We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish & Calamari” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hey Jude Fish Restaurant - CLOSED

Hey Jude Fish Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish & Calamari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really good food in this quaint little place! Rustic & no fuss, but the food is to fuss about! The fish & calamari was really good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best calamari”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Had the bargain fishplatter. Fish prawn and calamari. Simply delicious. Even though just one person was on duty and had to serve and cook, it was worth it. Tables etc needs a bit more cleaning though

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

During our holiday in South Africa, we based ourselves in Knysna and would drive out to explore the region and its many attractions. The drive was scenic and after many a photo-op stop, one day we ended up in Jeffreys Bay rather late in the afternoon, around 3pm. It was a blustery day and our explorations left us feeling quite puckish so we head for the most alluring aromas on the beach front, a little restaurant called ‘Hey Jude’. Given the late hour we were told the kitchen was closed but then the owner, Jude, spotted our not-so-lean but definitely hungry look and like the true chef that she is, could not turn us away! She cooked us a brilliant seafood platter which we washed down with their house wine. This small restaurant has a great ambience and the freshly cooked food was done to perfection. With great views of the beach and ocean this is just the place to stop for a bite when you visit Jeffreys Bay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drivingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
2 reviews
“Cozy place, nice people and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went on a rainy day and we received a warm and homely welcoming. We had a mixed seafood plate for two, including prawns, calamari (their speciality), mossels and hake....everything was delicious! Great value for money and very relaxed atmosphere in front of the ocean!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best view, best calamari, great value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Even in a windy day in Jeffrey's the heartily service at Hey Jude will brighten your day. The location of this shop add to perfect spot to linger over a glass of Loslapie ( easy drinking red house wine).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victord10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hey Jude Fish Restaurant also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing