We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gariep A Forever Resort
Nearby Hotels
Van Zylsvlei(Colesberg)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Barracks(Colesberg)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alhoa Halfway Stop(Gariep Dam)
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
81
83
30
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
83
30
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalue for moneycape townwhole familytennis courtsjungle gymcaravan parkcamping siteputt puttclean ablutionsablution blockself cateringprivate ablutiongreat familyablution facilitiesflat screen tvprivate bathroomluxury chalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Again visited this favourite caravan park. This time we decided on having a caravan site with private bathroom. Rather nice option for extra R30 it was worth it. Had breakfast once again at the resort restaurant and glad to report major improvement. A newly employed restaurant manger has uplifted the standards nicely and our breakfast omlettes were very acceptable. We will definitely frequent this eatery again in future. Recommended

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Overnight at caravan park. Best ablution block in South Africa, which we can confidently claim having been to hundreds of others. Restaurant at the resort we found a bit lacking although the view over the dam was great. Our breakfast was mediocre but may be as a result of off season slackness. Would def visit again & again

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank GerryGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Destilj Hotel and the boat cruise on the Gariep Dam is an experience never to forget. The tranquil nature setting water mass under vast open sky, makes the beholder to transcends into a 'Free State of Mind'. A great escape from the city-rush to an open space where you can breath freely, find yourself, and regain lost energy. And after a great cruise on the Great 'Garip' you are welcomed back at the hotel by friendly smiles of staff and aroma of sumptuous cuisine. After today I do agree that: "Whatever you are looking for, it's here"

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangaung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here as a stop over, chalets are small and basic, very hot in this area, chalet has one aircon only in lounge. chalet was clean and well kept. resort has many water activities

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was a pleasant stopover in Gariep.The chalets cater for all amounts of people, we stayed in a double overlooking the dam.
The chalets were roomy with a TV and several channels to choose from located in the lounge. The resort offers self catering or a Restaurant. The night we were there a Buffet was on the offering at R110 per head,
The price says it all.
This establishment can be recommended as a stopover.

Room Tip: Good value for money and over 60's get a huge discount
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pietuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews