We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My daughter and I were walk-in clients on the evening of the 26th of April. I was offered two options the “five star” accommodation and the “4-star” accommodation, both at outrageous prices (R1950 for the five-star). We paid R950 for one night for the supposed four-star. I was there was no walk-in rate. The woman at the front desk looked bored to tears, unable to smile, and was altogether unprofessional and unpleasant.

We were taken to a small, horrible room towards the top of the property (by a very kind and lovely man, Mike perhaps?). There were holes in the walls, disgusting and filthy wing back chairs with torn upholstery, neon lights, a shocking bathroom with apparent geyser and plumbing – the worst room I’ve seen in 19 years in South Africa. Being in the industry, I have seen hundreds of rooms.

After having indicated that we refused to stay in this room, we were moved to another larger room below the reception area. Just slightly better, but certainly not four star, and definitely not clean either. As it was late by this point (+/- 21h00) and we had been driving for hours, we had very little choice but to remain.

This property is truly disgraceful and a total rip-off.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beainafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    42
    15
    9
    11
See reviews for
13
22
4
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Magnificent location next to a gentle river with nature at its most beautiful, we enjoyed a completely satisfying luxurious stay with genuine 5 Star quality in every aspect from the hugely impressive rooms to the absolutely devine restaurant. Valentine's Day could not have been any more special for my partner and me. The Village at Fairview is a serious must-stay location to any experienced traveller. 2 Thumbs up at everyone for making our stay as complete as it was!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Our room was dusty, old, stinky and very dark; a blade of the ceiling fan was broken, tap was also broken, during nights we had some bugs visits.
Absolutely not worthy its cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eccemauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Sir

We can only apologise to this review , if you could just lodge the complain when you booked in , we could have tried to see if we could upgrade you to a better unit which would have been more acceptable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We experienced true hospitality and good service at Fairview River Lodge. We were expected on arrival and our rooms were clean and well prepared. The food and service at the restaurant were excellent and it was convenient to go there. They arranged for me to use one of their conference rooms for a meeting and my business friends and I could even play a round of golf in our free time. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensheim
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed for one night in the Lodge. The staff was helpful and efficient and we really had a good time. The room was clean and the bathroom as well. Although it was midweek and not season, everything was to our satisfaction! We learned that the surroundings of Tzaneen are also very interesting. So we will come back - next time hopefully without rain!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discover-Africa-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We arived early, before check in time, and were worried that we were going to be stranded for 2 hours until we could book in, however, receiption was very friendly and immediately organised us a room to unpack and relax. Then you will meet Sipho, a driver / buttler who was probably one of the friendliest and most hard working man I have ever met. He would still transport guests in the early hours of the morning, but be ready again to pick other guests up at 7 in the morning. You will then arrive at your car, already washed by Sipho.
The room was clean, complete with a airconditioner, lounge area, king size bed, shower, jacuzzi type bath and satelite T.V. The only downside however was that the water was of for about a hour. Lovely place to stay in a nice, quiet location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abri_Coetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for the kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

The unit was VERY cold!!The toilet seat was broken. The towels were in a terrible state. We didn't have enough hot water for a bath or shower.No glasses for water in room.Only one blanket on the one bed and none on the other bed.The breakfast was pathetic.We were in the diningroom at 8.45 and some of the dishes were empty.The staff never replaced it with fresh meat or cheese. This can not be a 4star hotel??

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Madam

We apologise if you had an unpleasant stay at Fairview , we had improved immensely over the last few years , and could promise you a much better stay if you would like to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
8.4 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
92 reviews
8.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
164 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen

Property: The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
Address: Old Gravelotte Rd | Manorvlei Farm ext 8, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa (Formerly Fairview River Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Letaba River in tropical Tzaneen, the Fairview Collection combines first class facilities with warm country hospitality. The moment you enter the tranquil estate, with 18 holes par-3 golf course surrounded by mystical mature gardens, you can exhale and relax. The Fairview Hotel offers elegant 4* thatched rooms decorated in Afro-Colonial style, in a garden setting boasting an amazing variety of indigenous trees and colourful birdlife. The Village at Fairview is a luxury 5* hideaway with only ten spacious and stylish suites looking out over the lush gardens and the scenic golf course. Indulge in the warm luxury of your suite fitted with a Nespresso coffee machine, private balcony and beautiful bathroom with jumbo shower, heated towel rails, underfloor heating and jacuzzi baths to make your stay memorable. Dine in the spacious thatched Le’Thaba Restaurant offering wonderful cuisine accompanied by an excellent selection of wines. Private functions can be held at the Baobab Room and small to large conferences in a selection of well-appointed meeting rooms. Fairview offers the perfect setting for a romantic wedding with its chapel, extensive lawns and intimate feel. Enjoy pampering treatments at the Zen Spa & Rasul, play golf, try your hand at fly-fishing, walk the trails, or relax at the private swimming pool area. Golfing guests have access to a golf cart. Fairview is just 5 minutes from the heart of Tzaneen and an hour from the world renowned Kruger National Park. The lush and tropical area of Tzaneen serves as a perfect base to explore the Wolkberg Mountains, Magoebaskloof, quaint Haenertsberg, Modjadji Cycad Forest and the biggest baobab tree at Sunland. Swim in waterfalls, sample the freshest avocados, oranges and mangoes at roadside stalls and get your adrenaline pumping on a canopy tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing