We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing park”

Augrabies Falls National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing park”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Definitely a place to visit! Our recommendation is to spend at least a couple of days exploring the area, There is so much more than just the Falls to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kariesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    147
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent park”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Aughrabies national park is a park of contrasts. There is the waterfalls and the deep canyons which the orange river runs through. But its the landscape on the game drive which is so amazing. Almost moon like in places. Game is hard to spot but it is there. The hiking is not permitted in hot weather as there is no way one can carry the amount water one would need to survive. We were going through 1 litre of water an hour. A truly beautiful place to visit. Resturant at the lodge is really good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank supersel110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well lay-out park and restcamp”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enjoyed our two days at the Ausgrabies Fall NP. The view of the falls from the different viewpoints is great, but lacks the awe of falls like Victoria Falls. Hiking paths are well marked and well build, but can be only enjoyed in the colder months as it is too hot during summer time. Faunal variety was disappointing for us in the park, animals are hard to spot except the dasies, lizards and austritches. Facilities at the restcamp were good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sal_da_Bique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good to see if in area”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What can i say, it's a waterfall, impressive. Very well laid out for walking around. We were short on time so didn't get chance to go on long park walk.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank shanekiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls and park”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Augrabies Falls themselves are beautiful and well worth a visit, even in summer when temperatures can soar into the 40s. But more than the falls is the beautiful, interesting and varied landscape in the park. You can do a long drive around, with many detours to view points and picnic sites. You can also do a number of walking trails, including a 3 day one which we did not do as we were there in summer. The falls are lit up for 2 hours at night - with a spotlight, not a multicoloured spectacle which I think would ruin the natural beauty. The walkways alongside the river are extensive and offer a number of different views of the falls. We saw a fair amount of game on our drive, including many giraffe. The birdlife is wonderful, and one does not have to venture out of the rest camp to enjoy this. I would definitely recommend this park.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleTravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augrabies Falls National Park also viewed

Springbok, Northern Cape
Kuruman, Northern Cape
 
Nieuwoudtville, Northern Cape
 

Been to Augrabies Falls National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing