We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ocean Bay
Ranked #10 of 50 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

A lovely clean room with big windows. Very spacious. The room over looks a beautiful pool area and garden with seaviews in the distance. Not your usual "beach" decor however. The rooms are furnished in an african/ lodge style. The bathroom is small in comparison to the room with only a shower and no bath. Small complementary toiletries were not available as one would come to expect from a four star establishment. The reservation had been made indicating no breakfast would be required but the room had no complementary tea or coffee. Waking up to lovely views this morning with no coffee was a little dissappointing. Overall great but a few finer details have been overlooked.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
107
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

It is a lovely bed & bed breakfast, big rooms with a lovely view. They had biggest pool of all the B&B's we have staid at.
The hosts were very helpful and friendly.
In compare of all the other places we have been, we have to amend that the little amenities such as shower gel, shampoo, etc. are missing. Therefore we would rate value average. In the other B&B's there were more extras for the same costs.
But in general it is a very good B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AHG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Ocean Bay is a beautiful located B&B with a great view and very helpful and kind hosts (Kirsten, Sven and Caro).
Our room had a beautiful ocean and garden view, only one jump away from the pool! We got great recommendations for our dinner and for further exploration of the area. The second night our host Kirsten organized a very nice BBQ for all guests with nice wine and amazing meat! Thanks again for this. The room/apartment was very big, clean and comfortable. We had wonderful 3 relaxing days and will definitely come again.
P.S.: And our 2 year old son still misses Foxxy- the hosts dog!
See you soon again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Oeynhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
450 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We enjoyed three nice days at Kirstens and Svens Guesthouse. We liked the fresh bread and the daily baked cakes in the morning with jam and cheese, the different kinds of eggs and the good coffee. Kirsten was very helpful with the reservations of restaurants, our car-problem and our horsetrip. We had a nice room with garden view and hibiscus. The only problem was that everyone went along the path at our windows and look inside. So it was not really private. A very good and fast service was the washing of some of our clothes there. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Having driven the Garden Route and stayed at quite a few Guesthouses, this was the best..
A great location, just on the edge of the main town, with a lovely pool and garden area with sea views in the distance. Very friendly and helpful hosts, with good tips on places to visit. With good size, clean rooms with access to the garden. Breakfast in the garden is a really nice start to the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This place was so welcoming that we spent many hours lingering at the stunning pool, enjoying the view over the bay and soaking up the sun in the lush garden. Breakfast is very lekker and Kirsten & Sven went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable. Our room lead out to the garden and was well equipped. We are looking forward to going back to this amazing place in Jeffreys Bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneMichael2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful and relaxed time. This is such a beautiful guest house, very quiet, lovely pool and garden, great sea view, big and very nice & clean rooms and the owner Kirsten gave us the best recommendations about activities and places that you wouldn't find in any travel guide. Breakfast is served outside on a lovely African style veranda. For dinner, the restaurant Walskipper is highly recommended, lovely atmosphere at a remote beach, everything grilled over wood fire, definitely the best food in town. Many thanks again to Kirsten for the great time we had here and your fantastic help in finding great spots in the vicinity! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeboSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
1.3 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
2.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#9 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Bay

Property: The Ocean Bay
Address: 13 Bottlebrush Crescent | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ocean Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Bay Luxury Guesthouse is located in a beautiful setting with breath taking views of the Indian Ocean. We are in Jeffreys Bay on top of Wavecrest hill and our pool and garden area offers a magnificent view over the whole bay .Jeffreys Bay is part of the Garden Route. It is „the“ holiday destination of lovely Eastern Cape and one of the worlds famous surfer hotspots. Jeffreys Bay has beautiful beaches, excellent restaurants, bars and delis. Our guesthouse is just 900 meters away from the beach.Explore our wonderful surroundings like Addo Elephant National Park, Tsitsikamma, Storms River and fantastic Game Reserves. We offer guided day tours.Enjoy our wonderful garden, the stunning view over the whole bay. Listen to the voice of the ocean and the birds, relax at our big pool area and the heated jacuzzi. The Lapa and Braai area offers an African Experience.The Ocean Bay is a perfect combination of architectural shapes, antique furnitures combined with modern individually styled interiors.Each 4 star guest suite offers a private balcony, Satelite TV, aircon and heater, with the option of self-catering.We would like to welcome you in our The Ocean Bay Luxury GuesthouseKirsten and Sven ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ocean Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing