We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montusi puts new meaning into recharging your batteries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Montusi puts new meaning into recharging your batteries”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just spent an amazing four nights at Montusi Mountain Lodge. Our second visit in the last year. Again our expectations were exceeded. Cottages are laid out in such a way that each one enjoys a view but are secluded from one another. Our suite was spacious, very comfortable, exceptionally clean and well equipped. The under floor heating was bliss in the chilly evenings. The staff are friendly and unobtrusive. Our room was made up each morning while we ate breakfast. Great organisation. The views, the walks and the peace and quiet are amazing. The time we spent at Waterfall Cave was inspiring and we would love to visit it again when the stream is in flood. Dinner each night was superb, cooked to perfection and with plenty of options. Seconds when requested were served with a smile. Highly recommended for couples wanting quality time together.

Room Tip: The corner tub for two in suite 15 is magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan_and_Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Duncan and Marion,

It was such a pleasure to host you at Montusi again. We really appreciate your kind words both here on TripAdvisor and our Facebook page.
The peace that we enjoy at Montusi does indeed go a long way to creating an atmosphere for quality time.

We look forward to having you back sometime!

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    54
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
187
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a magical couple of nights at Montusi. The view from our suite towards the Amphitheatre is truly spectacular - the full moon rising from there was an added bonus!
Ideal break from city life: quiet, tranquil surroundings... June in the mountains can be especially chilly, so we appreciated the underfloor heating, the gas fire place and the heating in the bathroom. These little luxuries made our stay very comfortable. Also loved the tea and nibbles at 4 o' clock. Overall the food was good - enjoyed the home made bread, pastries and preserves.
We will definately return...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Lynette,

Thanks very much for submitting a review for Montusi. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. the homemade bread is also a favourite of ours! Terribly difficult to resist the temptations of fresh bread when you're tapping away at the keyboard in the office which is right next to the kitchen!
We do hope you will be able to return in the future.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

this hotel is on the edge of the north Drakensburg mountains, with incredible views and a quiet setting. Our lodge was set in a lovely garden overlooking the amphitheatre and very close to the swimming pool (cold) and restaurant. It was very comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The food was delicious with a great choice, the steaks were the best we ever had. The staff were friendly and very helpful and we can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thanks for your reat reveiw of Montusi! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thanks very much for giving of your time to share your Montusi Experience, and for your recommendation:)
We hope the rest of your South African trip was just as lovely.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We arrived in a torrential downpour and immediately got comfy in our beautiful cabin with stunning views over the mountains. Fortunately the weather got better and we were able to utilise the braai/barbecue on our patio as well as enjoy some stunning walks in the local area, discovering caves, waterfalls and views that will remain with me.

The cabins are traditional and rustic homes from home, clean, comfy and well stocked. I had the pleasure of the attic room and enjoyed listening to the rain on the thatched roof as I snuggled down to sleep. The site is a great spot for kids with a central area for throwing a ball about and not forgetting the beautiful lagoon like swimming pool.

The breakfast in the restaurant was absolutely fabulous with a good variety, it was in a relaxed atmosphere with a pleasant view over the mountain.

The service was exemplary whilst we were there and even better as I realised after we had left I had forgotten my iPad! Just one call to the lodge and it was located and couriered to me arriving just two days later - I thought I'd never see it again

The Montusi Mountain Lodge a spot where you can do a lot or a little and come away feeling fully refreshed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetracapsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
A downpour indeed! We were quite relieved that the sun came out and you were able to make full use of your time at Montusi.
The self-catering cottages are a great option for a small group to bond and enjoy the mountains.
We were very happy that your Ipad found its way back to you before you left SA.
We hope to welcome you back to Montusi with some-one you love soon;)

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We have been here most years. This time we had only one night but it is always so relaxing and special here.

Everyone is friendly, the Lodges are well cared for and the food is tasty.

On the morning we left, the clouds cleared away and revealed the Amphitheatre in all it's splendour. Worth the trip for that sight alone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homebody97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Another visit, another appreciated review!
Thank you for giving of your time to post another review of Montusi. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!!
The Amphitheatre is waiting:)
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Montusi Mountain Lodge is a truly special and unique place. The landscape that surrounds the comfortable and spacious lodges is breathtaking...the photos can't adequately convey the beauty of the area.

The food was also fantastic and all staff were helpful and friendly.

I look forward to returning in the future!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Simon,

We so enjoyed hosting the wedding at Montusi in February! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit. It was such a blessing having you all with us. I was so relieved that the weather held out and we were able to enjoy the outdoors.

We hope to welcome you back to Montusi again soon.

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Montusi is located in a spectacular position in the Drakensberg. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is very nice. I would have to agree with a previous review that the cabins snd communal areas, whilst lovely, do need some modernisation and more decorative touches to make this truly spectacular. But we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay C, Manager at Montusi Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Suzi,

Thanks for your review of Montusi. We are glad that you had a good time with us. We are embarking on some upgrades of the suites and the public areas. We hope that you might return to Montusi one day to have a snoop:)

Kind regards,
Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.1 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
20.5 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.3 mi away
Cleopatra Mountain Farmhouse
2.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
36.1 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Property: Montusi Mountain Lodge
Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, South African Hotels, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing