We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in J-Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach House
Dunsborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The place to stay in J-Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Be advised....I came here to surf not in search of city style 5 star accommodation. I had the room upstairs which is called the top flat. It was clean, comfortable and had a kitchenette with all the amenities you need to self cater. The shopping centre is an easy 5 minute walk away.The room is not huge but has more than ample space and storage so that you are not cramped by any means. The staff we're excellent and any requests were looked after immediately.You are right on Supertubes so it takes you longer to get your wetsuit on than it does to walk to the beach.It's located at the eastern end of town so if you want to go through all the surf shops at the other end you've got about a 30 minute walk or a 5 minute drive.Highly recommend it to anyone passing through or staying longer and will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and check the surf without getting out of bed then pay the little extra for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We booked the luxury room a while in advance but it didn´t work through their page. Therefore we poke several times on phone and email with the manager to make the payment. We had to go to a bank and pay a deposit, but no matter how many emails we never got the confirmation. When we arrived we told them what happened and it didn´t seem as they were expecting us. They had given our room to someone else, but they could offer us a less nice room with a discount to make it ok. We of course had no other choice and took the room as it was late. The view was lovely and we saw dolphins in the morning, but the room was just ok other then a great bed. We can´t complaint - but if this was so nice, we wonder how the room we booked looked. We are not picky, but as a couple holiday we wanted to spoil ourselves a bit. We had access to a kitchen downstairs with eating area shared with two other rooms, it was really nice down there. Not sure we would book here again, but that is mostly because of the double booking and the unprofessional contact we had with the staff. Also I believe that one can find a bit nicer for the money as there are several good hostels and backpackerplaces with en suites in J-Bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Been coming here over the past couple of years and always stay here! Get to watch epic Super Tubes from my room. Very peaceful and great staff! Always helped with taxi's, where to eat and what every I really needed. Rooms are very nice and comfy! Would recommend to anyone to stay here! 5 starts all round. Don't get closer to Supers Tubes than this!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kperrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

An ideal location for beach lovers, we had the large open plan room with full opening onto our balcony which overlooked the surfing beach in JBay. We woke up at sunrise and from our bed we could watch the surfers - just a perfect setting.
The guest house is self catering and everything you could need is provided in an open plan lounge, dining & kitchen area on the ground floor.

Linda gave us a recommendation for dinner and it proved to be great - Nina's - good local food, a wide choice and excellent value.

Room Tip: Choose the Luxury Room for the best view of the Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#19 of 47 in Jeffreys Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 47 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House

Property: Beach House
Address: 18 Pepper Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in bed and enjoy the opportunity to observe hundreds of dolphins as they swim by daily. Shell collecting, diving, surfing, fishing and safe swimming on your doorstep. Fantastic sunrises and whale spotting from the deck overlooking the famous waves of Supertubes. Some of the best surfing in the world found outside your front door. We cater for all price ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing