We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On the Beach Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 51 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Well if you want a room with stunning beach views then 'On the Beach' is for you. We stayed in the penthouse room and it was just wonderful. The honesty bar is 1st class and as the guesthouse is a bit away from the main drag we made good use of the bar. Would recommend hiring taxi into the hub of JB as the walk seems to go on and on. Taxis are very cheap. The beach is the main thing that JB has going for it as JB is looking a bit run down. 'On the Beach Guesthouse' a big yes however JB itself a disappointment

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Eleanor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

Excellent accommodation and it really is on the beach. We had the penthouse and it was beautiful and the views of the beach wonderful. Excellent breakfast the eggs benedict a must. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Penthouse was beautiful and worth the few extra Rand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Our group of 6 stayed here for 3 nights in September.....we occupied the 3 double rooms on the lower level, all with ocean views and a shared balcony which suited us perfectly and gave us fairly good privacy. The rooms were beautifully presented and our room had a small fridge which we found very useful .....would have been nice for each room to have a fridge.
Breakfast is served in the upper level lounge/dining area......one can sit and enjoy the uninterrupted beach and ocean views.....we saw huge pods of dolphins surfing the waves right in front of the guesthouse....stunning! The breakfast choice was great, and the food freshly prepared, delicious and plentiful......certainly didn't need lunch!
As we had were overseas traveller's, we appreciated the little 'extras' that were provided......chairs, towels and umbrellas set up on the beach, and BBQ facilities available.
Thank you to Amy and her team for their friendly and helpful service......we all had a great stay and would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaBosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Beautiful rooms,ocean view,attention to small details,very helpful staff.
The breakfasts are served in the upper floor lounge with a 360 degree view of the
beach,located by magnatubes,but an area a little quieter than surf baby central.
Best eggs benedict around,would recommend for getaway or honeymoon jumping
off point for many attractions in Eastern Cape.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite the best.But the Ocean Suites just as good a view. They have family self-cater...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in August. The guesthouse is stunning and Amy and her staff do a brilliant job. Provides great braai facilities and has a lovely bar onsite, perfect for sundowners. The eggs benedict are the best i've ever had!! We had our 9 month old baby with us and they made breakfast for her every morning and were so accommodating. Highly recommend a few nights here.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank livigno123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I am a frequent traveler and have pretty much seen it all between Durban and Cape Town on the SA coastline.This is consistently my best experience on the SA coast. The venue is superb, the staff are friendly and efficient, the breakfasts are sumptuous. And take my word for it, the beach suites are the way to go if you want to spoil yourself! Four steps out of the room and you're on the beach.
I have absolutely no reservations recommending On the Beach Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyVer, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Hi Tim,

Thank you for your great review, as you know it is always a great pleasure to host you and a great guest deserves a great welcome!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,

The On the Beach Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Exceptional service, cleanliness and efficiency. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast lounge hosting spectacular panoramic views of the ocean whilst dining in serenity,comfort and elegance ,Wide brimmed smiles from the staff and owners. A must stay!! Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
#1 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#6 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#4 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
247 reviews
6.3 mi away
Valparaiso Guesthouse
Valparaiso Guesthouse
#2 of 51 in Jeffreys Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse

Address: 32 Waterkant Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £74 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a relaxed and refined atmosphere to enjoy the spectacular setting right on the beach. Classic design, elegant decor, incredible views from most rooms, as well as the upstairs lounge, bar and verandas, relaxes and rejuvenates, ideal for business, pleasure - or both. Experience the magic of a sundowner barbeque right on the edge of the beach, with barbecue facilities and picnic tables in front of the guesthouse, either on the front lawn or on the sand lower down – all with picture-perfect views! Perfectly located just 50 minutes from the Port Elizabeth International Airport, we offer a Penthouse Room, 2 Executive Studio Rooms, 2 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Superior Rooms, a Luxury Room, a Standard Room and 2 Two-bedroom Suites. Most Units have direct beach access and breathtaking beach and ocean views. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature, allowing us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing