We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Lovely camp situated with Royal Natal Park. We had a chalet at the lower camp for two nights.
The location is superb, a door leads onto a patio area with table/chairs fully enclosed within a thatched roof extension to the chalet. There is also a braai available. From here there is a brilliant view of the amphitheatre.
The chalet itself looks to have been recently redecorated with new bedding, quality tables & bedroom furniture. The room is spacious includes 2 lounge chairs, dining table and TV. There is also a fireplace although wood is not supplied. An electric radiator is provided for chilly evenings.
The bathroom has a shower over the bath, plenty of pressure and hot water plus separate toilet.
The one disappointing feature is the kitchen which is very small. Preparing any form of meal is a challenge with sink, fridge, mini cooker (oven and two ring hob) plus microwave crammed into a very small space.
Overall the location is the main attraction. There are plenty of walking options including the Tugela Gorge Walk, a six hour hike along the gorge with gorgeous views.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

If you want luxury this isn't the place to stay but if you want a fantastic setting, clean and basic accommodation then this is a must. We had a chalet in the upper camp with amazing views, the kitchen has everything you need and it was clean. The sitting room had a couple of chairs and a table, the bedroom had twin beds and an unforgettable view. Some of the cupboards and furniture is a bit dated and the towels have seen better days but I didn't give a damn! The setting and peace made up for any of that. The walks were great and the scenery amazing.
If you arrive after 16.30 a key is left on the whiteboard for you. Warning!!! The park gates shut at 1900 but our paperwork had said 2200. We stocked up in Bergville beforehand and it was a Saturday - everything shuts by 5ish. Staff in the supermarket were mopping up behind us and the liquor store was shut but thankfully they sold nice wine in the camp shop!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoneyScamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

The best thing about the camp is its amazing location. From the Upper Camp you look straight out over the amphitheatre, which is dramatic enough anyway, and even more so when lit up at night by lightning! Lots of walks are available straight from the door, including the Tukela Gorge walk, so you can park your car and forget about it for a day or two.

The huts themselves are a bit tired and could do with sprucing up. That said, the issues were really cosmetic, and we had the basic equipment we needed to self cater. There is a shop on site, but the food it carries is pretty limited, and there is no restaurant,so you really need to stock up before you arrive.

Staff are friendly and helpful and a minor maintenance issue was attended to very promptly.

The site itself is very pretty and quiet, with nothing much by way of facilities, apart from the shop and a children's play area, but that is what you expect if you stay right in the national park.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SV_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

This was the highlight of our trip. We were outdoors and away from the crowds. The scenery --both from our hut and outside was beyond description. We both hope to return there soon. The hiking was superb. This was a noncommerical setting and no one tried to help us park our car!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmdwTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This was the third camp we had stayed in in the Drakensbergs and it's location surpassed even the other two. A pity that there is no restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed at Thendele during the World Cup. We stayed in a cottage in the lower camp.

First of all the view is amazing. As you drive closer to Thendele, the view just keeps getting better and better. We had the most fantastic view out of our bedroom window - mountains everywhere, which we'll remember for a long time.

The cottages themselves are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. Its certainly not luxury accomodation, but there was plenty of room for the 4 of us.

We had a few problems with our stove on the first night, but the staff came over and fixed it for us. After that we had no problems and really enjoyed our stay.

We were there in the middle of winter and it was freezing cold at night, but it was lovely sitting in front of the fire every night.

There are loads of walks to do, some of which leave from the lower camp. We also went horse-riding, which was terrific. There were a few baboons around the camp, including one that tried to get in our kitchen door.

It's more than half an hour drive to the closest shop (other than the ones at the camp), so make sure you buy all of your food on the way in.

Thendele is a great spot to relax, especially in winter. I'm glad we made the effort to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We loved being here. It was really spectacular scenery, and the accommodation was good. Washing up one morning - I looked up and through the window I saw baboons loping by.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wombie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
276 reviews
23 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
693 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
516 reviews
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
334 reviews
18 mi away
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
Witsieshoek Mountain Lodge
#1 of 2 in Phuthaditjhaba
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing