We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Wild Fig Farm

Wild Fig Farm
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Jeffreys Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our Sunday brunch turned out to be very disappointing. So much potential but tje service is extremely poor. Food presentation looks good but there were long delays to serve. Not all meals arriving together. Meals were also cold as were the hot drinks like our cuppachino' s. One of our party didn't get a meal as the waitress neglected to write it down. Plenty attention to detail required to convince me to return.

Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
0SilverSurfer0, Owner at Wild Fig Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Tracey, As the owners of the estate we are truly sorry for your experience. A few points have to be noted though... Your late brunch visit was right in the middle of our popular Sunday lunch set menu service. We tried to accommodate you by offering you the dishes off our a la carte menu, having explained that there might be some delays in serving them. Some of your guests/family are regulars to our Sunday meals and they were present, they are also restaurant owners in Jeffrey's Bay. I knew that you were on your way back to Queenstown that day and in a hurry, as it goes I made those cappuccinos myself. As a trained barista, I can tell you that given it was a cold day and we had the fire on, there is no way I can serve a cappuccino piping hot... I understand how lactose and fats break down in milk at certain temperatures. Maybe an americano would have been a better choice for a piping hot coffee. In terms of the service, we have addressed the issue. Thanks you for your feedback, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Wild Fig Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Awesome country kitchen. Very kid friendly with Mashy golf and touch farm. Poor service but excellent gourmet food. Excellent for lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

A little out of town on its own, with a rustic feel, this little place is a real treat. A bit on the pricey side regarding portion size etc. But its a nice treat now & then. Unfortunately on a few occasions service was not up to scratch. But if you'd like some gourmet food & something different, this is the place to be!

Thank Nel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Was looking for a change for a Sunday breakfast on a gloomy and rainy day. Had recently heard about the place so decided to take a flyer and have a look. What a surprise. A nice welcome, nice environment, well appointed furnishing and an overall comfortable feeling about the whole place. We had a very nicely prepared breakfast, not your run of the mill preparation. The food was fresh and served in a timely manner. Bread, jams and preserves made on-site. A great find. Sunday lunches also a house specialty. Highly Recommend this place to all who want a well prepared meal in a great atmosphere, well worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dorvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

What a day and surprise
Played machie golf
Had a great breakfast
Kids enjoyed the touch farm
Family enjoyed the venue , so relaxing nice
A place to visit when you are in Jeffreys bay !!!! If you miss it it your our own fault
What a venue !,,

Thank Tappie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Fig Farm also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Wild Fig Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing