We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place we stayed at the Kgalagadi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalahari Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“the best place we stayed at the Kgalagadi”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed at the Kalahari tented camp purely by luck, as there was no chalet available at the mata mata camp..And it was the best place we stayed in for the entire trip...Make no mistake, its not a luxury resort its a tented camp. The tents themselves are well insulated and comfortable with running water and gas water heaters. there is a separate kitchen which has all the utensils and fixtures needed...also space for your own barbecue..Jackals and mongoose move freely just outside your tent separated by a small wooden barrier, also we heard lions at night, so i did not have the guts to barbecue outdoors..the camp has its own waterhole, which is quite far away to be frank..But the experience of a night amid the wildlife making your own food was exhilarating...If i am lucky enough to go back to the Kgalagadi i will surely stay here..Out of choice this time!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogesh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    46
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Kgalagadi and we really enjoyed this park and fell in love with the Kalahari.
This tented campsite was a real haven for us. It rained most of the time we were there but that did not matter. I spent ages in the spacious kitchen cooking slowly whilst marveling at the view. We did not see much at the water hole because of the rain but this part of our trip was about down time - sitting and doing nothing in beautiful surroundings.
On a morning drive we saw a cheetah quite close to the camp which was a treat.
I would definitely recommend staying at the tented campsite.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melda303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was our third stay at Kalahari Tented Camp and it won't be our last. We love the design of the tents -- they are very comfortable and spacious. The location within the park is a little out of the way for the best game driving routes but convenient to Mata Mata for getting gas or stocking up at their small shop. Giraffes wandered around the camp in the morning and there is a small swimming pool for cooling off.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed here 3 times, last time in 2013, mostly for 3 nights but now for 5 nights. It is the best and most luxurious rest camp in the park, but still affordable and easy to reach without a 4wd vehicle. It is also close to Mata Mata, perfect if you want to fill up on gas or get a few cold ones. The area is fantastic and the sunsets legendary. We enjoy the views, the animals (saw lion, spotted hyena and giraffe here among others) and the quiet location. Rooms and bathrooms are comfy and there is a big kitchen and fridge. Best place in the park in my opinion!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our stay at this tented camp was absolutely magical and just a little bit thrilling knowing that there is nothing much between you and a curious predator.
Upon arrival we were met and warmly welcomed by Edward who informed us of the camp’s housekeeping rules, and were shown to our tent.
Accommodation: Absolutely 1st class. Our tent (no.10) boasts a superb view of the waterhole and is slightly removed from the others with a big gap between 10 and 11 offering plenty of peace and quiet from other visitors. These tents are solid and very well appointed with loads of roll up flaps for ventilation, but without any aircon or fans. There is solar electricity and plugs in the bedroom, so you can use your hairdryer and charge your equipment accordingly. The tent and en-suite bathroom is scrupulously clean (Edward runs a tight ship) with complimentary soaps and plenty of towels. We enjoyed the presence of a resident Barking Ghecko in the shower who scampered up the wall from whence it watched our showering antics with a beady eye! The beds were quite comfortable and the linen fresh and clean.
The Kitchen – a separate tent is equipped with a full size fridge, 2 plate gas stove and a superior array (as compared to Twee Rivieren and Nossob) of the necessary crockery and cutlery. A table and chairs completes the picture. The kitchen also has an electric light should you require it.
The braai stoep and little outside deck is where we spent most of our time in the company of the visiting birds, meerkats, ground squirrels, the odd buck and lizards.
General: We did not drive around much whilst at the KTC simply because it was all right there for us to enjoy. We relaxed and read our books whilst keeping an eye on the comings and goings at the waterhole. Truly relaxing! Obviously, there are no shops at KTC but Mata Mata is just over the hill some 3km away where you can buy any essentials, fill up with petrol or take a walk to Namibia (no visa needed for those on foot) and do some shopping at Sitza’s farm stall where some good Namibian meat can be bought!
Unfortunately, once again, there were no Game or Night drives to be had and it appeared that the pool pump at KTC was out of order as the pool itself was an unsavoury green so we opted for cool showers instead of a dip in the pool.
All in all, KTC made our long trip to the Kgalagadi worthwhile.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulliversmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Second time here. Its position is great but as many reviewers have said its a long way from the waterhole. We had honeymoon suite (married 43 years!) which is spacious but not significantly different from others except for a bath. Its on the end and is more isolated however. Some of the equipment and furnishings are looking tired.
Game was very sparse here but choose your time of year (March/April) and its a bargain for safais.
We did see the Golf people but coudnt hear them partying. They were completely different to everyone else here, ferried around in minibuses. Very strange.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berks UK
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

loved the place, tented but has everything you need with brilliant views but as others have said, the floodlight at the water hole really is a bit too dim, we were in No 10 and that was possibly the closest and with the best view..but you still couldn't make out shapes etc very well. 5 rather large gekoes and a large bat inside the tent wasn't good for me but didn't spoil the stay. tent briaa area etc all very clean, all in all very good value ......except if you have Ocean Golf guest house Holidays in the next 4 tents, these people should stick to Golf holidays, they all got together outside the N0 9 tent next to us each evening for a party and with all the lights on until about 22.00 hours each of our three nights, the peace and quiet you expect as the normal for these kind of wilderness place was totally shot to bits, it was holiday from hell time more like Benidorm, the park ranger wasn't too interested in shutting them up but then again I think this company block book the site for the year. It should be so quiet, but the guy running this golf company was so so loud that his clients must of thought that's the normal way to behave. I could go on and tell you everything they did, ate, names, jokes, everyone in the camp got the full volume. 18 - 30's? no, mainly "Surrey" type Golfing ladies who each had to be heard above the other and had no respect for others in the camp.
I would love to go here again but only if assured this crowd were not allowed in, they spoilt it for all so I have to mark the camp down.
Come on SANPARKS clamp down on this sort of behaviour please.

Room Tip: 10 is very good ..but check for ocean Golf not being next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank saintadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kalahari Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Tented Camp

Property: Kalahari Tented Camp
Address: Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing