow with service but the majority were great and could not do enough to make out stay happy.

The game was limited to see as the elephants in this part of the park had vacated to the mountains for more lush food but we went to the public park for the day and saw lots of elephants there. No big cats while we were there but antelope, buffalo, ostrich , many birds and warthogs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatWillow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

River Bend is a beautiful lodge with great staff, rooms and food. The game viewing was only mediocre, so I would not travel to Addo specifically as a safari destination. While my guide was great, the lodge does not keep track of where the animals are in the reserve, so we had a whole day barely seeing anything more than ostrich, warthog and kudu. We did have one lion sighting and saw elephants in the main park, but it does not compare to Chobe or Mana Pools in terms of the number of animals you will see on a drive. While I don't feel the need to return to Addo for a future safari, II would definitely stay at River Bend if I did end up in the area again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

What a great place. Wonderful 5* service. Amazing food. Very hospitable place. Guides were brilliant with kids. Definitely a recommend for 2-3 nights. Saw lots of animals, elephants, lion, buffalo, zebra, giraffe, kudu, warthogs by the hundred!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West University Place, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

we stayed here in June, which is winter in So. Africa. There were few guests which made the time spent even better for a real getaway. The lodge is laid out in a circle with nice gardens, lovely single family huts, a gorgeous swimming pool (it is not heated), and two-story library bar.

Rooms- are really single family huts. beautiful décor, fully stocked frig, coffee and tea tray, heat and A/C. each room/hut has a private patio and large soaking tub in addition to a shower.

Food- great and fun to try all the courses and goodies!

Staff- pleasant, knowledgeable, and eager to please.

Game drives- open air jeep style, 3 rows of two seats with a large compartment in between for storing cameras, binoculars etc. blankets are included but no hot water bottles (which would be a nice addition). The terrain is bumpy at times and these vehicles took it all! no worries.

Animals- we heard lions for two nights but never spotted them, we saw lots of zebra, elephant, kudu, ostrich, eland, warthogs, and buffalo. Our host, Darlington, did a super job tracking animals, explaining about them, and keeping the drives exciting.

Kids- we have a 8 year old. I would not bring a child on the drives if she/he cannot sit still and behave for several hours. It is a lot of sitting and it is not safe to stand in the vehicle. Our child is an avid animal lover so the drives worked very well for 3 hours, then she was done. If this had been, as an example, a museum tour, we would have been done in 20 minutes. Know your child before you bring her/him!

Would definitely return. Have fun!

Room Tip: Every room is excellent. I think there are only 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It's hard to find the words to do justice to River Bend Lodge...

My wife, three boys and I have just spent four glorious nights there. Many places we have been to claim to offer five star comfort and service but River Bend not only delivers - it goes well beyond it. The level of care, friendliness and attention to detail is simply amazing - nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

Thanks to our guide Steve the game drives were amazing. We saw more kinds of animals than we could keep track of (including four of the big five) and the only other vehicles we ever saw were the two other vehicles from the lodge but normally we would go a whole drive without seeing another soul.

There was also food and drink at every turn! On the morning drive you might have hot drinks and a snack with the elephants before returning for a sumptuous breakfast at the lodge. Then on the evening drive you might be on top of a mountain, sipping your gin and tonic watching the sun go down before racing back through the bush in the dark to an amazing dinner. And as you step off the 4x4 you are greeted with hot towels and hot chocolate!

All five members of our family feel this is the best family holiday we have ever had. A very big thank-you to all the staff at River Bend and we look forward to staying with you again soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lateralleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed two nights recently at River Bend Lodge. It was a birthday get-away and the lodge staff made sure the "birthday boy" was celebrated. Bubbles, chocolate cake and a romantic turndown with Amarula and rose petals...... This is a beautifully furnished and laid out lodge comprising 8 rooms around a lush garden with ancient pepper trees and pretty agapanthus. As we made ourselves comfortable in our room on arrival, a herd of zebra came within a few metres but outside the perimeter fence to say "welcome". Game drives are done in the morning and the late afternoon as per normal safari lodge timetables with a good coffee being delivered to your room prior to departure. The rain and general soft terrain made it impossible at first to do a game drive on the River Bend property itself (14,000 hectares) so we went into Addo National Elephant Park which is a short drive away. We saw zebra, eland, kudu, jackals, warthogs, many birds and, of course, elephants. Lions and rhino were illusive. On the last morning though the terrain was dried out enough and we could drive around the very scenic River Bend part of the park and enjoyed the sightings of zebra, red hartebeest, kudu and a lovely troop of very entertaining baboons. The undulating land is really very beautiful here. There's also a self-contained house with a further 3 en suite bedrooms that one can takeover exclusively for family trips or celebrations. It comes with its own chef and guide and is called Long Hope. Anyway, back to River Bend. What else does it offer? Excellent gourmet cuisine (Breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner) with attentive and friendly service in either the tranquil dining room in front of the roaring fire or, in warm weather, on the veranda overlooking the park where one may even see the resident trio of lions checking out the visitors through the electrified fence. The wine-list is well chosen and reflects some unusual choices under the stewardship of Michael who will be more than willing to lead you astray with his generously portioned "tasting" selections prior to dinner. (Most drinks are included in the tariff, as are all meals and the game drives). Our guide Dohan was most courteous and knowledgeable and we enjoyed our time with him. Remember to ask for Amarula in your early morning coffee on those cold winter morning drives! There is a spa and a charming therapist but I did not order a treatment although I was tempted! Our reservation was professionally handled by Tariro. The General Managing of the lodge is beautifully handled by the charming Jayne Barlow who's attentive eye was discreetly in evidence even if her sense of humour and warm personality vies for equal attention. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: No 1 is the Honeymoon Suite which has a private Jacuzzi and private garden outdoors. It's not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo Elephant National Park
23.1 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
331 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gorah Elephant Camp
Gorah Elephant Camp
#2 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#7 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
309 reviews
6.6 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
4.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bend Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bend Lodge

Property: River Bend Lodge
Address: Zuurberg Road, | PO Box 249, Addo Elephant National Park 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Addo Elephant National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Addo Elephant National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — River Bend Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 14,000ha private concession within the Addo Elephant National Park, RiverBend is a mere 45 minute drive from Port Elizabeth. Home to an abundance of wildlife including elephant, lion, hyena, buffalo, black rhino and a variety of antelope and over 300 bird species, RiverBend is an ideal malaria-free safari addition to a Garden Route holiday. Children of all ages welcome. Pampering treatments are available in the Vitality Studio. Personalized game drives are led by enthusiastic and experienced guides, who will ensure you have a truly memorable safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your River Bend Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Bend Hotel Addo Elephant National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing