We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Arms Portuguese Restaurant

Aston Arms Portuguese Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 67 Restaurants in Jeffreys Bay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Aston Arms is a family restaurant with a touch of a Irish restaurant with wooden panel walls red carpet and cozy!! We got 8 tables inside then a varande with 3 tables that looks into a very green garden and overlooks into the famous lagoon the Seekoei River with its beautiful Flamigos. Aston Arms been trading with some owners for 19 years
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We ate in a rather shabby garden. My husband asked for mustard for his steak and was charged R12 for a dollop of mustard from a bottle. My daughter had a bottle of water which tasted disgusting, so we immediately sent it back, but we were charged for it. The waiter was pleasant and apologetic but the owner could do with some lessons in Customer Service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chicken peri-peri by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Food was excellent. We all had the chicken peri-peri which was done ala Portuguese style by Manny. Lighting a bit to romantic ie. dim lighting but we will always return to this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alfie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aston Arms your are tops.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Aston Arms your are tops. Manny your one of a kind. Always friendly and so helpful. Keep up the good work. Food excellent. Come on people, vist this beautiful restuarant, with beautiful gardens

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise_M2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffrey's Bay, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Portuguese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Long standing Restaurant with a very down to earth traditional homely feel and food . Cozy pub area and setting .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GarthFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointing experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

After having a couple of really fab lunches in JBay we decided to drive to Aston Arms for a nice family lunch. The restaurant was empty inside - seriously not a single occupied table. Outside only one table was taken.

When we asked for a slightly larger table to accommodate our daughter of 18 months, the waitress gave us uphill - and only when we threatened to eat elsewhere did she allow us a table of our choice.

Our food arrived after a half hour wait and what a comple disappointment it was. My meal, which was advertised as a "special" of the day, arrived as a raw half chicken, so heavily ladder with salt, that even after I took it home to cook PROPERLY it was revolting. My husband who ordered a trinchado - was not asked how he would have liked the beef to be cooked. His meal again too much salt and not spicy enough.

Also over priced and little "Portuguese" food choices.

What a pity the manager could not have been bothered to even ask us if our meal was enjoyable...

Rating 3/10
Not suitable if you require a high chair

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aston Arms Portuguese Restaurant also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Aston Arms Portuguese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing