We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of JayBay House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JayBay House
Ranked #7 of 48 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in December in the Jaybay House. The host family was amazing, super friendly, super helpful. Our room was next to the entrance but very quiet. The room was clean and had space, well the bathroom was small. We had a balcony. Parking was behind a gate and in front of our room. The pool is small but okay. The location great, the area safe. The breakfast was just perfect. Fresh food, plenty of food and served by the manager. We will definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin2010187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    69
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
78
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Highly recomment the b and b in jeffreys bay.. Owner very friendly and the breakfast room looks out onto the ocean.. Room adequate and clean with power shower. Central location and car park with security barrier..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_B34_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This was our second stop in our Garden Route journey to Cape Town. We only stayed for two nights but I must say that I was very pleased. The bnb is a gorgeous house on a hill, maybe 1-2 minutes away from the beach. We enjoyed that it wasn't in the hustle and bustle by the beach and we loved the views from the balcony. Our room was more than what we could ask for. There was a king size bed, then there was a twin size bed which was perfect for our 3 year old since it also had a rail built in (I didn't have to use the one I brought for the trip) and they were also able to fit a packnplay for my 1 year old. All this was in one room while there was a separate room, the living room, where there was a couch and sofa and a table, along with a fridge and television. A really cool design to the room was the glass window that let you peep into either room. The room also led out to the pool area which had benches and tables nicely set up if you wanted to eat there or have a small gathering. We appreciated that the sliding door to that area was well secured and the curtains were thick enough to give us privacy from others who used the area. There is a lovely eating area on the very top floor where breakfast is served. The staff was friendly and the manager of the bnb was very kind and took care of all our needs. The breakfast was excellent and almost too much for us to eat. We truly felt we were in the lap of luxury during our stay there and will definitely be going there again.

Room Tip: The room straight down the hall as you enter the bnb leads out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kramn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Stayed at jaybay house on route to cape town after a couple of days on the wild coast. Really impressed with the guest house, management, the rooms, friendly service and lovely breakfast. A little more than i wanted to spend for a overnight stop over, but in hindsight, glad I did!
Rooms are beautifully clean and modern and just what i needed after 8 hours on the road!
Lovely little balcony with a view of the ocean. Enjoyed an awesome early morning walk on the beach. disappointed in general service received in the rest of the town (tapas beach restaurant SHOCKING and billabong factory shop lazy and slow) which put this little gem in perspective. Highly recommend - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Nice place, very friendly and lovely people, amazing breakfast, fantastic lookout, perfect cleanliness! Go there, relax and enjoy! I would recommend it to my best friends! There's absolutely no claim!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeNotNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we had only one night here! The property is impressive and our room was lovely with a great sea view . It's in a great position within walking distance of the main strip and beach. Our host was so helpful and friendly. Unfortunately we couldn't make breakfast due to a very early surf lesson but we were given a fab recommendation for an alternative. I'd definitely recommend and would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I checked in to JayBay House for only one night and wish I had stayed longer. Clean, well kept, nicely furnished, friendly...lovely overall. Walking distance to the water and a great view. I could see the whales from my patio, the door of which also serves as a separate entrance from the rest of the house. Gated facility helps give peace of mind for those concerned about security. Breakfast was incredible. The most outstanding was the wonderful, still warm, fresh baked bread. If I hadn't already booked my next destination, I would have stayed on longer. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.4 mi away
Stone Olive Guest House
Stone Olive Guest House
#6 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JayBay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JayBay House

Property: JayBay House
Address: 8 Verbena Crescent, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — JayBay House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JayBay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing