We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
Nearby Hotels
Savoy Hotel(Jeffreys Bay)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Thatchwood(Saint Francis Bay)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape St Francis Resort(Cape St Francis)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oyster Bay Lodge(Oyster Bay)
US$186
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Hub Boutique Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$74
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The King Edward Hotel(Port Elizabeth)
US$56
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
534
67
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
67
7
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousebeach towelssuper tubesperfect stayplace to stayworld classb bgreat roomgreat breakfastsaw dolphinsfirst floorperfect viewspacious roomattention to detailtwo nightsself cateringocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed last weekend while visiting family. It really is lovely. The rooms are spacious with beautiful views. We were in room 7 which is one of the best. The little balcony was stunning. On Saturday afternoon we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine and the magnificent view. Breakfast was also great. Lots of good quality food available.
Problem is don't plan on a quiet morning. The Supertubes car park is outside your window and the wonderfully social surfers are at full volume by 5.45. Add to this the guests above us in the loft suite also making a racket at 6.00 and you light as well get up because you are not going to snooze. It always fascinates me how a lot of people have no regard for others. Still it's not the fault of the venue which was superb. If you can overlook the early morning start, you'll really enjoy this spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Excellently stocked mini bar with great selection
Wardrobe space
Light spacious airy rooms
Huge bed
Local wall art
Secure place to store boards
Board holders in rooms
Big shower
Balcony with seating overlooking the breakpoint
In room coffee and a selection of teas with risk biscuits
In room toiletries, hand wash ,lotion, conditioner shampoo shower gel.
Gorgeous.
Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Coming from Cape Town, I must admit that we are pretty spoilt when it comes to beaches and sea views; however, our trips to Jeffreys Bay never cease to amaze us! We have been there 4 times and 3 of those have stayed at African Perfection - once in the self catering house and twice in the Loft Suite. Our stay last year was in September and we treated ourselves to the Loft Suite again, having fallen in love with it in 2010.

After the 9 hour drive from Cape Town, our family of 4 - 2 adults & 2 children (ages 11 & 14) were exhausted, but as we drove down Pepper Street and pulled into the parking area of African Perfection, our holiday began and we were no longer tired! We had left Cape Town in pouring rain and travelled in those conditions most of the way, but JBay was beautiful - warm and sunny. As we climbed the steps to the Loft Suite and entered its space, we all knew were in paradise! The view from the top is breathtaking - 180 degree sea views with Supertubes right in front of us ... Our 5 day holiday had begun ...

The mornings in JBay start early because it gets the sunrise - my husband would grab his surfboard and jump into the sea (no wetsuit necessary, as the water is warm), often being the first to ride the waves - just him and the dolphins. I would have my cup of tea while sitting in bed watching the dolphins and my husband sharing the waves. Our day was spent lying on the beach, swimming, reading and surf lessons for our girls. We spent endless hours watching the surfers. Sometimes we would pop down to the surf factory shops where my daughters shopped up a storm and equipped themselves for the summer at half the price of what it would cost in Cape Town!! The well equipped suite meant that all our catering was done at home and, to be quite honest, we didn't want to leave the place, even for a meal!
The evenings were spent on the balcony watching the day come to an end and the dolphins then came back for a quick moonlight swim.

Sadly, 5 days flew past all too quickly. The perfect weather, perfect surf and perfect position made this an even better holiday than Mauritius (according to my daughters). We will be back and will treat ourselves to the Loft Suite again, but next time it will be 7 days ...

If you would like to add a bush experience to your trip up the Garden Route, we can highly recommend Shamwari - it is only about 1 1/2 hour drive from JBay.

Room Tip: The Loft Suite is the best - can accommodate 4 people. Any of the sea facing rooms are good, as they are quieter. Higher floors are more secluded.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManaC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We booked a family room as we have a 3 year old, and found the room spacious clean and comfortable. In the morning I lay in bed, sipped coffee and watched the waves breaking on the rocks! It's not an ideal swimming beach although it was perfect for my daughter who spent hours hours playing in the rock pools. We found so much sea life in them too! Great swimming beaches are not too far away. we saw dolphins surfing the waves and whales splashing in the bay.I could have lived there, the views were amazing!! The breakfast was delicious too, made to order.

We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, you will not be disappointed!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had two rooms (one for my wife and I and one for our boys). They were very clean with the best view in the world directly onto the ocean. In the morning we watched the dolphins surfing in the waves along side human surfers. If you want a place to crash this is it. There aren't any real extra facilities but as a base it was perfect. We did not use the restaurant as we spent most of our time with our friends that have a house nearby.

The noise of the ocean may keep you awake if you are a light sleeper. We however just closed the windows and used the fan

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews