We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't recommend at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 52 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I travel a lot and its been a while since I have been exposed to accommodation this bad.Well priced does not need to imply cheap. The pillows and covers look like they have not been replaced in years.The pillows smell of other people's sweat. Ughh! The magazines date back to 2001.No multi-plugs in rooms. No iron.No credit card facility.The cupboard is falling off its hinges. Don't apologise if you know its broken, fix it. Really guys, I would be embarrassed if this was my place. Don't you think its time to catch up with the times even if you live in Jeffrey's! Jeffrey's is full of choice when it comes to places to stay.For anyone considering Aquarius, I would rather stay away. You can do affordable better than this!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelinaJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed during the summer holiday for 4 nights and were really satisfied with everything – the rooms were clean, the setting is beautiful and the hostess Joy, is a real joy! The superb breakfasts were the best – we could not believe the top quality for what we were paying! The special treatment and care of guests were notably. Therefore I would definitely stay in Aquarius again and would recommend this B&B to all my friends and family. Well done Joy!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laailou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a night when passing through Jeffreys Bay. We found it to be up to standard with any b&bs on the garden route. It was clean, a decent-sized room, and was located conveniently in the town. Joy, the hostess, made us a lovely breakfast, and was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyboyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Spent one month traveling around South Africa. This is one place I would NEVER recommend to a friend. I would advise people to stay clear of this establishment for the following reasons:
In the middle of the night a person broke into the BB and then into our room. I woke up to find an African man standing over me holding my phone and earrings. We were not harmed. However, it was the response or should I say the lack of response from the owners that shocked me. Firstly, they never contacted us. Secondly, when we said that we didn't want to pay for the first night (the night we were robbed), they insisted we did otherwise our credit cards would be charged.
Its one thing to have NO security on their BB, but it’s another thing to make your guest pay for their incompetence. The owners were rude, obnoxious, and should not be operating in the hospitality trade I would not recommend this BB to anyone, on a side issue - rooms are small, with no fans, TV is small with only a couple of local channels, breakfast, was the worst we had in any BB in SA

Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
4  Thank NiamhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

Just a quick note to any travelers heading toward Jefferys Bay.

For your own safety I would recommend that you do not stay in this guest house as it is not safe and secure.

I have witnesed this first hand when we had an intruder visit our room in the middle of the night when we were asleep only for my girlfriend to wake with a gentleman looking at her as he robed us.

To make matters worse the owner did not even bother calling down to the house to see if everything was ok.

Just very dissapointed with the whole experience.

Oh and charged in full also!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank simmyno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dini2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maaike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jeffreys Bay hotels
1 mi away
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
Island Vibe Jeffrey's Bay
#1 of 28 in Jeffreys Bay
528 reviews
1.8 mi away
A1 Kynaston B&B
A1 Kynaston B&B
#15 of 52 in Jeffreys Bay
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse
On the Beach Guesthouse
#4 of 52 in Jeffreys Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mentors Country Estate
Mentors Country Estate
#18 of 52 in Jeffreys Bay
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greystone Guest House
Greystone Guest House
#19 of 52 in Jeffreys Bay
37 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Echo Accommodation
Sea Echo Accommodation
#24 of 52 in Jeffreys Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Bed and Breakfast

Address: 69 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range: £38 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a lovely breakfast with freshly brewed coffee and our facilities include an Outdoor Pool and BBQ/Braai area, a shared communal self-catering kitchen and we are conveniently centrally located, a mere 10 minute walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. We provide Free Wi-Fi access and the rooms are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a TV in each room with local channels and one shared DSTV channel. Bed linen, towels and toiletries are provided. Guests have access to an outdoor swimming pool and BBQ/braai area and breakfast can be enjoyed every morning inside, on the deck or outside by the pool weather and space permitting. We have a generator on-site that will ensure guests still have access to lights, TV and Wi-Fi and a hot breakfast should there be power outages. There is a Health Food Shop on-site called Anja's Pantry where health foods and products are for sale. We sell low-carb, sugar-free, gluten-free and grain-free products and these are all also suitable for diabetics. A variety of activities can be found nearby. There are a number of bars within walking distance, as well as beaches, and a beauty clinic. Activities in the surrounding area include golf, bungee jumping, hiking, horse riding, mountain biking, scuba diving, shopping, surfing, swimming, and whale watching. Jeffrey's Bay is known as J-Bay and is located an hour's drive from Port Elizabeth. Jeffrey's Bay is a famous surfing destination, and is home to beautiful beaches. We promote responsible/sustainable travel - we do our best to make use of and support local produce and businesses in Jeffrey's Bay; we recycle paper, glass and plastics and we also give back to the community by supporting The Joshua Project. The Joshua Project in Jeffrey's Bay is a safe haven for vulnerable children/youth at risk and children/youth living on the street where they receive love, support, education, and skills development opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Aquarius Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing