We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of JayBay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JayBay House
Ranked #7 of 49 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I checked in to JayBay House for only one night and wish I had stayed longer. Clean, well kept, nicely furnished, friendly...lovely overall. Walking distance to the water and a great view. I could see the whales from my patio, the door of which also serves as a separate entrance from the rest of the house. Gated facility helps give peace of mind for those concerned about security. Breakfast was incredible. The most outstanding was the wonderful, still warm, fresh baked bread. If I hadn't already booked my next destination, I would have stayed on longer. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
78
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very friendly staff, great breakfast, a bit far away from the beach, but still walking distance. Very clean

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The fresh bread for breakfast was amazing! We enjoyed our short stay here and we were well looked after (restaurant reservations made etc) without feeling molly coddled). A few tiny details need attention (the patio door was broken, the taps both has cold on them) but we still enjoyed our stay. Simple, nice and friendly, with a gorgeous ocean view.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMGarsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We loved our staff here. The room was lovrly with a patiowhich overlooked the bay.

The staff were lovely and really helpful.

The hotel is walking distance to the beach, bars and restaurants.

There is a pool with free bbq facilities outside.

Breakfast was fantastic.

All inall excellent clean hotel. Would reccommend and return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

What a great fine, gorgeous rooms and a fabulous lounge to sit in at night. Lovely homemade bread for breakfast and nothing is too much trouble. Loved it

Room Tip: We were late bookers so didn't have a sea view but the rooms with views are really to die for an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We would just like to thank Adri and David for having us this month at their stunning guesthouse. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived there. We were warmly welcomed by Adri and her staff and our room was super neat and smelled amazing. (I like these sort of things and always notice the finer detail). The breakfast was delicious - Adri, you are an excellent cook! Thank you for all your effort and we must say, this was the highlight of our trip. The children also had a great time in your heated pool. We will definitely tell all our friends back home and will come visit again soon. Keep up the good work and a blessed year to all at JayBay House!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happypeople37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 27 in Jeffreys Bay
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.4 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#6 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JayBay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JayBay House

Property: JayBay House
Address: 8 Verbena Crescent, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JayBay House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JayBay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing