We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel@Tzaneen(Tzaneen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magoebaskloof Hotel(Magoebaskloof)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bolivia Lodge(Polokwane)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eskulaap Hotel(Polokwane)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
30
50
25
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
50
25
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnougatspectacular viewsspa treatmentsbig citylittle extrasgeneral maintenancesitting areaweekend breakevery morninghotel is situatedone night staycleaning staffroom was spaciousreception areaantiquesmountainscharles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Sadly, she seems to have abdicated and is no longer a shadow of its former glory. Having stayed at the Coach House on numerous occasions dating back to 1984, we were terribly disappointed to see this wonderful establishment going to seed. On arrival, the all pervasive smell of kitchen drains seems to set the scene, the litter strewn in the garden off the dining terrace, the murky pool and the neglected gardens which were once so beautiful. We move on to the room, with weeds in all the brick pathways along the way, and, there again, empty flower boxes, chipped toilet seat (Room 20), standard lamp with no globe, empty mini-bar - all overlooking the most spectacular views in the background and total neglect in the foreground. As for the once beautiful rose-garden - what a crying shame.

Orion Hotels truly need to increase their maintenance budget as, right now, the Coach House is being rapidly overtaken by other establishments and certainly cannot justify the 4-Star rating it has enjoyed for many years.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Tim,

It is not often that I get the chance to read a review that raises serious questions and highlights the challenges ahead of us... I must thank you for helping to refocus us on the task ahead and motivating us to take on the challenge.

As you may have read in previous responses we are actively restoring Coach House to her former glory and hope to be in a position soon to win back your loyal support for the Queen.

Rebuilding the Kingdom, one customer at a time.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Not only are the facilities run down and desperately in need of upgrading, but the food was poor too. We spent a weekend there and tried to find alternate accomodation after the first night. The website advertising the rates was misleading as it seemed to provide rates per room, not per person. The rates do not provide good value for money. There are some staff who have been there for years who were were great but the management staff were disinterested. The maitre d at dinner sat down early and enjoyed his dinner forgetting about his clients. The manager listened to a client complaining and offered no comments. There were even some basics which weren't right; we ran out of toilet paper, no dry firewood, no nougat (which they were famous for!), only certain dinner tables were offered a complimentary sherry with dinner. The grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Glen,

Thank you for giving us a transparent and honest review of Coach House, rest assured we do not take service delivery issues lightly and have used your comments as part of our Management and Staffing review.

Please accept our apologies going forward. You will be happy to know that we have committed plenty of resources both financial and human to restoring Coach House.

We hope to have the opportunity to succeed where we failed and to win back your support and business in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been very sceptical about the hotel due to the reviews i have read about it, despite my husband trying to convince me of how nice the place is. I finally decided to judge for myself and i must say I went there with very low expectations. Needless to say i was proven wrong, the place might not be "amazing" but it sure is very relaxing, the staff if very friendly, the views are spectacular, the food was great to say the least. I must say, the room we got was a little stuffy, im guessing the windows dont get opened very often when guests are not using the rooms. All in all we had a wonderful stay. It was more than i was hoping for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you kindly for taking the time to review our property, we are always grateful for compliments such as yours and we use these as our prime motivator for our team.

Your comments on "underrated" were well taken and fit in to our service ethos: (loving to serve our guests better every day).

Hoping to see you back again soon.

Warm regards,

The Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

After reading many reviews of this hotel we arrived with some apprehension. The stay was lovely. The hotel is in an amazing setting with lovely views. The rooms are not brand new and possibly not 5 star quality, but were very clean and all the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean which for us is very important.

The staff at the hotel is what sets it apart, all from the cleaners through to the spa ladies are kind and helpful. Obviously very well trained! We were called by our names throughout our stay and made to feel very welcome and no burden whatsoever. Our children were made to feel welcome and at home.

We only had breakfast and enjoyed it very much! A wide variety to choose from all fresh and tasty!

We were very glad and thankful that we had decided to give the hotel a try and if ever we are back in Tzaneen we will most probably go back there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind review, we at Coach House are very proud of our staff and are always appreciative of the kind words and compliments we receive from such wonderful people.

We are working hard on making our breakfast the best in Tzaneen, your comments show us that we are heading in the right direction.

Hope to see you soon at The Coach House.

Warmest regards,

The Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I was at a loss for words when I read some of the unkind comments on the Coach House Hotel. Are we talking about the same place? When I was there in May I decided that I had one foot in heaven. All staff members are so polite, well-trained and kind. The hotel has a colonial feel and the bedrooms are of 5-star standard. What touched me were the small posies of garden flowers in the bathroom, bed and living rooms. Also the early morning coffee that was discreetly pushed through the hatch - on the minute every morning - always had fresh flowers on the tray. The attention to detail makes all the difference. The pub is cosy and the restaurant elegant and classy. Drinks are served in crystal glasses and the cutlery is old silver. Every dish that we ordered was of the highest culinary standards. Never ever before have I tasted a crème brulee like their Frangelico crème brulee. I would drive thousands of kilometres to have another one of them. And the finely grilled trout and poached egg that I had for breakfast was a feast in itself.

If you want to spoil yourself and your loved ones, don’t hesitate to make a reservation at Coach House - absolute value for money. And don't forget to spend some time in the spa!!! And no, I am not a shareholder ;-)

Irene Späth

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneS1833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for your compliments, we are always grateful for such wonderful feedback from our clients. I will pass on your compliments to the staff and we look forward to you coming back for some of our Crème Brule (hopefully you do not have to drive thousands of kilometres).

Hoping to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

The Staff and Management of Coach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews