We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Backpacker Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Right next to the beach, this hostel is the perfect place to stay at the famous surf spot J-Bay. The staff is nice and really helpfull. The restaurant makes good pizza and breakfast. The bar is the perfect spot to either have a drink or to party hard. The surf lessons are cheap and good. The dorm was clean and has a nice patio.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October 2012 for 10 days. We first stayed in one of the private en-suite rooms in the beach house which was excellent. The rooms are spacious for two and have their own private terrace. The kitchen that comes with these rooms is big and has everything you'll need.

We then moved to the campground, staying in our own tent, sharing the facilities in the main building with the other guests. Although the facilities are good and clean, it does get very noisy when camping. The bar stays open until late, which is great if that's what you are looking for. If you want to stay in a more quite place, make sure you get a room in the beach house.

There is also a private room on polls just in between the reception area and the beach house. That would be a good alternative if you are looking for a more private and quite room, but don't want to spend the money on the en-suite rooms.

Regarding the staff I can only say positive things. They are fantastic, helping you out with everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imsterbim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Staff are friendly and great atmosphere. Food was traditional South African meals and great value for money! Chilled vibe during the day, with quite lively music through the evening. Rooms spacious and just an overall happy environment. Pity we were only passing through. So going back!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the bottom house are the bomb!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marissa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The best place to learn surf, talk english and make new friendships! The staff was very nice, especially Cindy, the bar lady! The food also is very good! I recommend Abunai Pizza to eat at dinner! It's near to the ocean and Kitchens, a good surf spot.

Room Tip: Go to the Pipeline Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I love this place! I've enjoyed every moment Ive spent here! I've been here for a month now, each day is just a good as the first. The staff here are so friendly, professional and helpful. They are always willing to get involved with the nightlife, and other activities around the backpackers. As for location you can't be in a better place your about 10 minute walk away from the shops in town and a 30 seconds walk from the beach!!
Value here is great the food and drink are very cheap and the food taste amazing I've enjoyed every meal I've had at the backpackers. I've made some great friends from staying here and I don't just mean other backpackers I've made friends with all the staff.
The is always chances to do new and exciting stuff with the trips the backpackers provides such as, quad biking, bungee jump, sea view lion park, ocean safari and sand boarding! And many more! I would happily come back and stay here for a month again such a lovely place! Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otherkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Friendly,sociable and informative Staff, excellent chilled vibes during the day and crazy upbeat vibes in the evening, great atmosphere throughout and ofcourse ideal location next to a beach that's not even a stones throw away. Would recommend to anyone travelling or a holiday destination. Made many friends and many memories.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Me and my friends had a really amazing experience there. We got some problems with our original rooms and the staff were very thoughtful and pleasant, giving us another room only to keep all of us together. They showed all the place when we arrived, explaining where were the outlet shops that we wanted to go next day. Talking about the place, the infra-structure is really impressive and it is just some meters from the beach!! It's wonderful to wake up with such a view! And they have really good parties at night; me and my friends did a barbecue there. The bathrooms are really good (en-suite).

Room Tip: I recommend the en-suite rooms, downstairs. They are a little bit more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavia_Barone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#4 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Surf Lodge South Africa
Surf Lodge South Africa
#8 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#21 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
FunkyTown
FunkyTown
#2 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
181 reviews
2 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £26 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing