We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did you see that view?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Did you see that view?”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Talk about views, talk about this place. Open you curtains, look out the window and there you see the amphitheater. The NP is absolutely stunning, the views are breathtaking, there is abundant birdlife, there are spectacular walks for all kinds of fitness levels. You can go climbing up the mountains or you can go for a more leisurely stroll through the valleys. The cottages are big, with views at the mountains from all the rooms. The kitchen is well stocked with needed appliances. There is sat tv if you are full of mountain views and bush chickens visit your house frequently. Overnight stay is quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    67
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Thendele is in a great location for hiking in Royal Natal. The views are superb and the cabins are well-suited for base camp needs. The only issue we had was that there wasn't a door or curtain for the shower, but apparently they're renovating the bathrooms and that is a work in progress. Unfortunately for us, it made the bathroom a bit damp and grim during our visit. But all in all, it's a good place to stay and one we'll happily return to.

Room Tip: The Upper and Lower camps are actually quite close. We stayed in the Lower camp and found we actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank awaferthinmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Thendele hutted camp, Royal Natal couldn't be better! There are beautiful walks and Mountain bike trails. The huts have all the cooking equipment you need. The website says the local shop is a "well stocked stop" ;however, it is not hence I would shop before coming. Wherever you are in the world, you must come here- it is worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely cottage in the heart of the national park. The cottage has plenty of indoor and outdoor space. Nice outdoor space was perfect to enjoy the postcard views. The only con was that the hot water ran out the second night (we were 6 girls though). But we were given the keys to use the showers and bathrooms in a nearby cottage. Staff were very pleasant and were on hand to clean up whilst we went on our trek to the waterfalls. The bedrooms are also nice and spacious. The whole layout of the cottage along with the outdoor space made the 2 night stay pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansourhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkuze, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I always wanted to experience the Berg and wanted to be right "in" it! We got to experience that at Thendele Camp. We stayed in the Upper camp and LOVED it! The chalet was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. It would be nice to have a washing machine though, especially over long stays, but other than that, it was excellent. The view was everything we dreamed about and more. We were right below the Ampitheatre and couldnt ask for better. We did some hiking and really enjoyed it, but we will definately have to get a little more fit to do some of the hikes. We will definately be back in summer to be able to enjoy the Tiger Falls, as there was no water flowing this time of year. We loved it and will recommend it to anyone and will be back as often as we can!!
Madelaine & Jesse Owens, Mkuze

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanyaDuPlessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Spent 3 days hiking in and around Thendele and the Hutted camp was an excellent base. Views are amazing, hut (chalet) well equipped and very clean albeit a little dated. Bins emptied everyday, towels changed once during our 3 night stay. Plenty of hot water and electric heater and fire took the chill off. Picked up supplies in Burgville Spar and managed to make some decent meals and picnic lunches. No baboon problem whilst we were there but not too busy so maybe when more people they enter to find scraps. Stayed in upper camp but lower looked great also, upper just edged it for us as we had last chalet (no. 20) for 2 people with views out of all windows. Shop had limited supplies but visitors centre 10 mins away much better stocked. Sunrise incredible, controlled burning of mountain side grass at night is a sight to behold, but a necessary task.

Room Tip: For a couple chalet 20 upper camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

View, views, views! This was one of our favorite places. The cabins are spacious, have good kitchens better equipped than most, and there are a number of hiking trails (at varying lengths and levels of difficulty - get a map at the shop) that start at the camp. After many days spent mostly in the car, it was great to be in a place where we never even got in the car! There is a small store on site that sells essentials and some souvenirs at reasonable prices, but do your grocery shopping before you get there. The baboons can be a bit of a problem - they mostly came around dusk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7.0 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
230 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
298 reviews
36.2 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
87 reviews
8.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Property: Thendele Hutted camp
Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing