We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Giant's Castle Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We were both astounded when we arrived at Elephant Rock - the surrounding scenery is surreal!! If we were both 60 years younger, we would have headed off on one of the all day hiking trails - however even just walking up to the Bushman's caves was a great walk (at our age perhaps stagger would be a better word). On our first night as we sat on our veranda with a drink, we were greeted by a light and sound show, in other words a dramatic African electrical storm which lit up the hills and mountains. How good is that!!! Great food, great staff and great memories..
John and Glenys Australia

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    94
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at Giants Castle and the view is awesome. However, the lodges are oldfashioned and the breakfest and diner were poor. Even for a 3 star accommodation. The staff of the reception and shop are unkind.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPoloBeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

You go to Giants for the incredible mountain scenery, brilliant walks, and total peace and quiet. The camp delivers what it promises: basic, clean thatched huts, with all that you need for basic self-catering. Kitchenette, fridge, kettle, braai site etc. No frills, but that is OK. The staff are fine when you engage them in friendly conversation. The curio and food shop are awful; buy your curios elsewhere and bring the food and supplies that you need with you. Restaurant is ordinary, so self-catering is very definitely the way to go in my view. Cell phone coverage is mostly reliable but the road into the camp from Hlatikulu is full of pot holes so be very cautious. I will keep coming back for the amazing location, the fine accommodation, and just accept the limitations regarding food etc

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Giants castle takes your breath away with every turn. Stunning pristine mountains! hikers paradise!
The camp is tucked in between the mountains. it is small and clean. It is very remote so bring everything you might need as the shop at the camp is very basic.
Driving from Johannesburg I suggest to take mooi river turn off, it is a bit further but the road is in much better condition.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a beautifull spot to stay. Nice clean cabins. Friendly staff. In winter the nights can be cold and the restaurant is cold too. So do not forget to bring a warm sweater. But the food is ok and value for the money. You can make great walks from the camp. The visit to the rockpaintings is worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Our fourth visit to this haven and once again we left planning our return. Accommodation is excellent, staff are friendly and helpful, restaurant is good value for money, food is delicious (esp. the steak), weather was perfect and as for the walking and the scenery … words fail me.

Room Tip: Although more expensive, it's worth going for a mountain view chalet, rather than one closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Located in the national park. Great spot. Very quite and untouched. No horse riding. Need to go to mooi river. Very easy to more difficult hikes. Book in advance for the bird hide. We could not go as the hide was fully booked by the time we got there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOandAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
16.7 mi away
Champagne Castle Hotel
Champagne Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Winterton
878 reviews
17.5 mi away
Inkungu Lodge
Inkungu Lodge
#7 of 12 in Drakensberg Region
53 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Nest Hotel
The Nest Hotel
#3 of 5 in Winterton
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
54.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
304 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giant's Castle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giant's Castle Camp

Property: Giant's Castle Camp
Address: P/Bag X7055 | Estcourt 3310, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Giant`s Castle Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing