We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
70
29
3
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
29
3
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrakensberg sunchampagne valleyhome away from homequichewonderful stayblue grottonice gardenlarge comfortable bedsun hotelinterior designerexcellent breakfastwake up earlyevery morningpersonal touchhiking trailsdining areaother guests
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We also stayed in 2 rooms at Cathkin a few weeks ago and I agree with the other reviewers. The rooms were small, poor lighting only 2 bedside lamps, no heating other than a hot water bottle, as we were in the mountains and the weather was poor it was quite cold in the rooms. The owners were away in America and had been for 3 months although they had emailed me only the week before our stay but did not mention they would not be present. We had the same problems at breakfast we were told it was 8-30 so we went to breakfast only to be told we would have to wait until the other 4 guests had finished there's as there wasn't enough places at the table. The food was very poor, and tiny amounts. The lady caretaker told us of other guests who had complained or left early she also said the place was up for sale. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2007

Having spent a month travelling around South Africa, staying in guest houses and B&Bs which we'd booked ourselves over the internet, this was the one place which really disappointed us. The price was similar to the price we'd paid everywhere else, but the standard of accommodation was not at all similar.
Foolishly, on arrival, we were asked for the balance of the accommodation cost, and we paid - without asking to see our room. (At no other guest house were we asked for money before departure day, and we have since found out that it's not normal procedure in South Africa.)
Our room turned out to be small, and seemed to us to be cheaply furnished. After spending the night in the room, we also discovered that the sound proofing was poor, and we were disturbed by guests through an inter-connecting door.
Unlike everywhere else we stayed, it was announced to us that breakfast was at 8.30 - no leeway at all for an earlier or a later breakfast. Also, the breakfast, in our opinion, was very poor by comparison to our other stays.
We checked out after only one night (we'd booked for 4 nights), losing the money we'd paid for the other 3 nights - another English couple also checked out after only one night for the same reasons, though we'd never met them before or since! We left the area, but the other couple checked into a hotel only 200 yards down the road to continue their stay in the Drakensbergs!
In retrospect, we would have been safer using the Portfolio or Greenwood Guides, as the properties we found which were registered with these, were definitely of a higher standard.

Stayed: October 2006
2  Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathkinCottage1234, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathkinCottage1234, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathkinCottage1234, Owner at Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews