We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and views, but disappointing activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful property and views, but disappointing activities”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the Crooked Creekside Cottage. The cottage is secluded, has a wonderful view, is well stocked (in terms of kitchen appliances, utensils, wood for fires, etc) and serviced daily - a perfect spot for a romantic weekend away.

However we were a bit disappointed with the quality of the activities, specifically:

1. we asked for a map/explanation of the mountain biking trails (as the website says that there are 60km of biking routes and as avid riders, we were very excited to do some rides), but the GM said that there wasn't a map and (as she was new) she couldn’t tell us much about the trails;
2. We had a couples massage, but the treatment room was freezing and the massages were rushed and a bit amateurish; and
3. We did a quad biking tour, but our guide didn’t speak English which made figuring out how the bikes works a bit tricky and also meant that we didn’t get any information about the farm/flora/fauna along the way.

However, despite the above, the location itself is gorgeous, the cottage very comfortable, the views are stunning and the lodge also looks beautiful. We will definitely be back, although next time we will give the activities a skip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAfrica685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
55
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This lodge really raises the bar when comparing to other places of similar price and claims.
You cannot go wrong when you select Dawson's.
Food was really good, staff very friendly, rooms were top drawer.
This is a real Oasis in a desert of mediocrity when comparing to its competition.
Stay their and enjoy what we were fortunate enough to have experienced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel_Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I visited Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge as the first 2 nights of our Honeymoon in December 2013 based on a recommendation by a friend. I was completely blown away by the sincere welcome and friendly service from all the staff but especially the manager, Rob van der Velde. He went out of his way to make it an unforgettable experience.
The food, venue and location were truly world class. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
The venue is simply breathtaking, the food simply divine.

PS: I can highly recommend the Quad Bike trail for getting close to nature and forgetting about the cares of the world.

Thank you to all at Dawson's for making our Honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We used Dawson's as a stopover on the way to the Timbavati from Johannesburg.
The location is stunning and peaceful. The staff were welcoming, and the food very good and well presented. Off the beaten track, but would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CKN-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitrovica, Kosovo
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It is surely a place where one can have total relaxation, enjoy great food and excellent services. A place can be beautiful, modern and have all...without soul, it has nothing.
This place has really lots to say! Everything has been thought of very carefully and is being managed with lots of love and care.
Every staff member with its contribution has made this place so special and very welcoming. A total refresh for mind, body and soul!

Thanks to Rob and the entire team for making our stay a wonderful and unique experience! We loved it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luljeta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Treaty indulgence with best of class service. The air here is cleaner and time slows right down. Indulge in a bottle of the Cederberg Cabernet Sauvignon with supper. Have a massage. Let the mountains rule your senses.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaTulul4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Superb luxury accommodation, romantic & relaxing. Staff are all exceptionally friendly & willing to help with all of your needs. It felt like home away from home. We'll definitely return. Thank you to Rob & all the staff for a wonderful long weekend

Room Tip: All rooms are the same in size & very spacious should you need to take a camp cot along for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liesl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberton
8.3 mi away
Nkomazi Game Reserve
Nkomazi Game Reserve
#1 of 3 in Badplaas
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hlumu Lodge
Hlumu Lodge
#2 of 2 in Badplaas
13 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bushwhacked
Bushwhacked
#1 of 11 in Barberton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Saragossa Game Reserve
Saragossa Game Reserve
#1 of 11 in Waterval Boven
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jathira Guesthouse
Jathira Guesthouse
#4 of 8 in Barberton
3 reviews
20.3 mi away
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
Royal Sheba Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Barberton
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge

Property: Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge
Address: Nelshoogte Area, Barberton 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Barberton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Barberton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dawson's Game and Trout Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing