We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and welcoming stay!”
Review of The Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Garden House
Ranked #4 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Thank you Annette and Barry for your unique hospitality over our 2 night stay with you! The cottage is lovely, immaculately clean, comfy big bed, huge luxurious bathroom. Great breakfast too!
Annette and Barry were so welcoming, helpful in recommending vineyards and places to eat. They obviously love Franschhoek, and it rubbed off on us too! We havent stayed anywhere else with such a personal touch to the service and hospitality!
They do a mean gin and tonic too! We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Garden House for 2 nights during a particularly rainy week in late July. Despite the weather, we had a fabulous time in Franschoek and we have the owners, Annette and Barry, to thank. The guest cottage is chic, cozy, comfortable and safe. Loved the large bathroom-- heated floors, huge soaking tub-- and the breakfast was simple but excellent (with all the amazing wining and dining in the area, you don't need to fill up on a huge breakfast).

Annette and Barry know every last inch of Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl, and their recommendations were always spot-on! Couldn't have asked for a more lovely and romantic stay. We hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK10NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

David and I were on our first visit to the Wine Region of South Africa. Annette and Barry ensured that we had the best table in the best restaurants in the village. They offer you a stay where you feel like you're visiting friends, and help you relax and enjoy the beauty, great food and wine and spirit of the village. All the recommendations we received were most valuable and spot on for quality. We'll definitely be back to visit our new friends in Franschhoek.

Room Tip: There is only one room, and it's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Annette and Barry could not do enough to welcome us and to make sure that our stay was thorougly enjoyable. They recommended great places to eat and vineyards to visit in the area. The room is in a cute cottage set in a lovely garden. The room is really big, comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is also really well located, within easy walking distance from town. We will definately be back!!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Kiwi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My boyfriend and I have just come back from South Africa where we spent 20 days and the Garden House is definitely one of the best places we stayed at!
Everything was simply perfect!!!
The room was so nice and lovely, the bathroom was spacious and well furnished... and the garden's really beautiful!!! The Garden House is also very well located!! But what gives this bb a unique touch is th kindness of its owners: Annette and Barry!!! they have been very kind to us and we'll never forget them (and their dogs Benji and Bertie as well)!!!
We spent just one night in Franscchoek but we will be back for sure! If you are planning to stay in Franschhoek don't miss the Garden House!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy-puffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

When we booked this accommodation there was no mention of a continental breakfast being served during during the winter months so it was a great disappointment to find breakfast consisted of muesli, yoghurt, a bit of dried fruit and instant coffee. The one time you look forward to a cooked breakfast is winter! Totally unacceptable attitude towards guests in this respect and for this reason would not make a return visit. We actually went out and bought extra items. The room is excellent and the welcome very warm, however, for some this can be over the top when it comes to organising your itinerary. The complimentary drinks don't outway the lack of a decent breakfast. If you are offering bed & breakfast then provide the breakfast and not an excuse for not providing one. We stayed in far better during are trip to SA.

Room Tip: Be sure you confirm exactly what breakfast will be provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank anothermarraontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteSouthAfrica, Owner at The Garden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

We are very sorry that the lack of cooked breakfast spoiled the stay for these guests.
The fact that we only serve a continental breakfast in the room in winter is clearly stated on our web site. It is our usual policy to restate this fact when confirming the booking. If these are the guests who stayed with us on the 1st and 2nd of August., I have a copy of the e mail confirming the booking in which this is repeated. If only they had said that they were not happy with this when I showed them where the breakfast was in the room I would have done my best to make alternative arrangements. There is always fresh coffee available which is kept in the fridge. This was also pointed out to them when I showed them the room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here one night to not to have to drive back to Cape Town after dinner at The Tasting Room. At arrival we were somewhat surprised since they only have one room so we had this great place for ourselves. The owner Annette gave us a warm welcome and explained everything very efficiently. The room is very comfortable and the bathroom fantastic, real good value for money. Throughout our stay we were pampered by Annette with videos for after dinner and a great breakfast in the morning. The location is ideal to discover Franschhoek by foot. For us also good because of the extensive wine pairing we got at The Tasting Room. All in all a great and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onnostaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 64 in Franschhoek
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#5 of 64 in Franschhoek
190 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing