We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night but it was really great. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the backpackers is very well laid-out.

The location is brilliant as it is right on the beach and just minutes walk from everything else.

Would've loved to stay here a few more nights.

Room Tip: Dorms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertArounTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day, Robert!

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you soon for a few more nights!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

This place is a great location, overlooking the bay, short walk to the beach. Warm welcome from Goodman. Very well laid out, with nice open areas that become social hubs or where you can just sit, have a cup of tea and watch the waves. Dorms are simple but very comfortable, there's a locker to each bed for valuables, bring your own lock. They should really put bins in the rooms though, never stayed anywhere that didn't have a bin in the room. Communal cheap meals are very good value. The kitchen is a bit neglected, which is a shame, cause if they would just clean the fridge and restock cutlery, utensils and provide tea towels, it would be much nicer. Surf school is overpriced and the guys are a little busy with evaluating last night's party. If you want to rent a board, go to Wavecrest in town instead. Pay less, get better service and it's closer to the beach. Value of surf packages (accom, meals, lessons and rental) are better

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngeCvC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good day, Inge!

Thank you for your review! We are glad you found some good places to enjoy the view! We have considered your recommendations and are making changes to improve upon those points :) We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I went to jeffreys bay as part of a group and chose to stay at Island vibe. Had a tour on arrival and reception was very helpful and even supplied us all with WiFi codes. Went to the bar with a couple of friends in the evening, however the majority of people staying there had surfing backgrounds and did not seem too friendly apart from a few individuals who did make an effort to chat to us. Room was a good size and opened up onto a communal balcony. Wasn't disturbed at night and the breakfast was amazing and cheap. Island vibe offers many activities including sand surfing, bodyboarding, regular surfing ect. Island vibe is a backpackers paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Kathryn!

Thank you for your great review! Jeffreys Bay is a surf mecca in South Africa and because of our ideal location, with the surf on our doorstep, lots of surf groups visit us or attend our surf school. There are usually other guests as well, so I apologize if you were overwhelmed with surfers!
We hope to see you again soon for an amazing, cheap breakfast!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Most affordable backpackers with amazing scenery. I slept to the sound of the ocean and woke up to it. I liked the customer service. A friend of mine got his camera stolen, so safety might be an issue but we personally did not have anything stolen! I will for sure go back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kulsum k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Good day!

Good to hear you had a great stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a room with 12 beds and its comfortable, has a safety place to lock your personal stufs, nice view to the beach and a really good bar! A really good place for surfers and young people who are searching for some fun, I strongly recomend it

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank VictoriaGreenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Victoria!

It is great to hear that you had a good stay and are recommending us! Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here while travelling with my partner down the garden route in March 2014. While the Jefferys bay area was pretty dead at this time of year, Island Vibe was buzzing. We had a great night at the bar. The staff are great for organising activities which makes it a great spot if you're looking to meet new people. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Would recommend doing the Township tour with Goodman, one of the best things we did on our trip.

The room was clean with a great view of the beach.

Only negatives were that the room was very basic compared to other bagbackers we stayed at for the same cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Tara!

We are so happy you had a great time with us! We hope to see you again for more parties and activities.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Island vibe has a perfect location at the beach. The staff is very friendly! Although we had a beautiful view (beachfront), the room was not the one that we booked. We booked a double room with bath. However when we arrived they said it was not available and they mentioned we were lucky because we got a more expensive room. Maybe it was the view that made it more expensive and probably the fact that it was a family room. But it did not have a bath and the room was very smelly. The wifi did not work in our room and surrounding our room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanne_Amersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Good day!

We sincerely apologize for you not getting the room you wanted. Our booking system underwent an upgrade and bookings got a bit jumbled. However, this is no excuse for you not getting the room that you had booked and I am very sorry. We would love you to come and visit us again and stay in the room with the bath. We are looking into the wifi problem.
Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.6 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#4 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
220 reviews
3.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#18 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ubuntu Backpackers
Ubuntu Backpackers
#5 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay

Address: 10 Daggeraad Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing