We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay in Jeffreys Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Supertubes Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 48 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
1 review
“Best Stay in Jeffreys Bay”
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I actually stayed at Supertubes Guesthouse for the last 5 years.
And what a great experience it was! Either by myself or along with my 23 years old son Bernardo and his mate, or along with my wife, we always had the best time. Salome and Maresa always host us with fantastic hospitality, efficient staff, great b-fast and this year, even delicious complimentary dinners, that went from gourmet soups to beautiful curry and one of the best chicken pies I've ever had!
My company staff also stayed at Supertubes and we often have our mid-year meetings in their facilities, of warm welcome and great taste! It is like stay at home! Actually better! It is like to stay at my Mom's or my Grand-mother's home, where they would always spoiled me the best! Cheers!

Renato Hickel
Gold Coast - Australia

  • Liked — Location, Service, Cleaness, Hospitality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Avai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    39
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
105
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2008

On our previous visit to South Africa we had stayed at Supertubes in Jeffreys Bay, only to have the worst possible stay. We had to be moved three times, as there seemed to a terrible mistake with their bookings, which meant we were staying in "other" guests' rooms.

On our trip to SA this year, we meticulously planned our tripped for six months in advance as we did not want to go through all the previous year's experiences again. We love SA, especially Jeffreys so much. We corresponded via email with a lady, whose name I don't think needs mentioning, but it does seem she is somehow involved in ownership, taking particular care to make sure the specific room we wanted was booked for us.

Upon arriving at Supertubes, we were told that there was no record of our booking, which dumbfounded us completely, as we had corresponded with the abovementioned lady for six months.

Finally it turned out, that our room was given to other guests, for reasons unknown to us. So we were placed in completely unsuitable rooms and to make matters worse, moved around once or twice more.

All in all it was a terrible experience again, regardless of the tasteful decor and great location. I would however like to mention that a lady called Gerda, was absolutely wonderful in assisting us during this chaotic stay and being more than apologetic about the situation. Her warm smile and friendly personality convinced us to stay another few nights, instead of seeking alternative accommodation.

I would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone as it is in a superb location and has got a great ambience, as long as the owner re-evaluates the booking system and employs more staff like dear Gerda.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank SarahDeeLondon018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

My wife and two young boys stayed at Supertubes in March at the end of our trip through the Garden Route. We also stayed at Kurland and Hunter's.

We enjoyed our stay at Supertubes very much. The decor is beautiful and probably one of the nicest to be found in Jeffrey's. The service from the staff was superb. The place feels like a very nice British Bed and Breakfast.

My guess is that it caters to those who want a finer touch than the typical Jeffrey's Bay backpacker/surfer.

Of course, my wife and I both surf and enjoyed being able to walk across the grass to Supertubes....

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SleepyJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

We stayed in the Supertubes Guesthouse in Oct 2007 and loved it. The location is excellent; just steps across the grass to the beach and the famous Supertubes surf break. The room was comfortable, though I would say the decor, although tasteful, was starting to look a little tired (but that’s being really picky). It had a lovely large balcony with views towards the sea. Downstairs, guests have free run of a large, open plan, fully equipped kitchen and living area, and every day a fresh supply of complimentary chocolate brownies appeared in the kitchen. Outside the living area is a large, covered, furnished veranda. Although we ate out, it would be very easy to self cater here.

Under the trade name of 'Supertubes collection' there is the Supertubes Guesthouse, Supertubes B&B and 'Khaya Zinza' an 8-bedroom luxury villa. They are all located right next to each other and steps from the beach and the famous Supertubes surf break. Guests in the guesthouse eat breakfast in the B+B next door, which was very good. We didn't see inside the villa but from the outside it looks fab and it is even closer to the beach. The staff seem to be based at the B+B and that is where the office is located where we checked in and out,. They are, however, on hand if you need them and it did give us the feel that we had the run of the guest house; you certainly don’t feel you are in someone else’s space in the kitchen/veranda areas. There is a great little restaurant just a few doors away called 20 Pepper Street - known for its Sushi but plenty choice besides. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Slightly tired decor in bedrooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Camera1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2006

We stayed at Supertubes B&B for one night only. It was very nice. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were very well equipped. The balconies are very large and if you're at the back of the house you have a view of the beach.

There is a kitchen area upstairs and downstairs that guests can use if they want to cook etc. There is also a large lounge and TV area for guests to use.

This is a fantastic location, only meters from Supertubes surf break at Jeffreys Bay.

If a B&B is what you're after, I can recommend this place and would definately stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.0 mi away
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seashells Luxury Apartments
Seashells Luxury Apartments
#3 of 48 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#2 of 26 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sea Whisper Guest House & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Supertubes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Supertubes Guesthouse

Property: Supertubes Guesthouse
Address: 10/12 PEPPERSTREET | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Supertubes Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Collection of luxury Guest Houses. Situated on the world famous surfing beach - Supertubes! Accommodation with added extras and stunning sea views to ensure a special stay. Supertubes Collection offers luxury rooms, standard rooms and self-catering apartments most rooms with private balconies and direct access to the beach. Breakfast is served in the dining room and we serve dinner on request.Luxury rooms with private balconies and stunning sea-views. Fully equipped with air conditioners, DSTV, international plug points, free Wi-Fi, bar fridge, coffee and tea facilities, small save and heated towel rails. Classic (Standard) rooms with private balconies, most rooms with sea-views. Comfortable and well equipped. Barbecues facilities available. Experience real South African hospitality on the country side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Supertubes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supertubes Hotel Jeffreys Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing