We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awe Inspiring Views of the Amphitheatre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thendele Hutted camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring Views of the Amphitheatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable self catered thatched lodge for 2 nights. The views of the Amphitheatre and the surrounding mountains and valleys were stunning when not shrouded in mist. We thoroughly enjoyed the hiking visiting Tiger Falls, the Look Out and the Cascades despite the thunder storms which reverborated around the mountains. Watch out for the baboons! They can open doors! A large alpha male pushed open the kitchen door and we had to scare him off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    65
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The view of the Amphitheater from our thatched cottage was unforgettable. The hiking was varied and challenging. The gorge walk was great although we only got as far as the ladders. McKinley's Pool is a great swimming spot, as is Gudu Falls (it's quite cold though). Be aware that you must shop for all your food before you come because there was virtually nothing in the Thendele shop when we were there. The kitchen is adequate but there is no coffee-maker, only a kettle. We didn't want to drive miles to a restaurant so we were very happy to have brought enough food for our 4-day stay. We can't wait to return. A very, very special place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SS1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in a self catered lodge for three nights and it was the best part of our trip! The view of the amphitheatre (when not in cloud!) is second to none and you are right next to all the walking trails so its very accesible for hiking. The lodge itself is well equipped and very comfortable. We hired a guide from the local village (recommended by reception staff) to take us up the amphitheatre. This added a lot of value and insight into our walk and reassured on the chain ladders! Its quite a drive to the other side of Royal Natal to get to the sentinal car park where you start your walk up the amphitheatre but its worth it. Bear in mind that this is a off road track for the last 5km and so not advisable in a low car!

Room Tip: Lodges 1, 2 and 19, 20 are more secluded so opt for these if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Amphitheatre in the Northern Drakensberg is the most dramatic and beautiful part of the uKhahlamba Drakensberg National Park (a well deserved World Heritage Site) and Thendele's location is no doubt the best, to experience both the attractions and vagaries of a mountain location.

As stated in other reviews the chalets are basic but spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Yes, the baboons does present a problem that needs to be managed by all visitors, but it comes with the territory, as do lions, elephants etc in other African parks and bears in North American parks.

Consider yourself very lucky if you manage to secure a booking and enjoy the experience including its potential challenges: baboons and bad weather.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertusJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable accommodation with breathtaking views. Friendly staff. We had a problem with our oven which the handyman resolved within less than an hour do our reporting it. Lovely forest walk, magical place. Thank you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatriz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic, breathtaking setting. All the chalets are positioned with beautiful views of the amphitheatre. Basic accommodation but spotlessly clean and well maintained. Fully equipped kitchen, dstv and a fireplace ensure you have a comfortable stay. A hiker's paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July en route (a dog's-leg detour actually) from Pretoria to Rorke's Drift. Having seen the film Zulu as a kid the 'Amphitheatre' was firmly lodged in my memory banks as the site of the action; therefore I was sorely disappointed to discover whilst planning a family holiday in South Africa that it was just a case of artistic licence on the part of Stanley Baker, who thought it would make an epic backdrop to his film .. and it did. So, before heading to the real Rorke's Drift I dragged my family across to the Southern Drakensberg to gaze in awe on this thing. And it is awesome, in the true sense of the (much overused and abused these days) word! From our little thatched Thendele cottage we had the perfect view of the amphitheatre, whether wrapped in blankets drinking our morning coffees and eating rusks whilst watching the sun's rays unwrap it from the morning mist, or watching it withdraw into the gloom after the sunset whilst sitting by our roaring log fire ( we were in the 'upper' cottages/huts; I think our cottage was number 11, but am not sure now). It being winter and us being ill-equiped for a long mountain hike (plus we only had one whole day there) we decided to only do local walks and return in either Spring or Autumn to do the ascent one day. Instead we hiked up a local hill with a guide to see some Bushmen paintings, and then stocked up at the shop on wood for a roaring fire - the evenings were really cold! Be aware of the baboons which pop up out of nowhere looking for opportunities to help themselves to stuff, ie. don't leave either car or house doors open.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifes_an_illusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
7.1 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Montusi Mountain Lodge
Montusi Mountain Lodge
#1 of 6 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
36.2 mi away
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Cathkin Cottage Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 2 in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
8.6 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Property: Thendele Hutted camp
Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing