We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely host and wonderful view”
Review of The Ocean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean Bay
Ranked #10 of 48 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
baku
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely host and wonderful view”
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

Great stay here , I had a lovely time. The pool was fantastic fun for the kids and the breakfast vanilla cake reminded me of my childhood holidays in Wales. Kirsten was a fantastic host and really went out of her way to help with local knowledge and restaurant bookings.we ended up thinking our stay was far too short. Fantastic boogie boarding,walks on deserted beaches, wonderful seafood. Only thing to improve on would be bedside lights that you could read by. the view they have is probably the best in J Bay!

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tesbaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    11
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

It has already been the second time we stayed at this great B&B. Last time we just spent 2 days there and this November already a week which still was too less. Kirsten and Sven are just great hosts. We felt very welcome, they care about you and provided their help and tips whenever possible. We especially enjoyed the great barbeque evening and the delicious breakfasts a lot. The B&B itself has wonderful decorated and bright & very clean rooms, a wonderful garden and a big pool. We stayed in the Seashell apartment which has an own balcony to enjoy the stunning view over the bay even more. Jeffrey’s Bay is the perfect place to start different day trips. We went to the Tsitsikamma national park, to the Schotia Game Reserve and did horse riding at the beach. Thanks to Kirsten, Sven and Carolin, it has been a wonderful week for us and the perfect start for our honeymoon. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

lovely place to get some rest during a long journey. try the restaurant off the resort just down the road. it has a great fish menu and friendly personnel which will do anything for you!
the area is great too

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pbosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a fine stay at The Ocean Bay Guesthouse, not really what we expected but it was okay, there was no electricity and the room and interior a bit dated. Kirsten was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was good, the location is not really close to the beach as you would expect from the name. Overall okay stay, but at the price we expected a bit more or at least to be advised that there will not be any electricity as they already knew this before we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Ocean-Bay, Inhaber at The Ocean Bay, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Maggi, we are very surprised, that the dripping power was a problem for you. It seemed that you enjoyed your stay anyway. There was a problem in the garden, it was dark and we couldn't work on it. The next morning the electrician came immediately and solved the problem. We didn't know it before, just when the other guests tried to switch plugs on, it suddenly happened that they dripped. They arrived the same evening like you. The day before everything was fine. Luckily you didn’t came at the following weekend, the municipality has switched the power of for 12 hours, we cooked on camping stoves for our guests and they loved it :-).

Our furniture are definitely not dated, some of the are antique, 150 to 200 years old, combined with modern very stylish elements - that is a big difference and perhaps just a question of taste. They are all perfectly renovated. You got our Suite for a special price, we apologised for the dripping power. So every thing seemed fine when you left.

A fantastic view over the whole bay, will never be possible at the first beach front, we are just 900 meters away from the stunning beaches, as you can reed in all our marketing tools. Our view is absolutely amazing. We are looking over the whole ocean bay.

But we are very happy that all in all you had a “great stay”.
Regards from lovely Jeffreys Bay



Kirsten and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Kirsten and Sven went out of their way to make our weekend getaway magical. The accommodation was excellent - the pictures are an ideal representation of what the rooms look like. The bed was HUGE and comfy and the room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast was sumptuous and Kirsten was a superb conversationalist. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the shell room - the view was magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trekkie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent two nights in this lovely B&B which was in every respect beyond expectation. Not only offered the room more space than any other guesthouse we stayed during our 3 week trip through South Africa, it was also tastefully decorated with an amazing attention to details. The hosts Kirsten and Sven were extremely friendly and provided invaluable information not only about the surroundings but also about everyday life in South Africa. Our kids loved to play with the dogs and they had a great time in the pool that offers spectacular views of beaches. Breakfast was delicious (they even had the famous Melktart!) and served in the garden that is perfectly maintained. This B&B deserves five dots plus!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our recent stay at Ocean Bay Guesthouse was phantastic. The hosts are very nice, the room and views were beyond expectation, the garden immaculate, in other words: it was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 131Traveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.4 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
1.1 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
1.3 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Bay

Property: The Ocean Bay
Address: 13 Bottlebrush Crescent | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Bay Luxury Guesthouse is located in a beautiful setting with breath taking views of the Indian Ocean. We are in Jeffreys Bay on top of Wavecrest hill and our pool and garden area offers a magnificent view over the whole bay .Jeffreys Bay is part of the Garden Route. It is „the“ holiday destination of lovely Eastern Cape and one of the worlds famous surfer hotspots. Jeffreys Bay has beautiful beaches, excellent restaurants, bars and delis. Our guesthouse is just 900 meters away from the beach.Explore our wonderful surroundings like Addo Elephant National Park, Tsitsikamma, Storms River and fantastic Game Reserves. We offer guided day tours.Enjoy our wonderful garden, the stunning view over the whole bay. Listen to the voice of the ocean and the birds, relax at our big pool area and the heated jacuzzi. The Lapa and Braai area offers an African Experience.The Ocean Bay is a perfect combination of architectural shapes, antique furnitures combined with modern individually styled interiors.Each 4 star guest suite offers a private balcony, Satelite TV, aircon and heater, with the option of self-catering.We would like to welcome you in our The Ocean Bay Luxury GuesthouseKirsten and Sven ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing