We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel@Tzaneen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel@Tzaneen
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The weather conditions during my stay in July was very nice at 24-28 C and the staff very friendly, will surely visit this Hotel again in future, location very central and close to surrounding landmarks and sceneries. The communities in and around Tzaneen are very helpful and friendly. Tzaneen is a must for adventure seekers and the hotel is ideal for relaxing after a busy day
Freddie Nagel

Room Tip: family rooms are very spacious and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PercyN423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We've stayed one night at this hotel before heading to the Kruger park. We got room 18, which was great. Spacious, clean, comfortable. It looked more like a small apartment than a hotel room. And the Crawdaddys next door is extremely convenient. It is one of my favorites restaurants is South Africa. The only problem was the wifi -- it never worked during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times this year. The experience was great the first day but after a few says I realised that its not all its cracked up to be. While the rooms are great the service is terrible. What really got to me was the fact that the TV channels get scrambled by admin at a whim so your never sure about the channels. You could be watching and it suddenly changes. Depending the on who is on duty some members of the staff have bad attitudes. Overall i think its one of the cleanest hotels I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masutane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night after our originally booked hotel turned out to be disappointing. What a lovely surprise Hotel @ Tzaneen turned out to be. The rooms were spacious, very clean,crisp white linen, flat screen tv, well equipped kitchenette. While it was a brief stay I was very impressed. The efficiency at check in and check out was also impressive. Well priced as well!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Batsamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've stayed here several times with work and it does the trick. We've also done conferences here and it is a good venue.
The rooms are large and the beds are comfortable.
The breakfast is not great, but the attached restaurant Crawdaddy's is good for large meals.
A solid, modest option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed there in April and it was great. We went back again in October and it was an absolute shocker! The manageress was plain rude on arrival and the fittings in the rooms were terribly shabby. Definately no value for money. At all three Breakfasts we drank cold coffee, no hot milk and the service left a lot to be desired. Crawdaddys as an evening restaurant is absolutaly brilliant and the food was delicious. We will definately not be back at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTzaneen, Manager at Hotel@Tzaneen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Valued.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bring your concerns to our attention.

We would love to get into contact with you to further discuss this matter as we take these sort of complaints very seriously.

Please contact us directly on agm@hoteltzaneen.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I've stayed at Hotel@Tzaneen several times, but never again. The fittings have become shabby and I think they are starting to attract the wrong type of guests for their profile. The location is also not fitting for their price range or target market. The entrance to my room looked onto premises next door that resembled a rubbish tip, and there was horrible blaring music from neighbouring businesses from 08:00 till 17:00. Both nights I was woken by the late arrival of large and very loud groups who walked up and down shouting, banging doors, playing music till the early hours, with seemingly multiple occupation per room. The sound proofing is very poor, with cheap and ill fitting doors on the entrances so every noise echoes.

I won't be coming back.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTzaneen, Manager at Hotel@Tzaneen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Dear Valued.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bring your concerns to our attention.

We would love to get into contact with you to further discuss this matter as we take these sort of complaints very seriously.

Please contact us directly on agm@hoteltzaneen.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
11.3 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
176 reviews
9 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
165 reviews
8.1 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
1.5 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mashutti Country Lodge
Mashutti Country Lodge
#6 of 15 in Tzaneen
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel@Tzaneen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel@Tzaneen

Address: Makakota Street, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range: £37 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel@Tzaneen 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel@Tzaneen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing