We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augrabies Falls National Park

Augrabies Falls National Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit! Absolutely stunning. April is quite a good time if you are going with young children as it is not too hot, but there is still enough water for an impressive waterfall.

There are some lovely, easy hikes for little ones (Gorge and Ebony trails). If you are there for game viewing, you may be disappointed. The beasts are few and far between, but if you drive the full 70km trip around the entire park you should see quite a lot especially at the furthest end of the park where we came across herds of giraffe, Hartmann's Mountain Zebra, Gemsbok etc. There is also a large Quiver tree forest at the end of the park that is worth a look. Unfortunately it is fenced in (I presume to stop theft), but still worth a look.

There is a rather pathetic attempt to light the falls at night now (pity they didn't seem to get the lighting right, because it could be stunning), but do yourself a favour and get out there at night to see some truly marvellous night skies.

Helpful?
1 Thank cyrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    141
    26
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The park is well managed and run, the walkways to and form the falls were a nice surprise and were in excellent condition , being taken care off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CRS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako, Mali
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our trip as a family to Augrabies was just what the doctor ordered. Time to relax, get connected with the people that really matter in our lives and meet new people. Travel to old places like Riemvasmaak where I did my military training and shear stories of what we went through.

We started our trip with a vehicle that broke down and once again experienced the hospitality of the people of the Northern Cape, from Olifantshoek to Upington to Kakamas and Augrabies falls. People that will help you at no cost and friendliness no one can buy, Japie and his friends and connections in Upington made our trip and I would like to say thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Places to visit is Augrabies, Riemvasmaak, Kakamas and of course the famous Orange river winery with the best wines in the country.

So please guys for the perfect getaway go see the Northern Cape and experience their hospitality.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SlyLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Top Quality Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the park with friends and I have to say that the upgrades made with the latest walkways places this attraction in the top 10 in South Africa.

When we were there the Orange River was flowing reasonably strong and made the falls roar. What an awesome experience.

A must visit attraction.

Helpful?
2 Thank Boschenvaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
335 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This National Park is really a MUST - if you travel through this part of the world. You can go for walks, hikes - or just view the spectacular Falls. Accommodation in the Park's Chalets is superb, the Restaurant (privately operated) offers great food and wine at very reasonable prices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Augrabies Falls National Park also viewed

Springbok, Northern Cape
Kuruman, Northern Cape
 

Been to Augrabies Falls National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing