We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Wegman's. So naturally I have expectations.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wegmans Market Cafe

Wegmans Market Cafe
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love Wegman's. So naturally I have expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

I love my wife, kids and Wegman's. So naturally I do have expectations from the store. Higher expectations.

The food is excellent. Try their Market Cafe and you will love it. The nice atmosphere makes you spend more and more time there.

The prices were great in the past (I would say 2008 to 2012). I don't find great deals anymore. I am okay with it as I am already in a relationship with this store :) but better deals will help to retain customers.. there is shoprite nearby. The 'shopper club' reward hardly saves you $2 when you spend 100+ bucks.. I don't like that.

The pharmacy is good. Most of the time you get what you want. Pharmacists are good. There is a liquor department. There is a coffee bar. There is so much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Supermarket Restaurant is OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

When Wegman's Supermarket opened in Woodbridge more than a decade ago, it was the place to go for the unusual, the different, and the exclusive foods--with prices to match. It has since blunted the edge of its exclusiveness in order to attract more customers, and this is reflected in their Cafe. In the beginning, they had a huge hot food bar specializing in Indian and Chinese dishes, with lamb dishes, large shrimp, and other exotic foods. Now the hot food bar tends toward typical Chinese restaurant dishes together with some basic Indian foods. (Many local people are of Indian origin.) Dishes seldom change. The staff is pretty good about adding more to the hot trays when there is not much left. There is also a large cold food bar with unusual items including salads and vegetarian dishes. The price can be expensive, depending on what and how much you choose.
Next to these food bars are kiosks with fresh sushi, prepared meals in a refigerator case, and a station that will make up full meals for you, complete with sides. A huge case of sodas, juices, waters and other specialty drinks is nearby. The cafe has a large and comfortable seating area on the second floor, with a convenient elevator to get there.
Of all the components of this Cafe, I think that the weakest part now is the hot food bar. The best part is the station that makes up complete meals. Although the cafe is always open, the Asian food bar is not, nor is the station that makes up complete meals. Early in the day and in the late evening, these both close down.
I like the cafe, but I rarely eat there because I find it expensive.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sister Elias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

It's Not Bad , but they have so many displays , and people have a hard time
walking to get something from the Cafe, and It just does Not Have That
Nice Open Feeling in The Store Anymore.
Ever since they opened To Sell Beer, and Wine, The store Feels Over
Crowded,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love this for a quick bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Food is made on premises and is excellent. Quite a selection and I can get in and out, or sit in the cafe and enjoy my meal. Try the salmon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ssilvertexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“grocery store +!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

great grocery store and much more with a market cafe, coffe bar, fresh bakery and more. would go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank marsi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wegmans Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wegmans Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing