We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast- but can be quite crowded and busy...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Potter's Place - CLOSED

Potter's Place
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Description: Potters Place is the famous restaurant-theater of Jeffreys Bay. We host excellent shows in our small theater and we serve great food in our fully licensed restaurant. Like our shows, our menu changes regularly. For up-to-date details about our latest shows, please visit our website at pottersplace.co.zaCome feed your soul.
Level Contributor
212 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good breakfast- but can be quite crowded and busy...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I like this place for breakfast- but it can be quite crowded and busy. Read one of the previous reviews and agree- it's gone down in the last few years. I used to like also browsing in the shop for bits to buy- but there seems to be less available. The atmosphere seems to have changed a bit. Portions are still good for what you get- I would still recommend a visit. Service can be slow at times- but friendly :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unfortunately going backwards”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Been a long-term visitor to Potter's Place. Last visit last week for lunch was very disappointing. Staff seemed confused with what was on offer and food was not to usual standards. Place was exceptionally quiet. Other choices nearby are now an option. Used to be an experience, with range of goods for sale, now just another eating venue.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay
1 review
“Best Food and shows Ever!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My fiance and I decided to go for a meal as always to Potters and we have always been so satisfied with everything that has been ordered. Their food is great and the shows and atmosphere has you talking for months to come. The owners of Potters Place in Jeffreys Bay ( Steph and Raluka) make you feel right at home. Thanks

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candicebillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I played here with Lucy Kruger, Andre Leo and Shotgun Tori. This place has great atmosphere and owner and staff were a pleasure to meet. We will definitely play there again, and make a greater effort with marketing next time to boost bookings.
Thanks a lot guys

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucasBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stopped at Potter's place for brunch and I had the Canadian breakfast - french toast (home made bread) with bacon, cheese and maple syrup! It was really good! Wish we stayed the weekend so we could see one of the shows in the theatre, it looks amazing! I would love to drink red wine there watching the live music!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiseBosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potter's Place also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing