We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliving the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coach House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed over at this lovely old hotel two week ends ago as part of a week end motorcycle tour. As I have had the pleasure of staying here in earlier years, it was a trip down memory lane. Insofar as the obvious age of the hotel, we had a wonderful stay. Dean, the manager and staff were most accommodating and extremely friendly. The food was down to earth, fresh and tasty. Yes, there are maintenance issues and the garden needs sprucing but in fairness, there is clear evidence that a these matters are being systematically attended to. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean- not to mention that awe inspiring view!
The rates are a little pricey and perhaps management can review this. All in all, well worth the visit and I will most certainly return.
Tony

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tonyoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Tony

Thank you for your review. Trips down memory lane are the best and always brings smiles to anyone! We sincerely thank you for your kind words and acknowledge all the work we are putting in to make sure guests such as yourself return and experience our establishment again. We will look into your suggestion as well.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Coach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was obviously once a majestic and magnificent hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable but unfortunately this hotel it has been allowed to go to seed. There is an air of neglect about it. There are very obvious maintenance problems everywhere. The gardens have been totally neglected and it is not cheap. Some of the staff are very friendly and some are decidedly unfriendly. We enjoyed the food though. My hope is that Orion hotel group will look seriously into the state of this once gorgeous place!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest review following your stay at the Coach House Hotel. We do appreciate your kind words and will pass your compliments to the relevant parties. You have also raised a few valid issues which we will see to immediately. Coach House Hotel does pride itself with its old-world charm so we do try to maintain that characteristic. There are maintenance issues which I am pleased to say have been addressed and will be rectified shortly. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced and we do hope you will visit us again so we can restore the faith you once felt with regards to this establishment.

Warm Regards
Staff and management
Coach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nostalgia took us back despite the appalling reviews. Boy were we sorry not to have listened to fellow travellers. Grotesquely over-priced. Excrementally bad food - cold, grey, piped mashed potato, string beans (5 of), quarter can of tinned tuna and some olives represented the sum total of their 'tuna salad' - a brief apology was offered that no lettuce or tomato was available! 'French fries were utterly uncooked - when I mentioned this to the waitress - she lifted one and squeezed it between finger and thumb before agreeing that it 'was not right' - she then proceeded to do precisely nothing! I'll see and raise one of the previous reviewers on the Rump front - his could not have been worse than ours! We are repeatedly hearing that progress is underway - I see none! The ceiling fan rotated on some sort of eliptical trajectory which seemed to me to be grossly unsafe. If I hear of a guest being decapitated in the greater Limpopo area, I will know immediately that it was our room at the Coach House. A manic manager with the demented ebullience of a tormented game show host breezed past at breakfast - asking if everything was ok - he moved at such speed that he probably didn't hear me take the long preparatory breath required to launch my first salvo of complaint - either that or he knew the look all too well and was running for his life. It was abysmal. Do yourself a favour - DON'T GO!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies for your experience at Coach House, we are steadily improving and the renovations are being done in sections so as to not inconvenience the guests...We are very proud of Coach House and the new team and hope to have the chance to show you around the improved Coach House.

Sincerely

Staff and Management
Coach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I decided to risk staying at the Hotel as it was hosting the Tzaneen Marathon that I was coming through for and logistically it just made sense, but having read some of the reviews here I was a little concerned at what I was in for. However, I can say on review that I was pleasantly surprised, and that it was an overwhelmingly positive experience- clean, friendly, and fascinating (a serious amount of heritage and antiques etc.). The food was surprisingly good- nothing fancy, but well done- and barring the service being a little inattentive, the staff were pleasant. My only criticism would be the after-hours reception, which wasn't great on enquiry or upon arrival. Don't let it put you off though, and persevere with the booking, because I rate this place as an undiscovered gem. I for one will definitely be going back there.

James Winch

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bondinixinixiseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Coach House Hotel. We appreciate your compliments and kind words as well as pointing out an issue which, thanks to your review, will be dealt with promptly. Coach House is filled with old-world heritage and we are ecstatic that you took time to appreciate just that. We definitely look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Coach House Hotel and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

What a shock it was to see this once beautiful old hotel having been neglected so badly and in such a rundown state. Very sad to see the rotting walls , broken roofs and totally overgrown and untidy gardens.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnJOhannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Coach House Hotel. We are happy to announce that the renovation program has started and we look forward to welcoming you back at Coach House soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Coach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our room, or rather our suite was pure luxury. That was excellent and we were made to feel special. On the other hand the hotel is in severe need of a makeover. The gardens which used to be pristine are now very neglected. The evening meal we had was by far the worst meal I've had in ages.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hote1Management, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Kim

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Coach House Hotel. Thank you once more for your compliments with regards to the suite you stayed in. You have highlighted some areas that we are currently working on with renovations having already started up. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and assure you that we will look into the matter promptly. Hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Coach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at the hotel. Heard things are getting better, but this is sadly not true. The food are really bad. I had the worst rump in my live and my husband had awefull trout. The pudding was old. We didn't finish it. Will never go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kapens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are investing a significant amount of capital both human and other into the Coach House. We are rebuilding the kitchen staff and have just finished re-doing the kitchen itself. We apologise for any shortfall in meeting your expectations and are confident we will not only meet but exceed those expectations going forward.

Warm Regards,
Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tzaneen
10.5 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
170 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel@Tzaneen
Hotel@Tzaneen
#3 of 6 in Tzaneen
108 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tzaneen Country Lodge
Tzaneen Country Lodge
#2 of 6 in Tzaneen
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mashutti Country Lodge
Mashutti Country Lodge
#6 of 15 in Tzaneen
45 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tamboti Lodge
Tamboti Lodge
#3 of 15 in Tzaneen
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range: £34 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing