We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place and the friendly and helpfull staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Ranked #4 of 49 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I had a lovely and relaxed stay at this absolutely stunning place. The rooms are lovely with everything you need for a relaxed stay and stunning views of the ocean.
The guesthouse is extremely well maitained and the staff are great.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: the beach suite in the corner and very private with steps going down to the beach.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed over a couple of weeks ago. Although it is a lovely place with stunning views, we found the room we had, not very practical. We had an "outside" room downstairs. A very "busy" room. It was an open plan. I think it should be made clear when a room has an open plan bathroom. It is not to everybody's taste. It had a big corner bath, a huge unpractical basin right next to it and then a small toilet/shower cramped in the corner, still in line with the bath/basin. Although the toilet/shower was closed off with class, surely I dont want anyone sitting on the throne barely half a meter from where I am having coffee in bed! Dining room is upstairs with the most spectacular views and the breakfast and service excellent. Safe parking. I would stay there again, but definately ask to see the room first. And please note that this place is not walking distance to the popular restaurants. Maybe during the day when you go along the beach. It is situated in the new part of Jeffreys and most of the best restaurants are in the old part. It is a perfect location for the beach however.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hettie and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyVer, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Dear Hettie & John,

Thank you for your review, I am very glad that you had a wonderful overall experience. Our room descriptions on our website does state that the Luxury Room is open plan as with the photo's on our website. We do however appreciate all our guest feedback and to avoid any further confusion on any room layouts, we have recently had virtual tours done that is now available on our website that will give all our potential guests a complete visual of exactly what to expect before they arrive.
Thank you again for your review and we hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again shortly!

Kind Regards,

The On the Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was possibly the best night of our holiday. The room was amazing as was the breakfast. The Guesthouse is spotless and the owner very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this Guesthouse to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcdel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband, toddler and myself just came back from the most wonderful weekend away at the On the Beach Guesthouse. The rooms are beautiful, the lounge and dining area are beautiful, and the setting too. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! Dying to go visit again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I had been longing in all my tripsto the eastern cape to stop over at Jeffreys Bay a small town known for its Billabong surfing championships. This June i had an opportunity booking my family of 4 at a marvellous place called the On the Beach Guesthouse and B & B. We got a two-bedroom self catering apartment which was so neat and beautifully decorated in eclectic style. There was everything we needed for our brief stay. Though the bedrooms were small, the comfort of the beds overshadow this point. It was my first time to get an 'honesty bar' service-this further proves the homely nature of the place. Staff treatment is awesome (especially Tsepo). We also enjoyed a meticulously prepared breakfast. As the place is literally on the beach, the the crashing waves could only calm and sooth our tired nerves. I recommend this place to anyone wishing to get good treatment. One improvement the place needs is access for wheelchair bound guests to the bar and dining area, otherwise welldone Amy and your staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuli t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Had a fantastic stay this past weekend. Very clean and picturesque. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Dolphin room recommended
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Hi Ketan,

Thank you for your review, we really apreciate your feedback! I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and happy birthday! We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spend 2 nights in Jeffreys.I had no reserves, so i knew the guesthouse and aproved at the first view!! I talked directly to the owner (very friendly) The room has a very nice ocean view, good bed, nice kitchen, and was huge to a couple (Magna Tubes Suite). The wi fi connection was not so good inside the room, but was ok in the comum area...by the way, the comum area was very agradable, with a lot of ambients and rooms....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodrigoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you found us! We really enjoyed hosting you, the Magna Tubes apartment is ideal for families, but really spacious and private for couples. We thank you for the comment on the internet connection in the room, this is someting that will have our immediate attention and will soon be rectified.

We hope to meet you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#8 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#6 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites

Address: 32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £61 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Beach Boutique Guesthouse and Suites in Jeffreys Bay offers a relaxed and refined atmosphere in which to enjoy the spectacular setting right on the beach. The classic design, elegant décor and harmonious ambience, combined with incredible views from most rooms, as well as the upstairs lounge, bar and outdoor verandahs, relaxes and rejuvenates and is ideal for business, pleasure - or both. We offer free use of our beach chairs, -umbrellas and -towels to our guests. Experience the magic of a sundowner barbeque right on the edge of the beach ... Braai/barbecue facilities and picnic tables are available in front of the guesthouse, either on the front lawn in the sculpted, indiginous garden leading down to the beach or on the sand lower down - obviously all with great views! The braai room is fully equipped with Weber braai's, tongs, cutlery, crockery and glasses to be used on wooden picnic tables outside. Perfectly located just 50 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport. The accommodation features a Penthouse Room, 2 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Superior Rooms, a Luxury Room, a Standard Room and 2 Two-bedroom Suites. Most Units have direct beach access and breathtaking beach and ocean views. Reveling in the splendor of its location, the upstairs lounges, bar, dining area and balcony is a celebration of the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean which makes for a picture perfect setting. The soothing sound of the rolling waves soon becomes a constant reminder of exactly where one has come to unwind and rejuvenate. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature. Allow us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing