We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Nearby Hotels
The Hub Boutique Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savoy Hotel(Jeffreys Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape St Francis Resort(Cape St Francis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Lodge(Oyster Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oyster Bay Lodge(Humansdorp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
321
134
46
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
134
46
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeer pongtownship tourgreat barsurfing lessonssand boardingmain buildingsurf campyoung peopleprivate roompool tablebeach housecouple of nightsawesome locationclose to townsouth africabeach frontgarden route
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place is ok. J-Bay is ok, that is not that much that you can expect of it. The Backpacker is ok. It is not the cleanest one, but it is perfectly located. The food is not good at all, but there are other place really close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Good day, Kinga

I am deeply apologetic that your experience was not up to scratch. We have recently updated our menu, added in some vegetarian items, and try to cater to everyone's needs. We have received good feedback regarding this. We also keep our hostel clean and tidy and apologise if it was not up to standard during your stay.
We hope you have a better experience when you return to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the flash packers section for one night and loved it. Our own private balcony to admire the beautiful view of the beach. A really neat beach bar and the staff create a very cool vibe and seem excited to have you stay. The location is literally right on the beach. Will be back!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Melj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Mel!

Thank you for your great review - Our Flashpacker accommodation is something special :) Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I did the surf camp for 7 days here but ended up staying for an extra 3 as I enjoyed it so much and had a bit of extra time! Bar staff are cool guys as well as the surf instructors but Freddie is a hero and he made my stay even more enjoyable! Would reccomend to anyone visiting Jeffrey's bay to stay here. Food was awesome and so was the evenings entertainment!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Chris

We are so glad you had an awesome time! We hope to see you again soon - look out for more surf packages!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I love this place! If you like being next to the beach, meeting fun people, and drinking a lot then this is your place. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty standard but it is the vibe that makes this place. The bar is really cool and the bar staff are great (special shout out to Emma and Adam!). You'll always find someone to have a drink with, whatever time of day, plus the food is good and reception are really helpful. Go here and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Good day!

Thank you for your great review! We love that you enjoyed the vibe! We hope to see you again soon - Emma and Adam shout back!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I spent only 1 night here with 5 more tourists because we were in the same tour (garden route). We were allocated a 6-bed-dorm, which is in annex. It is roughly 15 ~ 20 steps down from reception in main building.

Great point about annex:
Literally Beach front. Very quiet. There is a huge kitchen&BBQ pit ( I think )

Bad point about annex:
There is no public bathroom/toilet beside of ensuite bathroom !

One bathroom per room (6 beds dorm) might be OK if you are not in group tours, but in our situation, we all checked in at the same time and wanted to take a shower around the same timing (very dirty due to various activities like animal riding&canoeing on the day) but we were supposed to be picked up only in 30 minutes for dinner !!! It was a bit chaos. I had to go up to public bathroom which is located in main building. It is a tad far when it is urgent. Also it is not covered all the way between main building and annex. Unfortunately it was raining a bit. Hopefully, there will be an extra public bathroom in annex,, too.

You can order breakfast at bar from 7:30, it might take some time to be served, so go first if you are in a hurry. I had lovely pancake :) and coffee.
There is ATM machine in the bar area. How convenient. Probably 10 - 15 minutes walking up to main beach from this backpacker. Walking distance to factory outlet stores (mainly, surfing related products)

Bar, garden, view.. all looks good. Pity that I didn't have enough time to spend some time at the bar for drinking and communicating with other guests, it looks comfy. They served Thai Curry(and more) for dinner at that night. Next time I come back to Jeffreys Bay, I shouldn't be in group tour :p

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Good day!

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed the beach house accommodation - sorry about the bathroom. In peak season the main bathrooms can be a busy. We look forward to your next visit - please remember that we also have a Flashpacker building next door, with private double en-suite rooms. See you again soon.

Kind regards,
island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews