We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth driving the bumpy driveway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Ranked #2 of 16 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Worth driving the bumpy driveway”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 day stay at King's Walden. Hospitality was great. I was grateful for no TV in the room this left us more time to lounge by the pool, walk the magnificent gardens, and enjoy the fireplace in the room. Free internet worked very well. Breakfasts were culinary delights (complete with the edible flowers). 4 course dinner was very well prepared and tasty (but a little expensive - R320/person). We were delighted by a massive rainstorm, brilliant sunshine, and breathtaking views. The staff were friendly and attentive; always trying to please and give us individual attention and information. The King's Walden bottled water and nougat chew on the pillow is a nice touch. (The tap water is also good!) We had a nice frog chorus at night. This hotel is about 12 km from the Tzaneen city centre.

Room Tip: rooms 5 and 6 in the main building have fantastic views of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    35
    7
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
93
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

One of my favourite lodges in South Africa. Absolutely breathtaking views, top location. Lovely gardens too. Food is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Rooms are fine, quite large and fully functional, with fire places. Wifi and mobile phones work best towards the front and not well towards the back. No TVs (maybe a good thing when there is so much peace and quiet). Located also in a beautiful part of Limpopo province within easy reach of the northern Kruger Park. good stopover place to relax for a couple of days and break your journey

Room Tip: Go for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetat0urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

difficult to reach by most standards, but So worth it once you arrive. beautiful house and welcoming hospitality. the rooms were modern, sexy and well-appointed. the bathrooms were like a visit to a spa. the food and wine selection was superb. my only regret was not staying longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked a weekend over Father's day this June 2014.
So disappointed and saddened by how this establishment has been run down.
Menu, including dinner, hasn't been changed since I last visited four years ago. Same pea soup and shank for dinner and tomyum soup the next. Could not fault the food, but disappointed it's the literally the same.
Were told that the lodge was full, there were three couples, including us. with literally only two people running the lodge, breakfast took well over an hour to come out. the fourth table fro breakfast was a family of four that had popped into the establishment for breakfast. they sent half their food back as orders came out wrong.
Finding staff during the day was non-existent. people were popping in during the day for coffee and drinks and leaving. we were totally left unattended.
trying to order drinks was a joke too: no coke zero or coke light, no savanas (other guests requests), no coffee for rooms (when I asked, the staff never got back to me), no normal black tea for breakfast (staff actually went and fetched their own 'joko' tea bags so that we could have tea).
Rooms, no towels were available. I went searching for towels and found an employee working in a laundry room close to the staff quarters. She gave me two mismatched, hard as hell, towels.
On this first night, got a knock on the window, who now I believe was the owner, quickly telling us the dinner specials and then apologised to tell us that he has a broken pipe to fix on another site. We never saw him or management until we checked out.

Let me tell you in the past this place was a gem. the gardens where immaculate, the rooms were too. They used to light your fires in your rooms, soft towels and even lit candles in the bathrooms. Meals were presented to you and drinks were offered in the lounge before hand. Staff would offer interesting, local sites to visit and places to eat etc.

I am sorry to say that the new owners/managers clearly don't share the passion of the previous European gentleman, and if they do, have no idea how to run an establishment of its kind.

If you expect guests from Johannesburg etc. to drive the four to five hours to simply gaze at the one thing going for you, the dead tree, you are simply mistake.

Room Tip: Don't take room three, looks onto kitchen. request one of the two rooms in the main building, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NormanFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswalden, Owner at Kings Walden Garden Manor, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your constructive criticism . We do appreciate each and every bit of feedback we get and hold it in high regard for us to continue being the best voted hotel in Tzaneen. We do regret that you had a less than favourable experience at our pride and joy and would therefore like to clarify some of your experiences.

The breakfasts at Kings Walden which we have become somewhat renowned for take time, each dish is hand crafted and made to order. Many herbs and veggies in the gardeners omelette, for example, come out of our garden. To minimize wastage, this gets picked freshly by either the kitchen ladies or our other staff. Like a good wine, it takes time. However we do sincerely apologize for the wait although this is the reality behind the long time frame.

We apologize for not having your fire lit. We have changed the system slightly as we have had guests who don't like their rooms being entered or having a room which is too hot, so we do it upon request. There may have been a misunderstanding that you assumed it will be done as per the previous owner, however we prefer to give each guest a unique experience and ask that they request a fire if needed.

We admit there was no coffee in the rooms. We don't generally put coffee in the rooms but rather cappuccino sachets. We like to encourage guests to enjoy the view of the Letsitele valley and enjoy some real Free Trade home brewed coffee instead.

As our establishment is green and environmentally friendly we only provide one set of towels. In the room leaflet we ask guests to put used towels in the bath and will be replaced the following day. Perhaps you did not see that instruction. We allow our towels to dry through the sun and this does make them hard, however prior to guests arriving we pop them in the tumble dryer to make them fluffy and soft. Unfortunately you caught our staff off guard as we have never had a request for fresh towels twice in one day. Once again our sincere apologies and will in future keep a fresh fluffy set on hand for cases like this.

Over the years we have decided to stock certain beverages according to sales and what our mainly European guests drink. Savanna, sadly was not one of them as they generally prefer Hunters Dry, which is why we stock it instead. We are a small guest house and not a bar, per say, therefore we have limits to what stock we can carry. We had a large group come for drinks prior to your arrival and sadly ran out of the one soft drink you requested. We will ensure that this doesn't happen again and have already addressed this matter.

As owners we are regretful that you felt that you did not get enough of our time. We love spending time with our guests and hospitality is in our blood so naturally spending time with our patrons is a priority. Lucky for us we live in this paradise however it does not come without it's challenges. It's rural and pipes burst. We have to rely on our own knowledge to fix it as plumbers etc. are reluctant to come out and tend to plumbing issues at such short notice. I can see how that may have made you feel neglected however to supply water to the lodge is and was a priority that I needed to attend to urgently.

As you know our food is our pride and joy, we have regulars who come bi-monthly who want what they want! :-) We have added a number of new dishes to our starters, mains and soups. However over the years there are just those little winners that would really be a shame to not make. They are classic dishes that guests just love! It would be a real shame to remove them from our menu. Perhaps on your next visit we can make something special by request as we have for so many others who have already tasted the dishes served. What a coincidence that you had exactly the same menu you had four years ago. We do apologize for this bizarre occurrence.

We apologize that you felt that you had a bad experience at Kings Walden and we do hope that we have brought some clarity on your time here. Please feel free to contact us directly if there is anything else we can help you with or any other way in which we can improve to continue to be the best there is in Tzaneen.

Kindest Regards
Billy and Minette Mckechnie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in February not really knowing what to expect and found a great spot with very relaxing and pleasing gardens to stroll in and enjoy the view over the valley. The bedrooms are large and well equipped, with bathrooms to match - excellent bed linen quality. The Lounge was classily furnished. As previously reported, splendid food in the restaurant. Unfortunately for our first night we were the only guests, being joined in the restaurant on the second night by another couple, so the atmosphere was somewhat 'empty' and quiet - no buzz ! With such high quality food being produced it was no surprise that as we hadn't reserved dinner in advance we were limited in our choice to what the chef had to hand - i.e. no choice. This wasn't a problem for us, but if a choice is required, then best to book well ahead rather than ask for dinner upon arrival at 1500 !

Kings Waldren is not a cheap option, but they do deliver - we'll return if in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a lovely surprise, a real gem! On our first ever impromptu visit to Tzaneen, on the last day of our honeymoon, we found this amazing place. A must for any traveler in the Tzaneen area. Beautiful views, beautiful rooms, most beautiful romantic garden, lovely and friendly service AND !!!!! AMAZING CUISINE !!!!! You must have a meal here at least once in your life! Put it on your bucket list.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Accommodation, food and the gardens, oh the gardens are so special and mystical. All the fountains and the big beautiful tree. The history of Kings Walden is so interesting and there is so much to do in the area. What an enjoyable weekend we had.

Room Tip: Poolfacing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
11.8 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
10.2 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.0 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 16 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 16 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Property: Kings Walden Garden Manor
Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Walden Garden Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kings Walden Garden Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing