We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully relaxing, amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I can not fault Montusi- we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days here. We had a one-bedroomed thatched bungalow which was extremely comfortable. The bedroom had huge windows so you could lie in bed and enjoy the amazing views over the Amphitheatre, which could also be enjoyed from our patio, and the lounge. That had a gas log fire, which was welcome for the chilly evenings. I appreciated the coffee and tea making area, with sink, and the jug of fresh milk left in the fridge.The bathroom was well appointed, with a large bath and excellent separate shower, and our hire car even had its own carport
The food was delicious, with a huge choice at breakfast, and beautifully presented evening meals.There was an excellent inexpensive wine menu too. Coffee and cakes in the lounge at 4pm were an added bonus, as were the free guided walks
You really need a car to get here- but it is worth the effort. Set in lovely countryside the views from all the rooms over the Amphitheatre were magical. We hope to be able to return

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Wonderful accommodation in thatched huts in a park overlooking the Drakensbergs. The food was excellent and the host provides some local colour in the bar at night.
Well organised local walks.
The staff were very helpful when our travel arrangements came adrift.
Excellent serice. Afternoon tea in the lounge is very welcome.
Ideally you need a car to take advantage of the surrounding country side.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I booked our stay at Montusi about 6 months prior to our visit for my honeymoon so was very anxious so see if it would live up to the expectation and if it looked as beautiful as the website suggests. To say the least, it exceeded all my expectations!

The lodge is situated in a beautiful part of the Northern Drakensberg with lovely views of the landscape. The views of the Drakensberg from our suite or when we were having breakfast on the patio is something to remember. It is truly a place where you can relax.

There are lots of things to do at or near Montusi: the first day we walked up Montusi Mountain to the Bushman's cave. There's a waterfall and from there you've got a beautiful view over the lodge. I saw a Jackal Buzzard while walking which was a first to me! There's also lots of roads to drive around and explore the area.
The second day we walked up the Amphitheater which is a must. The whole walk up the Amphitheater is filled with some of the best views as well as a few challenges including the chain ladders.
The last day we stayed at the lodge and enjoyed the peace and quietness of the surroundings and spent some time at the swimming pool.

One of the standout features at Montusi for me was the dining. The food was, as my wife said, "stunning"! We were always exited to see what was going to be on the dinner menu.

All the suites are private and you are ensured to have a wonderful stay at Montusi. I would recommend it to any person who enjoys the beautiful and quietness of nature.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hennie_Welman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife & I enjoyed this second visit as much as our first & we now will visit here every time we holiday in SA.To see dawn over the mountains from our bed is something we shall never forget. The birds & their colours are a bonus.
The thatched cottages are charming & well spaced.The food always with a good choice is first class, wines well priced & a good selection.
The pool area just what is required to wash away memories of a British Winter & there is a daily opportunity to have some sightseeing exercise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123Tone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This is an excellent place! Fantastic location, with lots of things to do from the doorstep, including some varied and interesting walks. Amazing views, excellent food and wine (including a daily changing vegetarian menu-wow!), and very comfortable and well appointed rooms and facilities. The whole place has a serene and very relaxing feel to it. The owners and staff were all very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. If you're thinking of a top notch place , then think no further!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliewatson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We choose Montusi as we were looking for a nice hideaway to relax and distress, and \montusi is the perfect place, even the weather did not dampen our visit. The welcome and service from all the staff made the visit even better and we were very sad to depart at the end of our week, but very relaxed. Will be back for sure. Will definitely recommend to anyone, including families seeking a nice and friendly enviroment, with plenty to do.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHeron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We arrived at Montusi for a Valentines Lunch and was treated to not only excellent fare but a view to die for from our garden table. All the activities that we took part in were as read, no disappointment's at all. Accommodation was excellent, every cottage has a really good outlook, as has the Dining room and Bar.
We prebooked a concert with the Drakensberg Boys Choir which is a must if you can make the third Wednesday of the month, 40 minute drive through nice scenery.
We will be back to experience the other season where everything is dry and golden but cooler.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erinholm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
3.2 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
256 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
3.0 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 14 in Bergville
122 reviews
15.5 mi away
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Phuthaditjhaba
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range: £186 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, South African Hotels, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing