We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool like Elvis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of FunkyTown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
FunkyTown
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool like Elvis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Funkytown is great. Save, clean and a beautiful place to stay. Owner, senior staff and crew are very helpful and friendly. Location is fantastic. The rooms are outstanding. I will recommend Funkytown to all my surfer friends. I only wish there was a Funkytown everywhere. Nuff said. Marek

Room Tip: They are all sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank taxcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good morning Marek

Many thanks for your awesome review. It is always wonderful to know our guests enjoyed their stay at FunkyTown and want everyone to know about it! Enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again at FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay sometime in the future

With kind regards
Tayrene and the FunkyTown crew: Rob, Tanja, Tembisi and Kaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    38
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
77
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Amazing interior, very funky and neat rooms and a nice to look at bar and lounge. Lots of modern ART to discover. The view is not so nice and the property is squeezed between other buildings so it can´t "stand out" as much as it deserves to. It´s very central though so everything you need is in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaOnTheRoad2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Owner at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. As you noted there is an upside to being so central in JBay. i.e. All the main restaurants, beach, shops and entertainment centre are within in walking distance of FunkyTown. Then we have our main beach for surfing, surfing lessons, rubber duckie rides to see the dolphins and watch the great surfers at Super Tubes and along our coast line, skate board ramps in the Billabong village, cycle rides through JBay and so much more

Many thanks
Kind regards
Tayrene and the FunkyTown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were so happy to arrive in Jeffrey's Bay at Funky Town, even though we arrived a lot later that we thought, Tayrene who welcomed us was so helpful and friendly! We had the penthouse apartment and a double room and it was all exceptionally clean and very well designed! The beds were the most comfy we had on our whole trip! We just wish we had more than 1 night there! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Owner at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your awesome review. Our guest reviews are very important to us as we are constantly implementing new ideas to give our Guests a WOW experience at FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay and that added value that is so important to everyone

See you again!
Tayrene and the FunkyTown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Good, comfortable and modern stay at Funky Town. Used the 2 bed appt for 1 night, which included key facilities eg, oven, toaster and hob. Also used communal hot tub after long journey. Would stay longer next time. Rob, the owner, gave good advice on local restaurants and activities. Single drive, so cars need to be jostled around depending on who needs to leave first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samsha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Manager at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello many thanks for your review of your stay at FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay. Our guest reviews are always important to us and to let you know we are currently looking at upgrading our parking facilities to make it easier for our guests to park with easy access in and out of FunkyTown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Came here with my friend just for the night. Staff was so welcoming and knowledgable. The place is very chic with such great attention to detail-the art just tops it off. It has to be one of the best "flashpackers" in existence. Only 5 mins walk from a restaurant called the Greek. Best chicken wings I've ever had! I would recommend this place to any type of traveller. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Owner at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks and review you posted on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the rating as we continuously strive to give all our Guests a wonderful experience at FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay

We look forward to welcoming you back to FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay in the future

With kind regards
Tayrene and the FunkyTown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We just went there for a day without booking in advance and were very happy to get the stylish decorated, spacious and fully equipped penthouse. The Manager Tayrene was very friendly and we enjoyed chilling in the whirlpool after a very tiring day. From the guest house you can easily walk to restaurants, shops, beach (very beautiful!), surf schools and board rental places. Jeffreys Bay is pretty cool and so is Funky Town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Owner at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks and review you recently posted on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the rating as we continuously strive to give all our Guests a wonderful experience at FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay

We look forward to welcoming you back to FunkyTown Jeffreys Bay in the future

With kind regards
Tayrene and the FunkyTown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Thanks for our wonderful stay at Funky town. When we come back to Jeffrey's Bay then we will stay again at funky town. We stayed at the flat and the flat has all what for a short stay is necessary, fridge, microwave, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Owner at FunkyTown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks and review you recently posted on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the rating as we continuously strive to give all our Guests a wonderful experience when staying with us

We look forward to welcoming you back to FunkyTown in the future

With kind regards
Tayrene and the FunkyTown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.0 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 47 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madiolyn
Madiolyn
#3 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FunkyTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FunkyTown

Property: FunkyTown
Address: 12A Oosterland Street, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — FunkyTown 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old stone house, renewed and recycled, now exists as FunkyTown, the most unique, fresh and interesting en-suite Lifestyle accommodation in Jeffreys Bay!FunkyTown is an eclectic expression of design, colour and art. Our public areas are colourfully creative with a contemporary bar, TV's in the Penthouse Apartment, the bar area and in our TV Lounge; (keeping up with current market trends there are no TV's in the bedrooms) and WiFi. Our well-appointed kitchens are sleek and modern. We have an abundance of local art throughout the property. Very hip! There is also a hot tub for winter nights and a plunge pool for cooling down in the summer! We are in a good location within walking distance to the shops, beach, restaurants and night life. Our friendly staff have been highly commended by our previous guests and TripAdvisor reviewsIf you're heading to Jeffreys Bay - Funk it up!AccommodationFunkyTown has seven well-appointed, individually styled, contemporary en-suite bedrooms.Our bedrooms have comfortable beds, crisp linen, trendy designer furniture and original art. All our rooms have a small work area for you to manage your gadgets and a safe to store them in. A mini fridge and complimentary tea and coffee facilities are there for your enjoyment. Our rooms are independently alarmed for your security.Your bathroom is individual, clean, trendy and funky with large rain showers. In fact one suite even has a double shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your FunkyTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing