We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and game drives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2011

On our trip through SA we stayed here two nights. The lodge is easy to find and is beautifull situated near the bush.
The food was good, when the weather is good you can sit outside, very romantic. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The swimmingpool is good and clean to use. There is WIFI and free to use.

We had several game drives and saw a lot of animals, among them leopard and a lion.
Good thing is you have dedicated driver and tracker.

For value for money you can definitely go to this lodge which is near the panoramic route.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarcoR79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

As others have said this place is just lovely. From the moment we arrived and were given a cool drink we felt at home. Our room was lovely, very comfortable beds, great shower etc. Our safari guide Morris 2 was fabulous as was our spotter Lewis. They went out of their way to find as many animals as possible, find a great place for our morning coffee and evening sun downer. On our last evening there was a thunder storm, Morris phoned at dinner time to say he was bringing us umbrellas so we didn't get wet on our way to the dinning room. The food was very good, either a buffet with plenty of choice or a set menu.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is the first time I have ever left a review, although I always use trip advisor to check out destinations. I am writing this to let everyone know what a WONDERFUL place Shiduli is.
From the moment we arived in this magical country we were so well recieved and looked after. Shiduli is so friendly, and its not put on, they are really pleased to see you. One fellow guest said to me 5* hotels should come here to learn customer care.
All the rooms look nice, but we were lucky and were given the royal/honeymoon suite as they knew it was our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was something else, a short walk from the main complex, but with our own veranda and hot tub it was special. Now I travel a lot with my work, and i can honestly say this was the most comfortable bed i have EVER slept in. All the beds look the same so if like me you like a good nights sleep this is the place for you, and you will need it, because at 5am you are woken by your own personal ranger for the morning game drive. The game drives are wonderful, the ranger explains all what you get to see, with both interesting and amusing facts. Our ranger for the visit was Morris2 ( there are two Morris's) and Lewis the tracker. These guys are so professional we never felt threatened even when a heard of 10 Elephants told us in no uncertain terms to back off....... If you are considering going to shudili then look uo shiduli, or karongwe on you tube, and look for Zero the male lion....he is a bit of a star, we met him 4 times and he is scarey to say the least, but without doubt the king of the reserve. We were priviliged to see him and the pride polish off a waterbuck...gorey but strangely facinating.
I could go on for hours about this magical place, its wonderful staff led by Chris de Beer ( facebook hime) but as this is a trip advisor I will keep it short.....
Food good, you will never be hungry
Service, the best I have ever had
Rooms spotless and very comfortable
Facilities....lodge excellent, well maintained and beautifully decorated
Nightlife...non existant, you go to bed early tired but elated and actually looking forward to the 5am phone call
Friendliness genuine and warm
Value for money excellent
Family friendly if you have children
Must dos ..if you are there longenough go on the panorama tour, the sanctury at Mororololo, and on the way back to the airport you must visit Jessica the hippo ( google it !!)
Finally, in 55 years of holidays, this is the first time when after 10 days I did not want to leave, and my wife cried when all the staff turned out to say goodbye.
It was the trip of a lifetime, and if you are looking for this type of holiday experiance dont hesitate.
If you want to know anymore please contact me, happy to give any help or advice on this most special of places.

Negatives.......British airways, a national embarassment...say no more
Johannesburg airport, be careful and dont let anyone carry your bags
other than that a perfect adventure/ activity holiday

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank claasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Shiduli is a wonderful place. All of the staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and plenty of it. The accommodation is very nice and the grounds are looked after very well.
The game drives were brilliant and our driver, Moven, and Tracker, Joel, went out of their way to find us the cheetahs, lions and leopard.
I cannot recommend Shiduli highly enough. It is a lovely lodge and one I hope to visit again and again. Thanks also to Wessel for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqui2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We travelled from Sydney Australia to Shiduli Lodge (December 2010) - arrived to the warmest welcome and were shown to our rooms by friendly staff. We had two interleading rooms, one large sparcious room and a smaller room with two single beds for the children. The attention to detail in the rooms was fantastic. Our family of four enjoyed the spectatular dusk and dawn drives with the wonderful Simon and Evans as our guides, Simon had a wonderful sense of humour and made every turn an interesting fact and we enjoyed every "meeting" with the animals. The dusk and dawn drinks were an extra special treat - the food at the lodge was world class and were treated to a Boma dinner and traditional singing and dancing in the evening. The staff at Shiduli are so warm and caring and made our stay so enjoyable. I would highly recommend a visit to Shiduli - my family really enjoyed the stay. Thank you staff at Shiduli for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventure255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We have just spent a fantastic 4 days in the capable hands of the Shiduli staff. The resort style, service and staff were faultless - but our guide Morris, ensured we saw animals and birds of all description and his knowledge and professionalism was unbelievable. Impossible to recall all the different species, but this morning alone we saw 5 hippo, a 5 metre croc, a pride of 8 lions [from 2 metres], countless impala, a giraffe, zebra and Wilderbest family etc. etc. Just the greatest experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GhostPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

This place is the most friendly and serviceminded hotel I have ever visited.. It is so quiet and charming and very relaxing. The service is wonderful and the people ever so friendly. The safaries we enjoyed emensely and we will never forget this holiday and would like to return one day.Thank you Shiduli

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilaagst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
23.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
2.5 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
351 reviews
36.8 mi away
Highgrove Lodge Tzaneen
Highgrove Lodge Tzaneen
#6 of 15 in Tzaneen
16 reviews
2.8 mi away
Becks Safari Lodge
Becks Safari Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve | R36 Highway, Hoedspruit, Limopop, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range: £321 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing