We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit like Fawlty Towers!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A1 Kynaston B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A1 Kynaston B&B
Ranked #12 of 50 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
charente
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A bit like Fawlty Towers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Unfortunately we didn't have a great experience here. Not all of it was the fault of the owner to be fair. The lady of the house had dashed to England for a family emergency, and our host seemed a trifle harassed! We were given a pleasant enough room on the ground floor although the decor was perhaps slightly eccentric, there were tea and coffee facilities so that was fine.Unfortunately in the morning we found that the hot water comes out of the cold tap, then both hot and cold stopped altogether so no shave or showers, seems somebody had cut through the main supply. Breakfast was served upstairs and was very good with lovely views to the sea. However the room is full of unrelated memorabilia and is frankly just a mess. We were kindly offered a 100 SAR reduction because of the water problems which helped a bit. Hopefully we were just unlucky......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello this is Sharon owner of a1 ,I feel this review is a little unfair ,please could you tell me about the room ,I see that the incorrect duvet cover was on ,normally its plain white or grey , why do you say the room was a mess.? I do leave books, magazines for guests to read.
What is unrelated memorabilia ?
This is a family run business b&b not a hotel as such .We look after grandchildren during weekdays
Friday was the day my Dads funeral , Paul I think ,was upset not being with me ,plus he had no water and had other guests staying who were very understanding and stayed another night . We also had guests at our other house at No 27 who also had no water due to the burst water main which affected the whole suburb of Wavecrest. Please understand that we respect constructive criticism and will correct any genuine faults, but feel that this was petty and could potentially cost me future bookings.kind regards sharon
please tell me more then i shall sort it out ,come again for free
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

A1 Kynaston is affordable and well situated with even a glimpse of the sea. Their rooms are quite cosy and very clean and the service is great. The rooms are also well equipped. Very friendly. I would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived after a big days driving to find a lovely cosy room overlooking Jefrey's bay. The view was worth the two flights of stars and the owners helped us with our bags. The room had a great veranda out the front which would be perfect to enjoy a warm weather bevvie. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished... a real homestyle comfortable feel. We stayed at the b&b and loved Sharon's homemade fruit salad with fresh passion fruit from the garden for breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and they even arranged a laundry service on request. A great family destination.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is no problem for you then the ocean facing room is the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hi_hi_hi_gday_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed only one night. We ended up having the whole house to ourselves. We arrived post Billabong Pro and the owner was pretty shattered. The decor was eclectic. Our room was fine, double bed with 2 singles separated by a curtain. One of the more basic b and b's we stayed in. Breakfast was served in the other house and was the usual spread of cereals, yoghurt, fruit, and a cooked offering to order. Lovely views from high on the hill.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millieWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

All in our group felt very welcome and comfortable. The accomodations were very clean and all ammenities were available (shower, fresh towels, great tasting biscuits in room). The breakfast was great and Sharon actually packed us sandwiches for our journey (great). I can't wait to return to Jeffreys Bay and stay at the A1 Kynaston again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alaing1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We had a great time during the worldcup. The B&B is clean and tidy and the view is absolutely amazing. The freshly bake dmuffins in the morning are to die for. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webdowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Stayed here during the World Cup. Sharon looked after us a treat. Great breakfast to keep you going for the day. It was perfect for what we needed and all within an easy drive of PA. Nice views from the rooms a the front. Even better Sharon managed to also sort out similar accommodation for us in Bloemfontein for our onward trip following England, when no other accommodation available. Great value. Also the seafood restaurant at the end of the seafront road was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
Jeffreys Bay Beach House
#19 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dolphin View Guesthouse
Dolphin View Guesthouse
#15 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
1.4 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Kynaston B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Kynaston B&B

Property: A1 Kynaston B&B
Address: 23 Chestnut Avenue | Eastern Cape, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — A1 Kynaston B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful B&B with fantastic views. Tranquil area, only 500m to the beach. Home from home. This is a small b&b offering 4 sea facing bedrooms in all 1 room without a view but one can use the sundecks and indoor braai .Sharon and Paul would love to welcome you into our home a1 kynaston also have a1 bay view ,songs of the sea etc.Swimming pool .I have been running the b&b for 30 yrs in j bay . I love every minute of it .A1 is situated in a quiet peaceful area of j bay, away from the hustle and bustle of the town ,but less than a km to the local spar , yet near to enjoy its facilities, an easy four minutes walk to the beach .We overlook miles of endless beach, the sea ,lagoon ,farmland and the mountains in the back ground (what a view) I love it every morning I wake up there is something different maybe the dolphins ,whales,surfers, the sun rise is wonderful.Ran the english way ,resident owner ,we are committed to excellence in service.Our motto is arrive as a "guest and leave as a friend "Generous breakfast are served in the dining room over looking the sea Dinners on request, lets treat you to a south africa braai.We can help you plan the following days travel etc Port Elizabeth airport is 80 km away .Easy day trips to Addo Elephant Park,Shamwari Game Reserve Schotia game park lion park Tsisikamma national park etc. In house tour guide are you tired of driving then let paul step in and take take you on tour perhaps to addo elephant park or maybe the rugged Baviaanskloof Mega-reserve offers the ultimate in eco-tourism and adventure tours, outdoor recreation and a unique wilderness experience.we have a 4x4 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your A1 Kynaston B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing