We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garden House
Ranked #1 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Comments from liza and Enric.
You have to go and stay at the garden house, it's Just gorgeous! Annette and Barry can't do enough to make you feel welcome and pass on tons of information on all the local restaurants and the best wine tasting places. Anything you need from fabric freshner to wax to give your car a shine you'll find at the garden house! Benjy and the cats really do make it feel like home, not to mention the yummy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the mountains. I would highly recommend the garden house to anyone, you'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cocadrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
506
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shirrell Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at The Garden House for 3 nights in early September 2011 and Annette and Barry could not have made us more welcome from the moment we arrived to when we reluctantly left. We really enjoyed the day we borrowed their bikes and cycled around the wineries in Franschhoek recommended by our hosts. They were also really helpful in suggesting restaurants for both lunch and dinner and we were never disappointed with any of their recommendations. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was superb - the best we came across in our 3 week holiday. We must also mention Benji (the dog) who was equally delightful. Our review wouldn't be complete without thanking both Annette and Barry for an amazing time in Franscchoek and wishing them the continued success they deserve.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I took a two day trip to the Winelands from Capetown to relax after doing a camping safari. The Garden House was the perfect place to do this in their luxurious cottage with heated bathroom tiles and deep soaking bath. Annette and Barry were very accommodating and went to great lengths to take care of our every need. Sundowners by the fire and on the stoep were most enjoyable and the conversation stimulating. Excellent location within walking distance of the town with its top restaurants and lovely shops. We hope that Annette is getting over the loss of her puppy.

Room Tip: The Garden House has accommodation for just two in their cottage so be sure to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yurgo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and I had three fabulous nights in Franschhoek, staying in the cottage, which is a few paces away from Annette's and Barry's home.
Our welcome was one of real warmth and Annette took time to explain all we needed to
know about the cottage.
The cottage is immaculate ( Annette only presents perfection), large comfy bed, huge bathroom with heated flooring and all the extras you could wish for!

Breakfasts in September, when we visited, were taken in the cottage. The muesli is amazing!

Annette and Barry asked us to join them in their home, each evening for a tipple. Good
conversation was easy and relaxed. Their home is within easy, safe walking distance for all the popular restaurants.
All the restaurant recommendations were spot on.
To give you an insight into Annette's commitment to the enjoyment of their guests stay, we had arranged to dine in Franschhoek with some American friends, we had met earlier in our trip.
I had booked a table at a certain restaurant before leaving the U.K.,and had arranged to meet our American friends there. However, Annette suggested another restaurant would be more suitable, but the only contact number we had for our friends, was one in America.
Without hesitation, Annette dialled this number, but it turned out to be a work number.

Annette then offered to drive us to the restaurant that I had previously booked ,and we managed to get there before our friends arrived. ( The restaurant was full anyway with a cyclists meeting ).
We had a lovely meal elsewhere, thank you Annette.

Annette and Barry have been in Franschhoek for 10 years and both do much for the community. Barry helps to teach children chess, his success is such that these dis- advantaged children do well in competition against better educated ones.
Annette is passionate about animal welfare and often drives to the local township, feeding cats and dogs that are in need of food.
We were privileged to be with Annettte on such a journey.

This is one of the best B & B's in South Africa.........go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpressGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Garden House for four nights in late August. What a wonderful cottage! Very clean, cozy and comfortable. It is absolutely amazing how Annette and Barry blended the old world charm of a guest cottage with modern convenieinces! Speaking of Annette and Barry, they were wonderful hosts. They went way out of their way to make us feel like family! They welcomed us into their home for evening drinks, took us to dinner at their favorite local restaurant, brought us movies and even sprinkled "Happy Birthday" decorations on our bed when they found out it was my birthday. It was like staying at your Aunt and Uncle's backyard haven. We can't wait to return to South Africa to come back and visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Thank you Annette and Barry for your unique hospitality over our 2 night stay with you! The cottage is lovely, immaculately clean, comfy big bed, huge luxurious bathroom. Great breakfast too!
Annette and Barry were so welcoming, helpful in recommending vineyards and places to eat. They obviously love Franschhoek, and it rubbed off on us too! We havent stayed anywhere else with such a personal touch to the service and hospitality!
They do a mean gin and tonic too! We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Garden House for 2 nights during a particularly rainy week in late July. Despite the weather, we had a fabulous time in Franschoek and we have the owners, Annette and Barry, to thank. The guest cottage is chic, cozy, comfortable and safe. Loved the large bathroom-- heated floors, huge soaking tub-- and the breakfast was simple but excellent (with all the amazing wining and dining in the area, you don't need to fill up on a huge breakfast).

Annette and Barry know every last inch of Franschoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl, and their recommendations were always spot-on! Couldn't have asked for a more lovely and romantic stay. We hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AK10NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
11.3 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Property: The Garden House
Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing