We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, chilled out. Win!”
Review of Ubuntu Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ubuntu Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Came here and stayed in a double room. Couldn't have asked for a nicer experience. I was thinking about staying in a guesthouse but I'm so glad I made this choice and saved some cash! Thanks to everyone here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleLionSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had a great night at Ubuntu Backpackers. The staff are extremely welcoming and helpful, the place is clean and cosy with lots of places to sit and enjoy the sun or the view or just chat to other travellers. Free wi-fi, tons of couches, friendly owner, a walk away from Supertubes...Will definitely be back soon :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NasreenPeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

After months of traveling the coast spending time at various places up and down the S.A coast and being treated as a number as oppose to a guest it was nice to finally land into a place that provides just that, with an amazing vibe to the place with great staff and a warmly home feel that i think we forget as travelers, the surf has been so good everything u need can be reached by foot, and the amazing ocean views that go hand in hand with afternoon braii's or hearty meal cook ups each night along with a beer and some good company, safe to say you will be missing out if you dont pull in here and enjoy the comforts and pleasures of this place!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brendanjenkins85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The crew at Ubuntu has really made all of us feel at home this past week! The facilities here are all great, and clean. There's a pool table upstairs, with ice cold beers waiting to be pulled from the fridge and sipped on the balcony, which houses a braai place and great view of the surf! Every night there's something decent going on, with great music and surfing movies in the background. There's a tv room with stacks of couches, an outside chill area with hammocks, and free wifi all over the house. All of the guys here surf and like to have a lekka, chilled time with the guests. Everything is in short walking distance and there's tons of fridge and cupboard space for food. You can cook up a storm in the kitchen, or sometimes Darren and the guys cook a tasty home cooked meal with the likes of a potato bake and fish. There's free breakfast every morning and you can help yourself to tea and coffee at any point in the day.

This is unquestionably the best backpackers I've been to - I'll be coming back here for sure!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. There are private rooms and dorms, both of which I've stayed in and really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay. Very clean, free wifi, free breakfast, super friendly staff, movie theatre, garden, braai area... Licated nicely with sea view. Ideal for surfers and people keen on meeting nice travelers!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trunk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Ubuntu is one of the best backpackers i have ever been to, it is definitively in my top 3. People running it are kind, fun, generous... they made us feel inmediately at home. We shared with them a brai on the terrace. They know well the surrondings and have good advice. I really recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItziarMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

We did a road trip with 4 friends through South Africa and Swasiland. On our way, we got to know many different hostels, but none came close to Ubuntu. We felt right at home. The house has everything you could wish for in a hostel. It has a tv room, bar area with pool table, cozy garden and nice dorms. The location is good, 5 min walk to the beach. But by far the best were the people. Great atmosphere! We just loved it and stayed longer then originally planned and even extra came back for another night because we just loved the place!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
Jeffreys Bay Backpackers
#17 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.1 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#18 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Backpackers

Address: 8 Cherry Street | Wavecrest Eastern Cape, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £8 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Ubuntu is situated in the heart of South African surf-country, Jeffrey's Bay, and caters to fun-loving people looking for an epic yet affordable base. Its a mere 100m to the beach & magical Supertubes, and there are great wave-views from around the house. Whether your dream be flying down the line in perrrfect surf at the point, watching lions on a game drive, or simply collecting seashells on our dolphin-rich coast, we aim to turn your dreams into treasured memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ubuntu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing