We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Cottage, friendly owners and great location”
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed one night in the lovely guest cottage. Upon arrival, Annette greeted us and gave us a through rundown of all of the amenities in the room. We were very impressed by her attention to detail. She even recommend a restaurant and movie for us to watch that night which we appreciated very much *and ended up loving the movie).

The highlight of the cottage is undoubtedly the beautiful bathroom. It had a heated floor which you don't realize how much you appreciate until you have it, a heated towel rack, an overhead shower and separate bath tub (with bubble bath and a rubber ducky). It was very impressive.

We were slipped a note inviting us to have an evening drink with Annette and Barry which we accepted. We had a lovely time despite the fact that we are only 21 and they are older than our parents. Barry graciously offered to let us use his mountain bikes and Annette invited us to come back if we needed anything in the afternoon, way after we would have checked out. Annette was also very helpful in setting up activities, and even contacted a stable to set up horse back riding for us. Annette and Barry are a very interesting couple and definitely worth spending some time with.

Unfortunately if you stay there in the winter as we did, do not expect the full breakfast mentioned in other reviews as it is too cold to prepare on the veranda. Instead we had yogurt and granola which was good but a little bit of a let down after reading the tremendous reviews of the breakfast. Annette made a point to mention the breakfast issue prior to our stay however we were still a little disappointed with the four store bought yogurts and granola that was provided.

With that said, we really did enjoy our stay and would be happy to go back in the future.

Room Tip: Only one room available
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celtics123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for The Garden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

Beautiful, cosy cottage all to yourself with a large, beautifully decorated bedroom/living room and an amazing double bathroom. Fantastic hosts who have great local knowledge and who were incredibly welcoming. Definitely try their restaurant and winery recommendations as they know what they are talking about. We would definitely stay here agin next time we were in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank theonlymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

A quick visit to Francschhoek staying at the Garden House with welcoming hosts Annette and Barry makes us want to come back and stay longer. The room truly felt like home or even better! Very cosy and comfortable and the bathroom is like a dream. We love the Garden House's dogs who were very friendly and we even wanted to take them back home :) Annette and Barry knows all that is worth knowing about Franschhoek, its wineries, restaurants etc. We hope to come back soon! Marina and Jonas

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaHOnsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We loved the entire stay - fabulous room, fabulous hosts, fabulous location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDit54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and and I travelled to South Africa for our honeymoon and arrived at the Garden House after four days in Cape Town. First impressions were of a beautiful, fragrant and colourful garden, well tended and with a lovely pool. A very pretty low white house with a verandah overlooked it and from the verandah (where we were given a pot of earl grey tea on arrival) we sat and gazed at the mountains across the valley. The setting of this b&b is spectacular. Tiny little bright birds flitted about, two very well behaved and friendly dogs lay at our feet and Annette welcomed us and gave us tips on what to see and where to eat. The room we stayed in was separate from the main house and very comfortable. It felt as though all the tiny details we would have wanted in a room had been taken care of. There were cookies as well as tea making facilities, fresh milk in the fridge as well as soft drinks available at no extra charge. Delicious grapes too. A dvd and some films were provided with the invitation to borrow any from Annette if we wished. The bathroom contained an enormous round bath as well as shower and lots of towels.The room was very comfortable and the service excellent. Breakfast the next morning was divine, we had fresh fruit, yoghurts, selection of breads and croissants, smoked trout and horseradish. All delicious. In the evening, we were invited to join Annette and Barry for drinks before we went out for dinner. The Garden House is a wonderful place to stay and was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu74_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We loved our time at the Garden House and wished we could have stayed longer. Annette & Barry were fantastic hosts from start to finish and couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Lived meeting the dogs and cats too, as well as feeding the geese! Fantastic accommodation in beautiful surroundings; we hope to be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kltaylor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Not the usual kind of place - more like staying with your favourite kindly aunt and young at heart uncle for the weekend!

A lovely cottage with a good sized living area and a huge bathroom with underfloor heating, with a veritable menagerie round the beautiful gardens. The views are spectacular but unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to enjoy the garden to its fullest.

Staying here isn't so much about the buildings though, its about staying with Annette and Barry. We got the impression Annette would have done anything to make our stay more comfortable and Barry was more than accommodating to us holding him back when he kindly invited us to join him on his morning bike ride.

If you want to stay in a boring sterile hotel this place isn't for you - if you want to be very well looked after and have an interesting stay, this place is excellent.

Quick note on the dogs - we were nearly put off as one of us is nervous of dogs - although the younger one was a bundle of energy Annette has them perfectly under control and as Annette said we would, we enjoyed having them around.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 36,987,412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £88 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing