We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
On the Beach Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 51 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had been longing in all my tripsto the eastern cape to stop over at Jeffreys Bay a small town known for its Billabong surfing championships. This June i had an opportunity booking my family of 4 at a marvellous place called the On the Beach Guesthouse and B & B. We got a two-bedroom self catering apartment which was so neat and beautifully decorated in eclectic style. There was everything we needed for our brief stay. Though the bedrooms were small, the comfort of the beds overshadow this point. It was my first time to get an 'honesty bar' service-this further proves the homely nature of the place. Staff treatment is awesome (especially Tsepo). We also enjoyed a meticulously prepared breakfast. As the place is literally on the beach, the the crashing waves could only calm and sooth our tired nerves. I recommend this place to anyone wishing to get good treatment. One improvement the place needs is access for wheelchair bound guests to the bar and dining area, otherwise welldone Amy and your staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuli t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had a fantastic stay this past weekend. Very clean and picturesque. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Dolphin room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Hi Ketan,

Thank you for your review, we really apreciate your feedback! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and happy birthday! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spend 2 nights in Jeffreys.I had no reserves, so i knew the guesthouse and aproved at the first view!! I talked directly to the owner (very friendly) The room has a very nice ocean view, good bed, nice kitchen, and was huge to a couple (Magna Tubes Suite). The wi fi connection was not so good inside the room, but was ok in the comum area...by the way, the comum area was very agradable, with a lot of ambients and rooms....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodrigoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found us! We really enjoyed hosting you, the Magna Tubes apartment is ideal for families, but really spacious and private for couples. We thank you for the comment on the internet connection in the room, this is someting that will have our immediate attention and will soon be rectified.

We hope to meet you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had a lovely night's stay at On The Beach, which is quite literally right on the beach! Our room accessed a large balcony which overlooked the sand and we could hear the relaxing sounds of the waves crashing ashore as we slept. Our room was extremely spacious with a huge bathroom which included a big shower and separate deep bath. It was also separately alarmed, so we felt very safe! The breakfast was amazing, served in a communal lounge/bar/dining area upstairs, again overlooking the beach. The staff were friendly and efficient and made us feel very welcome. In terms of the location relative to the main restaurant/shopping area of Jeffreys Bay, it is a little way out - that said, we had a car and found it only a 5-10 minute drive to some lovely restaurants, shops and the tourist information centre. Would thoroughly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your great recomondation of On the Beach Guesthouse, we love reading what our guests have to say about their experience at On the Beach Guesthouse.

Our location is very magical and we are very blessed to share this with all our guests. We hope that we can share this experience with you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when I saw B&B in the name of this place. I didn't think I'd want to stay at a B&B but this place was great. It's literarlly right on the ocean, steps away from the sand. The rooms were nice, we had one of the large rooms on the second floor. I liked the idea of an honor bar that we used frequently throughout the day. Breakfast was well done. The young men and women who worked at this place were so incredibly helpful, and accommodating, they made all the difference. The owners were also nice, but I just loved the staff. The beach is clean, and pretty. I would stay here again next time I'm in this part of the world.

Room Tip: Pick the big room on the top floor. Not sure what it's called but its one of the bigger rooms (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

It is always very motivativating to read our guests comments, thank you for a wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. The Penthouse Suite is most definately a favourite and the views are just to die for. We do hope that you will be back in Jeffreys Bay in the future that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at On the Beach Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Location: as it says on the tin...on the beach! We drove to Jeffery's Bay to have dinner which was about 4-5 minutes drive time.

Description: Modern apartment style block which originally was two houses (I believe) converted to apartment style B & B / hotel. Quite hard to know how to describe the place. However, it is managed by a lovely girl called Amy, who is part of the family that own the building. She is most helpful. Building is on two levels (I think) and it is possible to go down wooden stairs to end up on the beach.

The sea: be careful. Some say it is safe for swimming but I am not sure. Rip tides could be a problem.

Facilities: Not really sure. No pool or apparent internet facility. Beautiful lounging areas both inside and out on differant levels. No need to stay in your room., Newspaper scattered about. No dinner facilities, but Amy will tell you where to go. Breakfast was excellent taken in a top room with a nice view of the beach and breakers.

Parking: at the rear of the building. Narrow approach. Not secure, but probably quite safe

Rooms: beautiful! Very well appointed. We stayed in the Starfish room on the ground floor. The next thing to luxury I would say. Just very nice.

Summary: probably not the cheapest place to stay in the area, but very nice. Easy to stay a couple of nights although Jeffreys Bay may not be the best place in the world. Nice seaside atmosphere. The beach is lovely to take a stroll along and dream your life away. Would I stay again? Yes,...for sure.

Room Tip: Really, does it matter if you have an upper or lower room to have a good vieew in the case of this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you very much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you here.

Before we renovated the buidling to become On the Beach Guesthouse the house was devided into 6 apartments, we decided to change 1 apartment to have an en-suite bathroom to the main bedroom in 2010, the 1 additional bathroom has since turned into a breathtakingly beautiful beachfrom luxury guesthouse.

Thank you for the comment on what to do in Jeffrey's Bay, there is quite a bit happening and loads of fun to be had, this has urged us to be more informative and a new addition will apprear on our website shortly listing all events and activities, we will make sure that each guest checking in has a weekly update of what to do while visiting us.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Regards,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Location is the best .....!!and the rest comes by itself cant describe it you need to go there by yourself when in jeffrysbay and judge self promise YOU WONT FIND BETTER it was awsom there

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swakopnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your review!!! Wow, this kind of feedback makes a Monday morning so much lighter.... We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that we will have to pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#2 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Valparaiso Guesthouse
Valparaiso Guesthouse
#6 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#5 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diaz 15
Diaz 15
#14 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse

Address: 32 Waterkant Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £74 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed and refined atmosphere to enjoy the spectacular setting right on the beach. Classic design, elegant decor, incredible views from most rooms, as well as the upstairs lounge, bar and verandas, relaxes and rejuvenates, ideal for business, pleasure - or both. Experience the magic of a sundowner barbeque right on the edge of the beach, with barbecue facilities and picnic tables in front of the guesthouse, either on the front lawn or on the sand lower down – all with picture-perfect views! Perfectly located just 50 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport, we offer a Penthouse Room, 2 Executive Studio Rooms, 2 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Superior Rooms, a Luxury Room, a Standard Room and 2 Two-bedroom Suites. Most Units have direct beach access and breathtaking beach and ocean views. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature, allowing us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing