We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The Lodge overlooks the majestic Drakensberg mountain range. The individual lodges are spacious and luxurious, making for a very tranquil stay. The food was excellent and the family were on hand making sure our 4 nights stop was up to expectations. The guided walk up Montusi Mountain was a bonus.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thanks for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your four night stay with us.
The Montusi Peak hike is always a great option for guests looking for a great view.
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi again soon.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    55
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
194
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fenstanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We picked here as the first part of our holiday and we were glad that we did, it is a great place to unwind in spectacular scenery. Its location is even more stunning than the pictures on the web. The Lodge is still family run and they are ever present ensuring standards are maintained, they even take their meals with the guests quietly keeping a watchful eye. Not that they need to because the service and food is first class. I have read in some reports about the quality of the approach road, the section of road being referred to, is over 30km away on a public highway, hardly the fault of the Lodge owners! After all this is Africa and not Europe! Rooms are individual thatched cabins and ours was well equipped with even an open fire for those chilly evenings. DVDs are available in the reception and we watched Zulu which was filmed using the view from the Lodge as a back drop, miles from the real location. If there is one small suggestion - the pool is down from the main building and the bar, and it would be great if when around the pool the staff came and checked if you wanted drinks or whatever. But having said that, we would go back if we were in the area again. Well done Montusi team.

Room Tip: All have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Dear Mr Ferrier,

Thanks for your review of Montusi and for your advice during your stay. It is always lovely to chat to our guests and I really appreciate you sharing your knowledge with us.
Your suggestion about service at the pool side is a very good one and we will work on implementing this.
We are delighted that your overall South African experience was positive and hope to welcome you back to Montusi in the future.

Best regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We decided to visit Drakensbergen because we read lots of reviews about the magnificent views. We googled and found the Montusi Lodge. The route to the lodge is very scenic, the tension is built up and finally you arrive at the premisses. The photos on the internet are great but once you're there you have to admit that everything is much nicer! Just sit in your chair on the terrace of your garden suite and look at the Amphitheatre!!!.
The suite is very well equiped, very spacious room and bathroom (with nice details on the tiles) and shows very high quality. Everything is great: service, staff, views, lodge.
There is just one small remark. On this website, and others, the travellers mentioned the dinner, which was said to be Michelin-star quality. The pictures on the Montusi site showed it too. We didn't feel that way. After discussing this with some staff they told us that their chef had left and they didn't reach their expected level. Fortunately we saw some reviews that a new chef has been hired so we hope that the quality of the dinner can again compete with the quality of the suites and the views to the Drakensbergen!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoudjeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of Montusi. We really appreciate the feedback.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and are delighted to report that our new head chef is settling in very well and has already implemented a few tweaks to our menus and food presentation. We do hope that you will be able to visit Montusi again one day and hopefully you will find an improvement in the cuisine.

We trust the rest of your South African adventure was a delight.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Montusi truly is a gem of a place. My husband swept me away to this secret hideyhole and asked me to marry him (all superbly orchestrated as a surprise with the Carte family in cahoots). We loved our stay so much that we decided to get married there too. I cannot explain how the whole montusi family (staff included) made our wedding a magical day to remember for us and friends who travelled from around the world. If you want complete relaxation and peace then come here. The culinary delights are to die for (new chef recently started and I am sure he is brilliant), there are numerous hikes that suit all abilities and great mountain biking trails so make sure you bring a bike (helmet is a must for those wicked descents). We keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thanks so much for making your Montusi experiences public! We have loved getting to know you and look forward to welcoming you back to Montusi:D
Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern england
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The best views are never on your doorstep and its a bit of a journey to get to Montusi but well worth the effort. Yes there are potholes on the road but there are plenty of signs to warn you! The lodge is in a spectacular position and if you are as lucky as we were to have hot and sunny weather the view is unbeatable. The lodge is run by a family who also own two of the neighbouring properties and theres a nice feeling of continuity about it all. We were extremely well looked after and our little lodge with 2 bedrooms and bathrooms and sitting room with TV and terrace was ideal for our short stay. The food was exceptionally good and the dining room most attractive. Horse riding and fly fishing were on the doorstep and well worth doing both. The pool was the nicest we swam in on our holiday in SA and a perfect temperature.
The Lodge was built in 2000 and perhaps this is slightly reflected in the decor. We had stayed in 10 guest houses in South Africa and were continually blown away by the use of local stone/wood/animal skins and colours........perhaps Montusi could do with a little bit of a facelift? The use of pine and beige curtains and sofas does seem a little dated in comparison and luckily we didn't need to sit in the sitting room - it did look a bit dreary.
However it didn't deter in any way from our enjoyment of this beautiful place and the excellent hospitality and slick running were second to none.
We would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 10 and that had an uninterrupted view of the mountains which meant nobody could walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thanks very much for your reveiw of Montusi. We really enjoyed hosting your family. Thanks also for sharing your views on our decor. It is such a tricky thing to master, and when we do our refurbs we will bear in mind the bolder trends;)
We hope you have had a great start to 2013.
Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

A well worth stay...wonderful hikes to take on your own or guided! Quiet and calm surroundings! A good place to rest and relax from the hussle and bussle of city life! Owners and staff go all out for their guests even organising flat tyre repairs!! Wonderful gourmet food at the dinner table!! Every day! Just what the doctor ordered!! Very happy!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Tina,
Thanks very much for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you back to Montusi and are very chuffd that you enjoyed your stay. The boys were happy to help with the tyre:)
Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at Montusi Mountain Lodge. The scenic views are breathtaking. It is a wonderful resort which is away from the hustle and bustle of larger resorts. There are various walks and cycling trails you can do from the resort and it is close enough to the National Parks is you want to do more vigorous hikes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Montusi Experience! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you returned to the "real world" rejuvenated and reconnected as a family.
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi soon.
Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
237 reviews
20.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
2.8 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
474 reviews
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Property: Montusi Mountain Lodge
Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing