We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamboti Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamboti Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

When booking my trip, I was excited to see the photos of the pretty garden and the four star rating sealed the deal. When I arrived I was taken to a twin bed room and the domestic worker helped up to move to a double bed room (which should have been done automatically as we're married). The new room smelled musty but got used to it. What was disturbing was the noise the first night from the tables for breakfast (above our heads) being scraped across the floor in the middle of the night, and other drunk guests sitting outside our room talking loudly. Then breakfast...the cereal, fruit and yoghurt were average, then we asked for scrambled eggs with mushrooms and cheese and got scrambled eggs with a portion of weird onion, green and red pepper and tiny bit of mushrooms next to it and a little bowl of cheese on the side...it is not four star presentation at all. The pool was nice but when sitting on the deck chairs the mosquitoes had a party on us so we went back to our room. So, therefore I say it was an average hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MauritianPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    35
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
20
33
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed for one night, easy check-in, they let us check out super late, which was great. Our room was a bit dark unfortunately, but the tub was nice and large. Unfortunately no shower--well it had a shower head but it shot directly out of the wall across the room with no glass door to block the water from going everywhere. The breakfast was nice and hearty. We left after one night because it was a bit expensive for us and it turned out there were other places very near for less than half the price.

Room Tip: Ask about the door situation in the bathroom. Does it go straight into the room with no door? Does t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nl
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice garden and swimming pool, excellent breakfast. Nice hotelroom.
Hotel in a quiet part of the town, we used a restaurnat about 2 km from the hotel.
The staff was very helpful when asking for information.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 803Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeydew
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We reserved 3 rooms. My son had a very spacious room upstairs but take note - no bathroom door. Our room was extremely smelly, particularly when the door had been closed for a while. No idea what caused it. Didn't spend much time there, as we arrived late and left straight after breakfast. The lodge was quite full but we managed to unhook the trailer to enable us to park. If you travel with a big caravan it could be a problem. Good breakfast. reasonably priced when sharing but expensive for single travellers. No table and chairs outside our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ecregulartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Though the reception was not prompt, after that it was wonderful. Great rooms and service, good breakfast as well. The location is quite wonderful if you’re looking for a nice hidden spot for a nice romantic time with your loved one. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The bathroom is quite nice too.

Room Tip: Get you direction first, other than it's great place to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pretoria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

what a schocker! mainly because of the misleading info. Here are my experiences; 1) only on a 5th attempt was the 3rd of three phone numbers answered when we could not locate the establishment but the lady answering the phone preferred to speak afrikaans and did not know the landmarks in her own town so could not assist with directions. 2) the rooms are very very basicc and certainly not the 4X**** it advvertises to be. "we offer: mini bar: (oh yes says teh info sheet in the room, pls advise on drinks consumption...): the fridge's content? a kettle!!!! not even water?? I brave the glass in the bathroom when I decide to settle for tap water... the toothpaste from some previous victim's brush floats to the top! 3) rusks they offer according to the informations sheet. 2 in a tin. its onlyh benefit? to put behiund the wheels of a car. I couldnt bite it...at all! 4) wi-fi they offer. NOT! 5) telephone in the room? NOT 6) aircon ? not.... it onlyh blows air around no temp either up or down. I tried in vain to phone reception (from my own mobile phone for water... all three numbers.... no reply.
I dont mind roughing it BUT DONT SET US UP! if you dont offer the service dont rate 4**** amd certainly dont tell us on your info sheet in the room about what you offer if it is not available.
BE WARE...

Room Tip: avoid it's not what they advertise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ronelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rene V, Manager at Tamboti Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for giving us a transparent and honest review of Tamboti Lodge, rest assured we do not take service delivery issues lightly and have used your comments to rectify all shortcomings.

We do however feel that some of your comments are a bit out of context.

1) We definitely do offer wireless-as stated in information sheets- it said enquire at reception.

2) The aircon is for cold blowing air and was checked upon your departure with the remote adjusting temperature.

3) We did not offer telephone in the room- “only offered two point plugs for telephone”- as stated in information sheet

4) The water in the fridge is in the silver flask

5) The receptionist that answered the phone is new in the area and still getting to know the landmarks that is why they drove to collect you, rather than explain.

6) As we are a bed and breakfast guesthouse our reception closes at 9pm, therefore no answer at the reception phone. The Telkom phone is then diverted to the cellphone and was answered on your second attempt as the receptionist was on the phone during your first attempt.

We hope to have the opportunity to succeed where we failed and to win back your support and business in the near future.


Kind Regards

Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice place to sleap over at!!! parking is a bit of an isue .
WiFI signal is terrible but otherwise the place is Awesome to stay over !!

always coming going back there and always will recommend!!!!




  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
10.0 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fairview Collection, Tzaneen
10.0 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Barune Guest House
La Barune Guest House
#1 of 15 in Tzaneen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Lodge

Property: Tamboti Lodge
Address: 18 Tamboti street | Arbor Park, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamboti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamboti Lodge is situated in a quiet suburb in Tzaneen close to all amenities. Set against the magnificent Magoebaskloof mountains of Tzaneen, Tamboti Lodge is ideally situated and easily reached for a relaxing holiday or overnight stay. It has safe parking. Experience the big 5 at the Kruger National Park, an hours drive away or spend a night on the way there. Whether you are relaxing at the pool absorbing nature or enjoying generous breakfast, Tamboti Lodge will restore your soul...and you will feel right at home with our friendly and professional service and special attention to our guests and their needs. Accommodation: Each of our 20 beautiful, luxurious en-suite bedrooms have DSTV, a bar fridge, air-conditioning and own entrance. Only guests may use the pool set in a picturesque subtropical garden. Tamboti Lodge is graded with four stars by the South African Tourism Grading Council. Pickups from the airport can be arranged. Breakfast is supplied to our guests. Services include the following:* En-suite bathrooms* Fans* Air-Conditioning* Tea / Coffee making facilities* Safe parking with a security guard* Television sets with twelve DSTV channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tamboti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing