We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely atmosphere”
Review of A1 Kynaston B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A1 Kynaston B&B
Ranked #13 of 49 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is my go to place when passing through Jeffries Bay. Sharon always accommodates me and I feel welcome. A good nights sleep in a home like environment! Comfortable and relaxing , always the same. Great!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for the review! Much appreciated! You are always welcomed here ,in your same cosy room .
I love to see the same faces returning again and again means i'm doing something right.
Enjoy the kids see you soon i guess ,
Regards to all
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were travelling with small children and they were made to feel so at home here. Sharon was very helpful and easy going. Late arrival was no problem and we felt really welcome. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice.
We were so happy we stayed here again on our way back. I would reccommend this accommodation without reserve.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for posting such a nice a review regarding our establishment. This is much appreciated. We hope to see you one day again! Do take care .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked this room quite spontaneously and arrived at Jeffreys Bay pretty late at night. Nevertheless, our host waited to welcome us. We enjoyed our night stop. The breakfast was lovely just like our host. Great comfortable atmosphere. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

So happy you had a good stay here with us! I wish you all the very best .Do take care kind regards sharon ,PS .thanks for another cold front coming up from cape town again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The service was great, room was clean and very comfortable. The hostess really went out of her way to make my stay pleasant - will definitely use them in the future! I will definitely recommend this guesthouse

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Glad you had a good stay here with us! Thanks for the review so very kind of you ,do take care
kind regards
sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We'd been on the road all day, tired and hungry, host waited 'til after we'd had dinner(suggesting an awesome restaurant~nina's surf bar) checking in much later than planned.

Quiet neighborhood, good nights rest, great one night stopover on our roadtrip.

Breakfast is superb!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kwestie5953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Many thanks for staying at a1 .
What a pleasure it was that you visited us . You will always be welcome here,doesn't matter what time you check in . Thank you for this lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I highly recommend this accommodation. Very friendly family and cosy room with patio. All necessary things in the kitchen available. Silent situated in a living area at the north side of Jeffrey´s Bay. Car beneficial.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon071, Owner at A1 Kynaston B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

After a busy season time to look at messages ,i thank you very much for your message .hope all well with the little ones ,..
What a pleasure it was that you visited us . You will always be welcome here.Send my regards to stefan too .
enjoy your summer ,here is rather cold .
take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were shocked when we read the review of Sam1Charente which coincided with our visit. This was definitely not what we experienced.
We had a lovely room with a beautiful view on the bay. The room was very clean and well equipped, we even had home baked biscuits.
The water problem was not an issue as the owner provided clean water in buckets. It was after all not his fault that a pipe burst in the street. He also offered us a discount, but we declined as the situation was handled professionally.
Breakfast was great and Paul gave us wonderful info for our trip. We enjoyed his company.
As a matter of fact, we had such a good time that we decided to stay another night!
Great place with very reasonable rates. Thanks Paul.

Room Tip: Top room has an excellent view of the bay if you don't mind the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 251Philip56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 29 in Jeffreys Bay
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
Jeffrey's Bay Beach House
#19 of 49 in Jeffreys Bay
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Kynaston B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Kynaston B&B

Address: 23 Chestnut Avenue | Eastern Cape, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £27 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A1 Kynaston B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful B&B with fantastic views. Tranquil area, only 500m to the beach. Home from home. This is a small b&b offering 4 sea facing bedrooms in all 1 room without a view but one can use the sundecks and indoor braai .Sharon and Paul would love to welcome you into our home a1 kynaston also have a1 bay view ,songs of the sea etc.Swimming pool .I have been running the b&b for 30 yrs in j bay . I love every minute of it .A1 is situated in a quiet peaceful area of j bay, away from the hustle and bustle of the town ,but less than a km to the local spar , yet near to enjoy its facilities, an easy four minutes walk to the beach .We overlook miles of endless beach, the sea ,lagoon ,farmland and the mountains in the back ground (what a view) I love it every morning I wake up there is something different maybe the dolphins ,whales,surfers, the sun rise is wonderful.Ran the english way ,resident owner ,we are committed to excellence in service.Our motto is arrive as a "guest and leave as a friend "Generous breakfast are served in the dining room over looking the sea Dinners on request, lets treat you to a south africa braai.We can help you plan the following days travel etc Port Elizabeth airport is 80 km away .Easy day trips to Addo Elephant Park,Shamwari Game Reserve Schotia game park lion park Tsisikamma national park etc. In house tour guide are you tired of driving then let paul step in and take take you on tour perhaps to addo elephant park or maybe the rugged Baviaanskloof Mega-reserve offers the ultimate in eco-tourism and adventure tours, outdoor recreation and a unique wilderness experience.we have a 4x4 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your A1 Kynaston B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing