We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Literally on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Ranked #4 of 48 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Literally on the beach!”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had a lovely night's stay at On The Beach, which is quite literally right on the beach! Our room accessed a large balcony which overlooked the sand and we could hear the relaxing sounds of the waves crashing ashore as we slept. Our room was extremely spacious with a huge bathroom which included a big shower and separate deep bath. It was also separately alarmed, so we felt very safe! The breakfast was amazing, served in a communal lounge/bar/dining area upstairs, again overlooking the beach. The staff were friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome. In terms of the location relative to the main restaurant/shopping area of Jeffreys Bay, it is a little way out - that said, we had a car and found it only a 5-10 minute drive to some lovely restaurants, shops and the tourist information centre. Would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your great recomondation of On the Beach Guesthouse, we love reading what our guests have to say about their experience at On the Beach Guesthouse.

Our location is very magical and we are very blessed to share this with all our guests. We hope that we can share this experience with you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    71
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
154
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw B&B in the name of this place. I didn't think I'd want to stay at a B&B but this place was great. It's literarlly right on the ocean, steps away from the sand. The rooms were nice, we had one of the large rooms on the second floor. I liked the idea of an honor bar that we used frequently throughout the day. Breakfast was well done. The young men and women who worked at this place were so incredibly helpful, and accommodating, they made all the difference. The owners were also nice, but I just loved the staff. The beach is clean, and pretty. I would stay here again next time I'm in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Pick the big room on the top floor. Not sure what it's called but its one of the bigger rooms (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
It is always very motivativating to read our guests comments, thank you for a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The Penthouse Suite is most definately a favourite and the views are just to die for. We do hope that you will be back in Jeffreys Bay in the future that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at On the Beach Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Location: as it says on the tin...on the beach! We drove to Jeffery's Bay to have dinner which was about 4-5 minutes drive time.

Description: Modern apartment style block which originally was two houses (I believe) converted to apartment style B & B / hotel. Quite hard to know how to describe the place. However, it is managed by a lovely girl called Amy, who is part of the family that own the building. She is most helpful. Building is on two levels (I think) and it is possible to go down wooden stairs to end up on the beach.

The sea: be careful. Some say it is safe for swimming but I am not sure. Rip tides could be a problem.

Facilities: Not really sure. No pool or apparent internet facility. Beautiful lounging areas both inside and out on differant levels. No need to stay in your room., Newspaper scattered about. No dinner facilities, but Amy will tell you where to go. Breakfast was excellent taken in a top room with a nice view of the beach and breakers.

Parking: at the rear of the building. Narrow approach. Not secure, but probably quite safe

Rooms: beautiful! Very well appointed. We stayed in the Starfish room on the ground floor. The next thing to luxury I would say. Just very nice.

Summary: probably not the cheapest place to stay in the area, but very nice. Easy to stay a couple of nights although Jeffreys Bay may not be the best place in the world. Nice seaside atmosphere. The beach is lovely to take a stroll along and dream your life away. Would I stay again? Yes,...for sure.

Room Tip: Really, does it matter if you have an upper or lower room to have a good vieew in the case of this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here.

Before we renovated the buidling to become On the Beach Guesthouse the house was devided into 6 apartments, we decided to change 1 apartment to have an en-suite bathroom to the main bedroom in 2010, the 1 additional bathroom has since turned into a breathtakingly beautiful beachfrom luxury guesthouse.

Thank you for the comment on what to do in Jeffrey's Bay, there is quite a bit happening and loads of fun to be had, this has urged us to be more informative and a new addition will apprear on our website shortly listing all events and activities, we will make sure that each guest checking in has a weekly update of what to do while visiting us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Location is the best .....!!and the rest comes by itself cant describe it you need to go there by yourself when in jeffrysbay and judge self promise YOU WONT FIND BETTER it was awsom there

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swakopnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your review!!! Wow, this kind of feedback makes a Monday morning so much lighter.... We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will have to pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Excellent all round! Fabulous location; beautiful views; well appointed spacious bedroom and bathroom with top quality bedding and towels. We had the Starfish suite on the ground floor which was a "superior room" - it really was lovely and in addition to the usual, it had a lounge area with views of the ocean (and also a large flat srceen TV!) and a furnished terrace.
Breakfasts were excellent, served upstairs in the lounge which had panoramic sea views.
There were beach towels, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and straw beach bags to use at no extra cost. Also there was a selection of Barbeques/ a kitchen and equipment to use for free if you wished to do this.
The owners and staff were lovely people and couldn't have been more helpful.
Nice beachwalk into town - the road walk was fairly boring so we drove at night to to eat out.
Restaurants we liked - 3 Fat fish and Ninas were excellent. The Mexican we did not like very much - sticky tables; loud locals and food which was ok but not special
Hotel price to stay but so much nicer - more space than average,lots of attention to detail and individual service which made it special

Room Tip: one at the front for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, you feedback is important to us.

We are truely lucky to have such great guests as yourselves, it always makes our job so easy and so much more enjoyable to share our On the Beach experience with you! We hope to welcome you at On the Beach Guesthouse again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Imagine waking up to the sound of the sea, you open your door and step out onto the beach - yes it is that close! Excellent friendly staff on hand to welcome and show you around and a delicious breakfast while sitting either out on the balcony or in the glass enclosed dining area, with the waves breaking just in front of you. Heaven on Earth!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelqueenCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are realy blessed with our amazing setting and glad that we can share this with all our guests, we hope that we will be seeing you in Jeffreys Bay and host you at On the Beach Guesthouse again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at On The Beach Guesthouse and was blown away! The suite was spectacular, the view breathtaking and the experience as a whole... magical... Every morning we were greeted with a beautiful breakfast served with big smiles in the dinning area overlooking the magnificent ocean and one of the worlds number one surf spots in the world, Supertubes. everyday spent at the guesthouse was like 10 days in the real world! We left feeling refreshed and relaxed... the way you should after a holiday!

Thank you to everyone at On The Beach for a wonderful experience and you will no doubt be seeing me again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Hi AndrewB, thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much, you were super guests and we loved every second of you being here!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at On the Beach Guesthouse in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
0.5 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
0.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#8 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites

Property: On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Address: 32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Beach Boutique Guesthouse and Suites in Jeffreys Bay offers a relaxed and refined atmosphere in which to enjoy the spectacular setting right on the beach. The classic design, elegant décor and harmonious ambience, combined with incredible views from most rooms, as well as the upstairs lounge, bar and outdoor verandahs, relaxes and rejuvenates and is ideal for business, pleasure - or both. We offer free use of our beach chairs, -umbrellas and -towels to our guests. Experience the magic of a sundowner barbeque right on the edge of the beach ... Braai/barbecue facilities and picnic tables are available in front of the guesthouse, either on the front lawn in the sculpted, indiginous garden leading down to the beach or on the sand lower down - obviously all with great views! The braai room is fully equipped with Weber braai's, tongs, cutlery, crockery and glasses to be used on wooden picnic tables outside. Perfectly located just 50 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport. The accommodation features a Penthouse Room, 2 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Superior Rooms, a Luxury Room, a Standard Room and 2 Two-bedroom Suites. Most Units have direct beach access and breathtaking beach and ocean views. Reveling in the splendor of its location, the upstairs lounges, bar, dining area and balcony is a celebration of the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean which makes for a picture perfect setting. The soothing sound of the rolling waves soon becomes a constant reminder of exactly where one has come to unwind and rejuvenate. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature. Allow us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing